If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

It was said earlier, but there is a lack of trust, both ways, between the Keeper and his defence. This game absolutely highlighted that, I doubt that Skrtel is the solution. I think a better Keeper is what is needed. The problem with "the diamond" is that with two up front we are leaving that creaky defence too exposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭klose

Fescue wrote: »
    Where was Sakho when Lovren was sliding in in the left centre back position?

But the majority of the blame is with Mingolet.

Covering lb as moreno was caught upfield (which was a massive mistake aswell). None of our defenders are perfect but i think sakho gets a lot of unfair criticism people calling for skrtel to come back in for him straight away kind of confuses me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Skrtel and valdes cannot come into this team quick enough for me. Mignolet going walkabout again as per usual, what was he actually thinking coming out for the ball for their goal?!! Reina got slated for doing the same against man city when aguero scored from an impossibly acute angle. Sakho has at least one clanger in him every game. His pass rate means nothing when its five yards sideways to Gerrard or lovren. Again our centre backs were consistently playing the ball into our midfield who were marked and facing our own goal. This type of passing will get us nowhere. Also does everything have to go through Gerrard before it leaves our half?? Nice to see Lucas come on and give away stupid fouls as usual. Couthino very poor also, his form has dipped considerably after a good preseason.

And for the plus points...!!!...Mario gets his first goal, full backs did OK, great to see manquillo winning our peno in the 93min, great desire from him. Three points. Champions league, you're having a laugh!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Begovic and Schneiderlin in January would make the team a lot better IMO. Especially defensively and I think they would make our central defenders look a lot better as well.

Not sold on Valdes personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Fescue wrote: »
    Where was Sakho when Lovren was sliding in in the left centre back position?

But the majority of the blame is with Mingolet.

He slid out to the left back slot to cover Moreno who was lost up field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Jaysus that thread is in freefall.

They're almost as bad as us :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Skrtel and valdes cannot come into this team quick enough for me. Mignolet going walkabout again as per usual, what was he actually thinking coming out for the ball for their goal?!! Reina got slated for doing the same against man city when aguero scored from an impossibly acute angle. Sakho has at least one clanger in him every game. His pass rate means nothing when its five yards sideways to Gerrard or lovren. Again our centre backs were consistently playing the ball into our midfield who were marked and facing our own goal. This type of passing will get us nowhere. Also does everything have to go through Gerrard before it leaves our half?? Nice to see Lucas come on and give away stupid fouls as usual. Couthino very poor also, his form has dipped considerably after a good preseason.

And for the plus points...!!!...Mario gets his first goal, full backs did OK, great to see manquillo winning our peno in the 93min, great desire from him. Three points. Champions league, you're having a laugh!!!!
    On Coutinho, he looks so much better with Sturridge in the team, both knowing what the other is looking for. When Danny returns, i expect a much better Coutinho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Just on Mig.

His goalkeeping coach must have spat bile when he saw him coming out for that ball, I wouldn't even do that on 5 a side and I can barely save a ball.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Begovic and Schneiderlin in January would make the team a lot better IMO. Especially defensively and I think they would make our central defenders look a lot better as well.

Not sold on Valdes personally.

We cannot sign anymore Soton players, ****ing end of. Would like Begovic though.

Augmerson wrote: »
    We cannot sign anymore Soton players, ****ing end of. Would like Begovic though.

Would make an exception for Schneiderlin. Think there would be some competition for him though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Would make an exception for Schneiderlin. Think there would be some competition for him though.

Spurs were linked with him.

Naturally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Some of ye need to ban yerselves from posting until at least 2 hours after a game.

Lovren has been in the team '5 mins', i have every confidence in him and less on others around him.

Mignolet on the other hand, i watch him and i think he gives everyone around him the heebie jeebies, thus affecting their play in general.

Sturridge is a massive miss.

Henderson is a soldier for this team.

Most of these players will be fine given time. They just dont know each other well enough, too many new bodies around for cohesion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Can see him going to Chelsea in January. He's very much a Mourinho-type player. Would love him at Anfield though, we could finally phase Gerrard slowly out of the team, and save him for the big games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

The defensive unit needs work. The key word there is unit. That's a talented group of players but it will take time to develop and understanding. Giving up on lovern at this stage is madness!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Blaming a creaking defence for the goal, blaming a diamond, blaming an elder defencive mid and then blaming the keeper. The buck stops with Brendan Rodgers ... i mean come on lads. A fairly average team in Villa turned up on Saturday and shut up shop by simply being organised with of course heart and determination.

Brendan doesn't do boring, doesn't do organised defencively and even when he puts on Lucas doesn't instruct him to sit beside Stevie and pull in the 2 wingers and make it narrow. Its naive and unfortunately will cost us especially in europe against the better teams. Madrid will tear the hole out of us on the counter IF we do that.

Interestingly for me though ... Saturday he dropped Hendo deeper beside Stevie to give a second outlet cos he suspected Villa would push a player onto him. Tonight he had Coutinho coming very deep at times to collect and attack, while Hendo was back to doing his pressing further up the field. Sterling went out of the game as it progressed and we moved him more centrally and took Coutinho off, but this seen the game open up completely and we were wide open - with the 2 fullbacks attacking at will.

We seem to be lacking balance right now. Plain and simple. He is trying to help out Mario by giving him options up front - trying to bed in Lallana by giving gametime so its a work in progress.

*EDIT* I think BR is still doing a great job, but we just gotta accept that his tactics are a rollercoaster ride ;)

martyos121 wrote: »
    Can see him going to Chelsea in January. He's very much a Mourinho-type player. Would love him at Anfield though, we could finally phase Gerrard slowly out of the team, and save him for the big games.

Chelsea don't really have a pressing need for him. Would be perfect for ourselves or Arsenal though. And obviously his old manager wants him at Spurs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Some positives for me since the Villa game;

1/ Henderson getting vice-captain, a worthy successor to Agger imo and his attitude and contribution in general highlights what Rodgers is all about, delighted for him.

2/ We're back in the Champions League and it feels damn good!

3/ We won tonight. It was by no means convincing but it's 3 points. We could easily be 3 points behind Madrid right now or at the very least 2. I'd have taken that happily Saturday but unfortunately it wasn't to be.

4/ The average age of the starting XI tonight was 24 which is a nice little statistic I think. Plenty of learning in that team but Jesus lads do it sooner rather than later, we want this young team in the CL and challenging as we learn and peak as a team.

5/ Its one game closer to Sturridge returning. It's really becoming apparent now how much we'll miss Suarez. It's vital that Balotelli & Suarez are playing together as much as possible as I don't think the others will cut it. Not that I don't rate them but when you lose Suarez you really need both of them strikers player as much as possible.

6/ M&Ms are showing their potential, we all know how much we struggled at the full back position last season. Hopefully they keep it up. Deja Lov was good too, one or too nervy mistakes that proved costly but that ship will steady I feel. He's still only a new signing to a big club. Hoping it's just a bit of rust after being injured with Lallana, time will tell. Happy with Balotelli's performance, could have been better but he get his goal.

I'm still pretty upset about the Villa game to go back in to being negative again but they've all been said already. Some might see Mignolet's mistake as a positive as it highlights the need for a replacement, Valdes. I'm 50/50 on that one myself in terms of whether or not Valdes is an able replacement. But with leagues being won by such small margins these past few seasons, the short term really can't be underestimated and quite frankly Mignolet isn't cutting it imo.

Anyway lads it sure is good to be back :) Stevie G saves the day once again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

Moreno looking the quality signing so far...probably the only decent player tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

daithijjj wrote: »
    Some of ye need to ban yerselves from posting until at least 2 hours after a game.

Lovren has been in the team '5 mins', i have every confidence in him and less on others around him.

Mignolet on the other hand, i watch him and i think he gives everyone around him the heebie jeebies, thus affecting their play in general.

Sturridge is a massive miss.

Henderson is a soldier for this team.

Most of these players will be fine given time. They just dont know each other well enough, too many new bodies around for cohesion.

Easy forget there was 5 new signings playing tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Moreno looking the quality signing so far...probably the only decent player tonight.

Manquillo was good, Lovren was good apart from the goal, Balotelli was good and Henderson ran his bollix off as per usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Knex. wrote: »
    But it was really that close.

They hit the post. Sakho was then all ends up, and only a great sliding tackle from Moreno saved us. He then got up, broke up field and put the ball in for our goal. A huge turning point.

They then scored, and our penalty was lucky, all things considered.

We really could have lost 3 nil. 3 nil to a team 90% of us can't even spell without the help of Google and Copy & Paste.

This is the team that did the double over psv last season, only conceded two goals in their group in Europa league and got through against latzio over two legs
    No great shakes but not no hopers by any means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,331 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

djPSB wrote: »
    Easy forget there was 5 new signings playing tonight.
    No idea why people are expecting a bunch of players from different leagues/countries should be clicking straight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

I'd agree with those who say Skrtel should go straight back in when fit, I just don't know who should partner him. Both Sakho and Lovren have been a disaster waiting to happen in every game so far, the former in particular scares the sh1t out of me every time he gets the ball.

Both have also had their good moments but the consistency just isn't there. If you put a gun to my head I'd have Lovren beside Skrtel but only because I'm still putting stock in the attributes that he was meant to bring to the back. But I'm not holding my breath, for a man who is meant to be a leader and organiser his lack of composure and rashness is scary. Sakho has the same problem, but at least he didn't have the rep of being a cool hand luke when he signed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Barca aint signin Ballo ... they can fook right off! :pac:
    DVDM93 wrote: »
    Some positives for me since the Villa game;

1/ Henderson getting vice-captain, a worthy successor to Agger imo and his attitude and contribution in general highlights what Rodgers is all about, delighted for him.

2/ We're back in the Champions League and it feels damn good!

3/ We won tonight. It was by no means convincing but it's 3 points. We could easily be 3 points behind Madrid right now or at the very least 2. I'd have taken that happily Saturday but unfortunately it wasn't to be.

4/ The average age of the starting XI tonight was 24 which is a nice little statistic I think. Plenty of learning in that team but Jesus lads do it sooner rather than later, we want this young team in the CL and challenging as we learn and peak as a team.

5/ Its one game closer to Sturridge returning. It's really becoming apparent now how much we'll miss Suarez. It's vital that Balotelli & Suarez are playing together as much as possible as I don't think the others will cut it. Not that I don't rate them but when you lose Suarez you really need both of them strikers player as much as possible.

6/ M&Ms are showing their potential, we all know how much we struggled at the full back position last season. Hopefully they keep it up. Deja Lov was good too, one or too nervy mistakes that proved costly but that ship will steady I feel. He's still only a new signing to a big club. Hoping it's just a bit of rust after being injured with Lallana, time will tell. Happy with Balotelli's performance, could have been better but he get his goal.

I'm still pretty upset about the Villa game to go back in to being negative again but they've all been said already. Some might see Mignolet's mistake as a positive as it highlights the need for a replacement, Valdes. I'm 50/50 on that one myself in terms of whether or not Valdes is an able replacement. But with leagues being won by such small margins these past few seasons, the short term really can't be underestimated and quite frankly Mignolet isn't cutting it imo.

Anyway lads it sure is good to be back :) Stevie G saves the day once again!

This is the team that did the double over psv last season, only conceded two goals in their group in Europa league and got through against latzio over two legs
    No great shakes but not no hopers by any means

They also came to Anfield tonight off the run of seven games unbeaten. Not against world beaters by any means but it's a good record to have in professional football no matter what league and I'm site they're confidence was high tonight along with a 'nothing to lose' attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭Mr_Red

Do you mind me asking ....... after watching your opening games.... how many players and what type of players would you think you need for January?

GBX wrote: »
    Barca aint signin Ballo ... they can fook right off! :pac:

My bad!

*Mario & Sturridge

As you can see I still haven't gotten over Suarez leaving, still in the system :(:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

My player ratings

Mignolet 5 - Poor for the goal & doesn't inspire confidence.
    Manquillo 7 - Improving with every game. Great engine & is aggresive in defence
    Lovren 6.5 - Recieving way too much criticism. Made some great tackles & interceptions before Ludo's goal which was an error byhim but not helped by Moreno way out of position.
    Sakho 6 - Looked shaky at times as he is too confident & willing to take too many risks
    Moreno 7.5 - Great threat down the left & made a vital tackle in the 2nd half but was too high up the pitch for the goal.

Gerrard 5 - Good penalty but doesn't have the legs to cover the defence.
    Henderson 6.5 - Great energy as usual
    Coutinho 5 - Tried hard but just wasn't his night & his passing was off.

Lallana 5 - A bit too ponderous with the ball & lacks some pace. But needs time to get match fitness
    Balotelli 6.5 - Worked hard & showed great strength & touch at times. Works better with a a partner
    Sterling 5.5 - Struggled to get into the game & lost the ball for there goal. We needed to get the ball to him quicker. Started the 2nd half brighter though.

Borini 6 - His energy helped create more space.
    Lucas 5 - Lacks mobility & didn't do anything when he came on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

I'd agree with those who say Skrtel should go straight back in when fit, I just don't know who should partner him. Both Sakho and Lovren have been a disaster waiting to happen in every game so far, the former in particular scares the sh1t out of me every time he gets the ball.

Both have also had their good moments but the consistency just isn't there. If you put a gun to my head I'd have Lovren beside Skrtel but only because I'm still putting stock in the attributes that he was meant to bring to the back. But I'm not holding my breath, for a man who is meant to be a leader and organiser his lack of composure and rashness is scary. Sakho has the same problem, but at least he didn't have the rep of being a cool hand luke when he signed.

The real head scratcher here for anyone who isn't lying to themselves is that Agger & Skrtel is a better CB combo than Sktrel & one of the other lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Mr_Red wrote: »
    Do you mind me asking ....... after watching your opening games.... how many players and what type of players would you think you need for January?

Why would you care? The season has hardly started.