The body of a deceased man in Letterkenny was being treated for 'ebola like symptoms'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Endless Nameless

Just had 3 months away from the kip, and im going back.....tomorrow. Nice. Real nice.

I'm leaving tomorrow, good luck sucker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Kirby42

I think it's unlikely to spread. Don't you have to come into contact with their bodily fluids?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

and I just came back to Letterkenny today

what's the chance of that

the chance of contracting the virus in letter kenny: low

the chance of coming back from letterkenny: high if you were there:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    No chance. It's Albert all the way today on all media.

Albert dies on the same day that a suspected Ebola case is reported here? Coincidence? I think not.

Definitely one for the conspiracy forum. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭gjc

BBC website have it may also get 10pm news coverage

the problem with ebola in poorer countries is they lack the technology to treat it. western countries have better technology so even if you contracted the disease, id say you would survive. The america doctor has recovered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭teotihuacan

Jaysus imagine there came an almighty shower of rain flooding the hospital again, washing all his lovely ebola filled corpse-juice into the water supply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭Mech1

Kirby42 wrote: »
    I think it's unlikely to spread. Don't you have to come into contact with their bodily fluids?

In Donegal with a suntan! bodily fluids aplenty getting spread around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,618 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Jaysus imagine there came an almighty shower of rain flooding the hospital again, washing all his lovely ebola filled corpse-juice into the water supply

Ah here, feck off!

Summer. Is. Not. Over.

Keep repeating it often enough and it might be true!

i think it needs a live cell to survive. and id say chlorine or fluorine would kill it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,365 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Jaysus imagine there came an almighty shower of rain flooding the hospital again

...and international news crews, surely on their way, witnessed it. Don't think they would be very reassured.

i think we should err on the side of caution and restrict the movement of all donegal people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Bang_Bang

I thought Ebola dies with the host?, it's just very contagious while you're alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Lol at some of the posts in this thread. Let the spread of misinformation and scaremongering commence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Endless Nameless

MadYaker wrote: »
    Lol at some of the posts in this thread. Let the spread of misinformation and scaremongering commence!

you're next, Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Bang_Bang wrote: »
    I thought Ebola dies with the host?, it's just very contagious while you're alive

Ebola "dies" with soap. Doesn't "die" when the host dies. Bodies remain infectious after death. I'd wager our biggest threat to spreading the virus would be our funeral culture. But, we can easily amend that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Ah jaysus, and here's me starting a job in letterkenny in 9 days :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

It's quite possible it is not ebola, but given that the man in question has returned from Sierra Leone recently it's certainly no harm taking precautions.

Does anyone have any other information on the man like his age and when he returned home.

the hopes of all donegal folk rest on ZMAPP

http://edition.cnn.com/2014/08/21/health/ebola-treatment-drug/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Turtwig wrote: »
    Ebola "dies" with soap. Doesn't "die" when the host dies. Bodies remain infectious after death. I'd wager our biggest threat to spreading the virus would be our funeral culture. But, we can easily amend that.

Any known ebola death - the body should be cremated. Simple as that. Regardless of what country its in or what your religious belief is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

Ah jaysus, and here's me starting a job in letterkenny in 9 days :rolleyes:

Funeral home? You might be busy!

O'bola

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

What?

We need the army to seal off Donegal and shoot if anyone tries to leave...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

In the age of social media even man killing viruses have their own twitter accounts.

https://twitter.com/ebolaireland/status/502528787922563073

RobertKK wrote: »
    What?

im thinking incineration in a mass grave. something along the lines of foot and mouth disease, but instead of sheep, donegal people....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

A disease of poverty and ignorance? Will spread like wildfire through parts of Donegal then so.

RobertKK wrote: »
    What?

Wasn't there a movie like that before "outbreak" was dustin Hoffman in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Isolt

The poor man was (allegedly) being treated for malaria. Very likely that malaria was the cause of death. His poor family, they must be heartbroken.

Suspected #Ebola victim was reportedly at a festival last week in Donegal.