If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Is it going to be possible to bench a keeper who must be very low in confidence (woeful penalty shoot out last night, poor goals conceded in the last games) and replace him with Brad Jones for the derby? Not a nice choice, it has become evident that not getting in another keeper was a mistake in the transfer market.

We've been unlucky to lose Allen and Can at the same time, serious strain on the midfield, can't really blame BR there but we're struggling.

Prob need to go 3-5-2 against Everton.

Problem (gk)

Sahko/Skrtel/Lovren
    Moreno Manquillo

Lallana-Henderson
    Coutinho
    Madman-Sterling

I think Coutinho playing with Sterling would bring the best out of each other. I'd drop Gerrard as he hasn't had a good 90 minutes yet. No one is an automatic pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

As bad as Gerrard has been there's no way I'd drop him for the Derby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

I thort I saw a puddy cat , I did, I did!

For the record lads, I'm not the spelling police or a grammar nazi, just a little joke on my behalf, that's why I spelt it wrong as well! No offence intended to the 2 lads in question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

SlickRic wrote: »
    Sturridge will make a world of difference to the team.

scary, but true.

what's scarier is that Borini is the closest thing we have to someone who can replace his movement.

Sterling is superb, but he needs players on his wavelength to work off. Lambert and Borini just aren't.

Sturridge, Henderson, Coutinho, and possibly Lallana are.

there's a distinct difference between the touch, vision and speed of some of our players compared to others.

And looking at the two of them last night I would include Suso in that bunch. Seemed have a good chemistry, not surprising given their years in the youths together.

Now back to football, I was very impressed with Lallana last night, very slick, and skilful on the ball, he likes a Cryuff turn or a hundred! As alluded to earlier Poor Ricky Lambert absolutely stank the place out of it, dunno if he's bottling it because he's playing for Liverpool or what but I expected a lot more.

Enrique was back in beast mode, looked like he was going to be done for a pace a couple of times but it's like he needs a second or two to crank up the engine before he hits full speed, Markovic was poor I thought, should have shot a couple of times and doesn't appear to have much trickery, looks to beat men with pace and that's it, the problem is he didn't look like a speedster last night, hopefully he'll settle soon. I'm unsure of Manquillo at this stage too, obv he's young and been chucked in at the deep end but he doesn't offer that much going forward, his crossing needs improvement, he's solid enough but I'd just like a wee bit more, can Moreno or Enrique play RB I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

I'm unsure of Manquillo at this stage too, obv he's young and been chucked in at the deep end but he doesn't offer that much going forward, his crossing needs improvement, he's solid enough but I'd just like a wee bit more, can Moreno or Enrique play RB I wonder?

I think Manquillo has been very good, we've been hurt more down the left side than the right in recent games, but he can't keep playing every minute...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Yeah, for a lad that only played a handful of first team games for Atletico I think Manquillo has done really well slotting into a new team, country, football culture. He kept going till the end as well last night, still trying to get forward late in the game, and a took a decent penalty. He's exceeded my expectations anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Interesting statistic regarding Manquilo. There are 2,000km between where he was playing in Madrid to where he is now, Liverpool. Since he's started playing for Liverpool, Manquilo has covered ground of 2,000km on the pitch. In theory, that covers the price of his flight over for me. Amazing statistic imo. On and up from here for the young lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,786 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

is Mignolet the worst no.1 keeper we've had since Westerveld? He just brings nothing to the team, it's bizarre we havent gotten someone else in at this stage.

I know Boro took some cracking penalties but to let 13 of them in was pretty poor IMO. Not what you want to be seeing from a first choice keeper tbh, he should have a better save ratio than that.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I know Boro took some cracking penalties but to let 13 of them in was pretty poor IMO. Not what you want to be seeing from a first choice keeper tbh, he should have a better save ratio than that.

Joey Barton summed it up perfectly

"Has Mingolet got hands under them gloves??"

Joey Barton says a lot of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭tok9

DVDM93 wrote: »
    Interesting statistic regarding Manquilo. There are 2,000km between where he was playing in Madrid to where he is now, Liverpool. Since he's started playing for Liverpool, Manquilo has covered ground of 2,000km on the pitch. In theory, that covers the price of his flight over for me. Amazing statistic imo. On and up from here for the young lad!

Hold on... if I'm reading this right, are you telling me Manquillo has covered 2000km in about 5 matches?

tok9 wrote: »
    Hold on... if I'm reading this right, are you telling me Manquillo has covered 2000km in about 5 matches?

Are you saying 5 matches or about 5 matches? Rough estimations don't work with these statistics unfortunately, they won't be as accurate otherwise.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Thats probably with Friendlies/CL/Cup games all included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭breghall

Muahahaha wrote: »

he got a hand to one or two of them , but was weak wristed and couldn't divert them... still i have little fatih in him tbh.

jonny24ie wrote: »
    Thats probably with Friendlies/CL/Cup games all included.

Yes, you are correct.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Are you saying 5 matches or about 5 matches? Rough estimations don't work with these statistics unfortunately, they won't be as accurate otherwise.

I'd say he hasnt ran as far as London yet.

11km or 12km per match * 5 (or 8) = 2000?

Bit of the ol paullegend maths. :pac:

breghall wrote: »
    he got a hand to one or two of them , but was weak wristed and couldn't divert them... still i have little fatih in him tbh.

I wouldn't worry about him having weak wrists, there are rumours of Emma Watson's nude pics being leaked from the iCloud hacker, if they are that should help rectify that problem.

I'm saying about but for arguments sake, let's say it is 5 matches exactly. That would mean he travelled 400km each match...

In other words that statistic makes no sense. In general you'd travel between 9-13km in a 90 minute match.

He would need to play well over 150 matches to be anywhere near covering 2000km!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'd say he hasnt ran as far as London yet.

11km or 12km per match * 5 (or 8) = 2000?

Bit of the ol paullegend maths. :pac:

He's probably made it to the airport - then he can fly the 2000 km:pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I'm saying about but for arguments sake, let's say it is 5 matches exactly. That would mean he travelled 400km each match...

In other words that statistic makes no sense. In general you'd travel between 9-13km in a 90 minute match.

I think he has only played in 4 out of our 5 PL matches aswell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

How many games has he played 7 or 8?
    Say 10.
    Average ground covered by prem players is 10km

So he's averaging 200km per game
    Bollix to your stat!

jonny24ie wrote: »
    I think he has only played in 4 out of our 5 PL matches aswell.

I feel like you're missing the important points from my post. :p

Lads ye are missing one of the most important figures for calculating for this stat, think about it, it's obvious! We'll see who gets it first :)

are you including the training pitch or did I forget to carry the 1?

The game last night went to extra time, that's the only clue I'm giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

noodler wrote: »
    Not a chance.

Now is not the time for including players are not likely to feature much this season for the sake of it.

We badly need a performance to go with the occasion tonight.

I think my opinion has been vindicated. Suso did more last night in his limited game time than Markovic and Lambert combined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Mignolet in the past few games has made a few quality saves. This appears to be overlooked quite a bit.
    People also claim he is shakey on crosses. I've no stats, but I'd say on the majority of crosses, he cathes or gets a fist to it.
    One occassion last night, he made a fine save, but instead of pushing it wide, pushed it forward.

Compare this to Cortoius, supposedly the greatest keeper ever, we've only conceeded one more goal in the league that Chelsea so far.

Hes positioning and footwork is suspect. Third goal against Man City, first goal last night and the goal v west ham from the free kick. He was either in the wrong position, or didnt move his feet fast enough. He was rooted to his line last nite when the defensive line was around the penalty spot. He should have been further out for me to give him a chance of claiming the cross

Most of the saves he has made you would expect a keeper to save, I cant think of any one outstanding top drawer save this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

The game last night went to extra time, that's the only clue I'm giving.

According to Marca, Sterling already has one foot in Madrid. As Manquillo ran past Sterling, he passed both Sterling's feet, therefore he ran to Madrid.

Nope, can't make any sense of it.

According to Marca, Sterling already has one foot in Madrid. As Manquillo ran past Sterling, he passed both Sterling's feet, therefore he ran to Madrid.

Nope, can't make any sense of it.

It's a riddle.