Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favorite RTS Game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,493 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Never play Dawn of War II, is it really that bad?

I loved the first one.

DOW and DOWII are completely different games. One's base building and point domination. The other is squad based tactical combat, point domination not really required. Just handy respawns. Multiplayer though, DoWII doesn't come close to the first one.

I loved both. I've replayed the DoWII campaigns several times, from the original all through Chaos Rising and Retribution. Well worth a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

DoW 2 has much better writing, visuals, cover/terrain use, wargear upgrades and general polish. Also I think better balanced. I also hate base building so I dig the general lack of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

DOW's requisition points system got the balance perfect for me. Base building - which I like, tbf - was important yes, but the game also demanded that you stayed mobile and aggressive or all the base building in the world wouldn't save you. DoW2 was a huge disappointment to me, and there was an awful, awful push for microtransactions that the previous title and its expansions cast shade on. I haven't picked it back up in forever, whereas I still jump in and out of Winter Assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

DoW 1 online play got a boost recently with its launch on Steam. Really fun game, never cared for 2 all that much. Fun single player but the multi isn't a touch on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I bought a DOW bundle in some Steam sale.

Loved 2 and Chaos rising.

1 just looked really dated. Considering it's only a 2004 game it looks really poor. I found it too ugly and unmanageable to play.

Is it worth persevering with?

• Fired up Generals this evening, still as brilliant as I remember. Having loads of fun in the USA campaign on Brutal.

For anyone that's interested, I followed these guides to get it running on modern spec;

http://www.wsgf.org/dr/command-conquer-generals

http://www.commandandconquer.com/en/news/362/running-cc-generals-on-windows-7

• Moderators Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭Azza

DOW's requisition points system got the balance perfect for me. Base building - which I like, tbf - was important yes, but the game also demanded that you stayed mobile and aggressive or all the base building in the world wouldn't save you. DoW2 was a huge disappointment to me, and there was an awful, awful push for microtransactions that the previous title and its expansions cast shade on. I haven't picked it back up in forever, whereas I still jump in and out of Winter Assault.

Dow 2 and its first expansion had no DLC, the 2nd expansion did alright.
    Dow 2 was basically an attempt by Relic to make Dow play like Company of Heroes.

It was also mean't to attract none RTS players by removing base building, what they believed at the time was a major turn off for many people who don't like the genre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Generals and Zero Hour.
    My first ever PC game and Only one I played continuously .
    Saw my bro playing generals one day and gave it a crack and was hooked.
    Spent 4 solid years playing online.
    Tried every other RTS and found nothing could come close to the feel and fun.

Pity they cancelled Generals 2, was stoked when I saw it was getting made and then they pulled it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

DOW and DOWII are completely different games. One's base building and point domination. The other is squad based tactical combat, point domination not really required. Just handy respawns. Multiplayer though, DoWII doesn't come close to the first one.

I loved both. I've replayed the DoWII campaigns several times, from the original all through Chaos Rising and Retribution. Well worth a look.

I loved DoW 2 original one. I have played A LOT multiplayer of it and it was Fierce fun.
    It got way out of hands with expansions. I did not liked changes to tyranids too :(

Gbear wrote: »

1 just looked really dated. Considering it's only a 2004 game it looks really poor. I found it too ugly and unmanageable to play.

I think it looks quite nice with everything on maximum. It's up to you if you really want to try and get into it. The main appeal is multiplayer, and there are nine teams, each with quite different play styles and completely different tech trees, so it takes a lot to get good at. Absolutely cracking fun if you can play a LAN game with some friends.

EDIT: Obviously you should be playing Soulstorm, the last expansion, it does a lot of rebalancing and adds two new races. They're probably the least popular races (although I quite like them), but the expansion really just fills out the game nicely. A bunch of stuff was overpowered and skewed the races in the earlier versions.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

XsApollo wrote: »
    Generals and Zero Hour.
    My first ever PC game and Only one I played continuously .
    Saw my bro playing generals one day and gave it a crack and was hooked.
    Spent 4 solid years playing online.
    Tried every other RTS and found nothing could come close to the feel and fun.

Pity they cancelled Generals 2, was stoked when I saw it was getting made and then they pulled it. :(

Completely forgot about general and zero hour, how I loved both.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,517 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Azza wrote: »
    Dow 2 and its first expansion had no DLC, the 2nd expansion did alright.
    Dow 2 was basically an attempt by Relic to make Dow play like Company of Heroes.

It was also mean't to attract none RTS players by removing base building, what they believed at the time was a major turn off for many people who don't like the genre.
    And utterly failed alienating the people from DoW1 while not getting enough people for DoW2 to be worth a follow up...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Since we were talking about it, PC Gamer has a 10 year anniversary catch up with one of the DOW devs: http://www.pcgamer.com/2014/09/19/dawn-of-war-retrospective-ten-years-of-war-in-the-41st-millennium/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Revoker88

After reading this thread decided to plump for the CnC Ultimate Collection,17 of the games in one

Only €9.73 here for all 17

http://www.kinguin.net/category/1000/command-conquer-the-ultimate-collection-origin-key/

EoinHef wrote: »
    After reading this thread decided to plump for the CnC Ultimate Collection,17 of the games in one

Only €9.73 here for all 17

http://www.kinguin.net/category/1000/command-conquer-the-ultimate-collection-origin-key/

Ewww, origin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Revoker88

Zillah wrote: »
    Ewww, origin.

Might be in a minority but ive no problem with origin,fast downloads,automatic updates,and recently,free games aswell.

Guess some people are harder to please:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Zillah wrote: »
    Ewww, origin.

I would not be buying games on origin, but other then that, its grand for basics. Still beats fecking uPlay!

Speaking of DOW, I've tried to give it another go.

Has anyone had any luck getting it to work on W8.1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Well, I aged with it, so I can't really say. :D They look fine to me, I preferred the big blocky proportions to the DOW2 tiny-head guys.

I do think there's more depth and variety to it though, it's got the same magic as Medieval: Total War in that it's even fun to play while in the process of losing horribly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Great post RopeDrink (Is that a new name? I never saw you around Gaming or Galway...), must investigate some of these mods, I remember Dark Omen blowing my brother and I away even though we thought it was just a boobie prize in one of those "10 Smash Hits" boxes of random pc games you used to get back in the day, absolutely brilliant RTS even though we'd never heard of Warhammer back then.

The first one was just as good imo even though I played them in the wrong order, Shadow of the Horned Rat:

What a pair of games, by far the most satisfying cavalry action and charges you could get years before the Total War games, same for the artillery and cross/long bow regiments, building up your army, collecting relics, fcuking up whole enemy regiments with just your wizards, Im going to say they're my favourites aswell instead of Supreme Commander II.

Warhammer_-_Shadow_of_the_Horned_Rat_Coverart.png

dark_omen-1.jpg

WHDO-day.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Ropey's from the Long Long Ago. Tell us a story Grampa Ropedrink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

Here is a list of a few RTS games I love, Any marked with a * means I am still actively playing it and will play with anyone who wants to :)

Rise of nations
    Warcraft 3
    Age of Empires 2 (HD*+The Forgotten*)
    Company of Heros 1
    Company of heros 2** (Haven't played it yet but I have it)
    Total war series*
    Warhammer 40k Dawn of war 1* (have to use hamachi to play now)
    Planetary Annihilation* (Only played a game or two, So still getting the hang of it)
    Men of war*
    Men of war Assault squad 1 & 2*
    Crusader kings 2 (Sadly never finish a multiplayer game as its too time consuming)

That's all I can think of off the top of my head. I really want to play more dawn of war if anyone is interested. PM me or add IrishRook on steam :)

I've managed to get DOW The Dark Crusade working.

I really do love that sort of Risk/RTS combo.

They had a version of it in C&C 3 as well.

Yeah its great, good challenge aswell, some armies are next to impossible to dig out, Chaos held the bonus territory for increased production and it took me ages to drive them out of it one time, same for the Necron home sector, felt like I was playing a human enemy. Loved upgrading the commander aswell, especially the Tau and Necron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,493 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

For anyone who has yet to play DoW\DoW2 or any of the extras, they're on sale at GamersGate this week.

http://www.gamersgate.com/campaign/34/warhammer-midweek

Given what some said earlier in the thread, might be of interest.

€14.50 for all the DoWII stuff is quite good. Includes all expansions and DLC, I think.
    http://www.gamersgate.com/DD-W40KDOW2GMC/warhammer-40000-dawn-of-war-ii-grand-master-collection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Automan

Populous the beginning, one of my all time favourite RTS.

Homeworld Cataclysm, in my opinion the best of the 3 homeworlds series.

Hostile waters, like an updated version of carrier command but better.

Sacrifice, is an odd one, excellent game,I was not 100% if it was an RTS till I googled it.
    From WIKIA:
    "IGN considered Sacrifice the best strategy game of 2000. The European Computer Trade Show dubbed it the Best PC Game in its show. It was also one of PC Gamer Magazine's Top 100 Games for eight consecutive years."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,758 ✭✭✭weisses

I played most of the rts games mentioned on this thread, but I also had loads of fun with the supreme commander games ...Not mentioned often here, also a big fan of the homeworld series ...Got the original big carton boxes the game was in saved for the mancave :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,435 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Sacrifice was excellent. Brilliant story, with some excellent voice acting.

weisses wrote: »
    I played most of the rts games mentioned on this thread, but I also had loads of fun with the supreme commander games ...Not mentioned often here, also a big fan of the homeworld series ...Got the original big carton boxes the game was in saved for the mancave :D

Never got the appeal of supreme commander.

Too long, too passive.

The units, other than the ubers and some of the artillery, are laughably weak. It always felt like there was too much of an emphasis on base defences.
    Automan wrote: »
    Populous the beginning, one of my all time favourite RTS.

It felt like the technology was years ahead of it's time.

I used to turn the cheats on and just go ballistic making volcanoes all over the place, or spawning a dozen of those dragon yokes.

Never got the appeal of supreme commander.

Too long, too passive.

The units, other than the ubers and some of the artillery, are laughably weak. It always felt like there was too much of an emphasis on base defences.
    Im a base defence whore so thats why II is one of my all time favs :D