If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What have ye caught in your Larsen/Ladder traps

• 19-08-2014 09:55AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭

Heres what was waiting for me yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

Boiled-egg wrote: »

He looks happy to see ya,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭duckman!!

Boiled-egg wrote: »
    Here ya go, bit easier to see it

Did ya have the gun with ya??

318973.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭philmire

Ha ha never heard of a song fox befor :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Backfire

You are the 2nd person ever to even say they caught a fox using a larsen trap, nevermind prove it.

Fair play to you!

The only other time I have seen it with my 2 eyes (i had to go see, I didn't believe it being told over the phone) is by my gun club chairman, who caught 2 fox cubs, one in each of the trapping compartments of his larsen cage. That was 3 years ago I'd say. They were small cubs though. No sign of the mother vixen. I can't remember if he had any extra bait such as meat in the sides, other than the call bird in the center.

I have no picture to show but caught 2 more magpies myself today. That makes it 99 magpies for my count exactly. So 1 more and I hit the big 100.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

Caught this eejet back in april in one, two days later he was in it again!!!
    I put one of my springers after him the second time I let him out, cant get within a 100yrds of the cute fecker now.

pheasant_zps1e688b51.jpg

Also caught a fox in one back in January. As old as the hills he was, gave himself up fierce easy for a finish.:D

fox_zpscb526d92.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Backfire

Ok so it looks like the catching of foxes using Larsen traps is more common than I thought :)

Well I have never caught one using a Larsen trap, only got them using a fox cage which is designed for the job. But it must be some joy to walk to your Larsen cage to see a fox in it :)

I'll be checking my cage in about an hour or so, have it in a neighbours yard, up on the roof of an old small water well pump house, under a huge ash tree. Caught 11 magpies so far there. I don't for certain if there is any left, thought I saw one fly away from the big ash tree yesterday but couldn't be certain.

I will edit this post if I catch anything.

EDIT: yup, had 1 magpie caught. Thats 12 magpies caught in that yard and brings my total to 100 magpies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Best I ever seen was a picture of a full grown pig in a fox trap! It was on THL forum, bloody hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

sniper83 wrote: »
    Caught this eejet back in april in one, two days later he was in it again!!!
    I put one of my springers after him the second time I let him out, cant get within a 100yrds of the cute fecker now.

pheasant_zps1e688b51.jpg
    Come November the fcuker will be nowhere to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭thehound

got fox in my larsen trap one each year for last two years trap was set in same place each time