The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

wowzer wrote: »
    Overheard a guy in work saying he hasn't been nominated yet for this ice bucket garbage, he then proceeded to ask another guy to do it again and nominate him.

How sad and desperate is that, it took some serious will power to bite my tongue and say nothing.

You should have walked over, poured a scalding cup of coffee over him and wedged your pen in his ear. Maybe staple his mouth closed for effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Cabaal wrote: »
    its about the attention whoring for alot (not all) of people,

I'd wager there's a pretty high percentage of people that haven't donated anything to any charity,

Very similar to the no make-up selfie thing.........Just donate money, thats all you gotta do, forget about the self promotion and narcissism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

My best mate died of Motor Neurons Disease 4 years ago he was a fit healthy man who was full of life. He was diagnosed with it in October and died by the following January. He didnt even last 4 months, its a horrible disease that sucks the life out of a person in a painful way and very little is known about. Any kind of focus on the disease be it self promoting or whatever is welcome as far as i'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭pointer28

tang1 wrote: »
    My best mate died of Motor Neurons Disease 4 years ago he was a fit healthy man who was full of life. He was diagnosed with it in October and died by the following January. He didnt even last 4 months, its a horrible disease that sucks the life out of a person in a painful way and very little is known about. Any kind of focus on the disease be it self promoting or whatever is welcome as far as i'm concerned.

I completely get your point and agree that any focus and fund raising is good but I bet if people were challenged to do something useful like volunteer their time that didn't involve 15 seconds of Facebook fame they wouldn't be half as generous.

Anyway, I know it's raising lots of money and I'm just a grumpy sod but it stinks of the whole celeb faux concern purely for publicity without actually understanding or caring about the illness in question.

I guess I'd like to see people actually taking some time to understand the disease and maybe volunteer their time to AWARE or CHILDLINE or MND or any other worthy charity.

pointer28 wrote: »
    I completely get your point and agree that any focus and fund raising is good but I bet if people were challenged to do something useful like volunteer their time that didn't involve 15 seconds of Facebook fame they wouldn't be half as generous.

Anyway, I know it's raising lots of money and I'm just a grumpy sod but it stinks of the whole celeb faux concern purely for publicity without actually understanding or caring about the illness in question.

I guess I'd like to see people actually taking some time to understand the disease and maybe volunteer their time to AWARE or CHILDLINE or MND or any other worthy charity.

Agree with you totally regarding the celeb issue, i'd say half of so called 'celebs' that have done it have't the first clue what Motor Neurons is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Victor Meldrew types over analysing the ice bucket challenge - it's just a bit of craic for a very worthy cause.

Any kind of focus on the disease be it self promoting or whatever is welcome as far as i'm concerned.

Its murky, I mean so many bad things have been done in the name of charity but I dont think the ends justify the means. It reminds me of a certain faux celebrity who was meant to run the womens mini marathon for a charity a couple of yrs ago. She turned up at the start line in full make up, posed for cameras to beat the band, started the race and then ducked into a gaff shortly there after.........only to emerge make-up and hair immaculate some 40 odd minutes later, bunk back into the race and cross the finish line. That was all in the name of charity too and I think that was a disgrace. People had sponsored her in good faith and she let everybody down by being dishonest. The argument after was that it didnt matter if she had run or not, what was important was money was raised for charity blah blah blah.
    I think "charity" can be hi-jacked by people looking to show off or to self promote on social media(I know a lot of people who didnt even use ice......in an ice- bucket challenge) and thats pathetic. Its been said already, if you wanna help a charity then volunteer or just donate the money.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

People who say they won't eat beef because of their fear of CJD (mad cow for humans)

Seriously, they have more chance of being hit by lightening 7 times in a row then being struck down with CJD.

139 people worldwide have been diagnosed with CJD, 139 people out of 7 BILLION PEOPLE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,097 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Victor Meldrew types over analysing the ice bucket challenge - it's just a bit of craic for a very worthy cause.

It's mainly a load of horse ****e. Most people who do it haven't bothered their arse to donate. In fact following it correctly you do the ice bucket instead of donating. Those that do donate usually donate a couple of euro - a pittance. And at the same time waste what is a precious resource that there are people in other parts of the world dying without.

I am delighted it is drawing attention to the disease itself but for ****s sake I really wish people would stop and look at the bigger picture before throwing out the tired victor meldrew analogies.

tunguska wrote: »
    Its murky, I mean so many bad things have been done in the name of charity but I dont think the ends justify the means. It reminds me of a certain faux celebrity who was meant to run the womens mini marathon for a charity a couple of yrs ago. She turned up at the start line in full make up, posed for cameras to beat the band, started the race and then ducked into a gaff shortly there after.........only to emerge make-up and hair immaculate some 40 odd minutes later, bunk back into the race and cross the finish line. That was all in the name of charity too and I think that was a disgrace. People had sponsored her in good faith and she let everybody down by being dishonest. The argument after was that it didnt matter if she had run or not, what was important was money was raised for charity blah blah blah.
    I think "charity" can be hi-jacked by people looking to show off or to self promote on social media(I know a lot of people who didnt even use ice......in an ice- bucket challenge) and thats pathetic. Its been said already, if you wanna help a charity then volunteer or just donate the money.

We could debate this all day, i'm not saying your wrong at all, as long as the disease is in the public spotlight i think its a good thing. We run a yearly 5 a side all day soccer tournament since my friend died & all monies go towards Motor Neurons. Jimmy McGees son died of the disease to and is one celeb i would applaud in regards the work he has done trying to make people aware of the affects the illness has on people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,705 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Lets' be honest about the challenge, the majority of people wouldn't give you the steam off their proverbial pi%S. All I am seeing is their whoopy di whoop 2 euro donation. The bare minimum. Falling over each other to do the challenge. All to see how many comments and likes they get. Sorry to be so pessimistic, but I don't buy it at all with the majority donating.

We could debate this all day, i'm not saying your wrong at all, as long as the disease is in the public spotlight i think its a good thing. We run a yearly 5 a side all day soccer tournament since my friend died & all monies go towards Motor Neurons. Jimmy McGees son died of the disease to and is one celeb i would applaud in regards the work he has done trying to make people aware of the affects the illness has on people.

No worries I dont wanna get into a circular debate either, I do see the point your making though.

I f&cking hate this while lukewarm water bucket rubbish but what's even more annoying is people moaning because of all the precious water being wasted.

FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Why do people have to SPEAK SO ****ING LOUDLY on their phones in enclosed spaces????? Wrecking my head; (

Gavlor wrote: »
    I f&cking hate this while lukewarm water bucket rubbish but what's even more annoying is people moaning because of all the precious water being wasted.

FFS

-a8914373-076d-44e9-ae9a-2ccd6fbaa6c1.gif?width=500&height=213

Maybe if your beard was more like his then I'd be worried :D

Lol believe it or not it actually is a full beard these days. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

It's mainly a load of horse ****e. Most people who do it haven't bothered their arse to donate. In fact following it correctly you do the ice bucket instead of donating. Those that do donate usually donate a couple of euro - a pittance. And at the same time waste what is a precious resource that there are people in other parts of the world dying without.

I am delighted it is drawing attention to the disease itself but for ****s sake I really wish people would stop and look at the bigger picture before throwing out the tired victor meldrew analogies.

I'd agree it's only a gimmick but it has raised over a million for the charity to date which is more than a pittance imo. I really hope the money goes to where it should, as was said it can be murky as the CRC & Rehab instances have shown. Charities have to be gimmicky to get the money in, as state funding has been cut beyond the bone - for me this is the bigger picture. I'm not sure where you're getting most people who do it don't bother to donate but I would like to think you're wrong - I guess in this regard it depends on how much of a cynic you are (or not).
    Anyway my original rant was about the over analysis of the challenge &it still stands - after all this is the rant thread! Gotta be careful as UM will be on giving out again for too much commentary on this thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The economy just about improving and unions and government members now looking for wage increases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

6 Mile run pretty late last night (after 10pm). A lady pulls up beside me in her car looking for directions. I stop running and walk back to her car, and as I do, she starts rolling up the window, because I guess you can't be too careful. But I'm in shorts and a t-shirt and clearly there's nowhere to hide a weapon. Secondly, she chose me. Shouldn't I be the one who is slightly worried?

I realize that it's a dangerous world we live in, but something just struck me as ironic about the interaction. You don't trust me - but you're still willing to stop me and get directions? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

6 Mile run pretty late last night (after 10pm). A lady pulls up beside me in her car looking for directions. I stop running and walk back to her car, and as I do, she starts rolling up the window, because I guess you can't be too careful. But I'm in shorts and a t-shirt and clearly there's nowhere to hide a weapon. Secondly, she chose me. Shouldn't I be the one who is slightly worried?

I realize that it's a dangerous world we live in, but something just struck me as ironic about the interaction. You don't trust me - but you're still willing to stop me and get directions? :confused:

She saw someone to ask directions, she then saw you were in running gear - but yet you stopped and were willing to compromise your training hence you mustn't have been a runner but one in disguise! Very suspicious. She was dead right to take precautions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Gringo78 wrote: »
    She saw someone to ask directions, she then saw you were in running gear - but yet you stopped and were willing to compromise your training hence you mustn't have been a runner but one in disguise! Very suspicious. She was dead right to take precautions.
    She was right not to trust me. I sent her in entirely the wrong direction.

By accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Maybe it was the shorts?

shorts.png
    320043.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,110 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

walshb wrote: »
    Lets' be honest about the challenge, the majority of people wouldn't give you the steam off their proverbial pi%S. All I am seeing is their whoopy di whoop 2 euro donation. The bare minimum. Falling over each other to do the challenge. All to see how many comments and likes they get. Sorry to be so pessimistic, but I don't buy it at all with the majority donating.

€1m raised all the same

BwCP2CFIUAACY9A.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

FFS

There's a fu<king water leak up the road from me which is under a section of newly resurfaced road. Water has been pouring down the road for 3 weeks now and the freshly laid tarmac is in shi*te. Enough water for ice bucket challenges for the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

I have a few points to make:

1) It's Motor Neurone, not Neurons. A small point, but still.

2) Facebook is idiotic. We know this. Yes, a lot of the people doing the challenge mis-understood/are only looking for attention/didn't donate etc etc. Money did get raised though, and let's face it isn't it a hell of a lot more desirable than the last viral mass-movement, which was nek-nominations?

3) the entire 'charity industry' is highly dubious and really just an inevitable offshoot of capitalism. In a proper, grown-up liberal social democratic society charity would be government-funded and paid for by our own taxes. Then chuggers, who are bar the Israelis the most hated people on the planet, would cease to exist.

4) 'Waste of water' my arse. The amount 'wasted' on ice-bucket challenges is piddling, a drop in the bucket, and I make no apology for these horrible gags.

davedanon wrote: »
    I have a few points to make:

1) It's Motor Neurone, not Neurons. A small point, but still.

Its called auto spell check on a phone, if i need a spelling lesson you'll be first man i'll call.

Save your sark, dude. You weren't the only one to make the same mistake, that's why I posted it.

davedanon wrote: »
    Save your sark, dude. You weren't the only one to make the same mistake, that's why I posted it.

Its sarcasm not sark, dude!

indeed. mea culpa.