The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

People moaning about special offer pizza deals,

It's a new low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

Here's a case study from the Data Commissioner's website: Case study 2. They shouldn't send unsolicited marketing messages, and if they do, they should have an opt-out option. Could be costly if they persist.

Case study 11 looks familiar

Gavlor wrote: »

It's a new low.

If you get a text once a week for a year that you don't want often in the middle of the night with no way of getting off the list when you need your phone for work as you are on call then I hope you can be so tolerant ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,705 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Forced hilarity in the morning on the radio, particularly that chav Strawberry Alarm Clock!

rom wrote: »
    If you get a text once a week for a year that you don't want often in the middle of the night with no way of getting off the list when you need your phone for work as you are on call then I hope you can be so tolerant ...

Man, I've done everything to try get your missus to stop texting me, I never thought of the data commissioner!! :D

To quote yourself "It's a new low." :rolleyes:

I knew you'd bite

Back to the ranting,

Was in lidl today picking up cycling glasses and bib shorts (great value) when I decided to pick up some bottles of leffe blonde beer.

Your man couldn't sell them to me before 10 am. What a stupid law

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

People not mentioning 'Precision Timing' as the offenders :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

^ Vaguely related to the beer rant, getting ID'd for the wine in the M&S Dine In For 2 deal when picking one up at the end of a long run last weekend. Would have thought that at 30 even places with an aggressive Challenge 25 policy would have fecked off at this stage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭pointer28

^ Vaguely related to the beer rant, getting ID'd for the wine in the M&S Dine In For 2 deal when picking one up at the end of a long run last weekend. Would have thought that at 30 even places with an aggressive Challenge 25 policy would have fecked off at this stage...

Similar to yourself, except closer to 40 and with a beard that's more grey than black :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It's a new low.

Went to order from Dominos last night and they direct you to use their app. I had a read of some of the app reviews first and they were mostly about the pizzas, missing offers etc rather than the bloody application itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

walshb wrote: »
    Forced hilarity in the morning on the radio, particularly that chav Strawberry Alarm Clock!

+1. They all need to be taken out into a field somewhere and shot. Cant take irish radio any more, just listen to stations from New york and Radio Paradise now.....different class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Why did you give them ur number so, there is usually an a box u need to click to say if you want this or not!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

ultraman1 wrote: »
    I's Der no debating thread
    .Is Der no consumers issues thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Robbing f*cking b*stards!!

Never using venere.com again!!! I made a booking for a hotel, but had to cancell it nearly 2 months ago, got confirmation that there was no charge, but notice today, that my credit card has been debited by €630 for the hotel :eek: It wasn't even taken by venere.com it was taken by hotels.com.

Shower of sh*ts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

pistol_75 wrote: »
    People not mentioning 'Precision Timing' as the offenders :p

I did link to their FB page.
    I see one anonymous person did rant about their text on that page, but they are not getting much love (i.e. likes)....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

ultraman1 wrote: »
    .Is Der no consumers issues thread
    People who start a thread and then think they fu***ng own it and can make up the rules. F*** y** ultra-rocky, f*** y**.

<need to get my drink on>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

People who start a thread and then think they fu***ng own it and can make up the rules. F*** y** ultra-rocky, f*** y**.

<need to get my drink on>

Half the time I dont even know what the **** he's talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

tunguska wrote: »
    Half the time I dont even know what the **** he's talking about.

Same here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

gerard_65 wrote: »
    Illegal. You can make a complaint to the data protection commissioner.

He can't...He's British ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

People who constantly moan about **** but won't do anything to make things change. It's just moan moan moan day in day out.

People who poo in public toilets. Should be illegal.

Ososlo wrote: »
    People who constantly moan about **** but won't do anything to make things change. It's just moan moan moan day in day out.

Does anybody else spot the irony in that post????

Ososlo wrote: »

Has to be a better alternative than soiling you pants!

People who use irony in the wrong context!:P

walshb wrote: »
    People who use irony in the wrong context!:P

Educate me?!!

She ranted about people talking sh!te and proceeded to talk about sh!te herself.

I don't English too good so any help would be greatly exasperated.

Educate me?!!

She ranted about people talking sh!te and proceeded to talk about sh!te herself.

I don't English too good so any help would be greatly exasperated.

I was only buzzing. Just bored!

Why did you give them ur number so, there is usually an a box u need to click to say if you want this or not!!

To sign up to any of their events its a mandatory field.

I also ensured that "If you don’t want to receive news of offers and forthcoming events from Precision Timing tick here" was checked.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

To sign up to any of their events its a mandatory field.

I also ensured that "If you don’t want to receive news of offers and forthcoming events from Precision Timing tick here" was checked.

There's also the slight problem that the provided no opt out option to users, t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

RubyK wrote: »
    Robbing f*cking b*stards!!

Never using venere.com again!!! I made a booking for a hotel, but had to cancell it nearly 2 months ago, got confirmation that there was no charge, but notice today, that my credit card has been debited by €630 for the hotel :eek: It wasn't even taken by venere.com it was taken by hotels.com.

Shower of sh*ts.

That's because hotels.com and venere.com are both owned by Expedia - they are just brands.