Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

535d
    Having owned one and test drove an e65 before buying the e60, go for it! Coming from a e46 you won't know yourself with the power and TORQUE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

James May is back on again right now with cars of the people. Found it fairly interesting last week, for what its worth :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

OSI wrote: »
    They're good fun. Just don't plan on doing Galway to Dublin in one and expect to be comfy.

I'm 6'5" and about 28 stone and regularly drive mine from London to Dublin and onwards to the wesht. I've driven Dublin to Mayo and back in the same day and driven back to London the following day. It's not a comfort issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Don't you have the same engine in the pug??? :P
    Mines on 85000 miles on the original chain, I know I'm pushing my luck at this stage so it's going in for a chain swap and to get an oil filter gasket changes this week as it happens!!
    I'm in two minds whether to get my inlet cleaned or suck it up and swicth to the LCI head from the 09 model to solve the problem instead of resetting the problem you know? Not sure how much this will set me back yet though...

I do got mine done 3 weeks ago, getting inlet valves walnut shell blasted next week and then remapped at the same time. How much were you quoted for the timing chain? Getting that many miles on the original is good going, definitely big cajones on you! :pac:
    I can give you the number of a Mini specialist who does all my work. He gets cars from the North and all.
    He can let you know what he recommends. Id imagine if you were holsding onto the car the upgraded head and PCVs would be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Marcusm wrote: »
    I'm 6'5" and about 28 stone and regularly drive mine from London to Dublin and onwards to the wesht. I've driven Dublin to Mayo and back in the same day and driven back to London the following day. It's not a comfort issue.

28 Stone :eek: What sort of animal are you!! :pac:

Don't mean that in a bad way or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Sobanek wrote: »
    Question:
    What is your opinion on those cars?

1. 2005 BMW 730d (facelift)
    2. 2005 BMW 535d Touring
    3. 2007 Volvo S80 2.5T SE LUX

//edit: Considering getting one of those around March :) 730d will be a comfortable cruiser, but the 535d will be a nice little rocket. The S80 is the newest, but is the most expensive to run :(
    It was going to be a Porsche Boxster 2.5 or a BMW 330ci vert, but I can't get insured on either of those :(

#3!

Or a 4.4 V8 if you can find one!

Ugh I need a break from the CAO offers thread. It's like a mad house over there.

Wheels are due for arrival tomorrow, as are my side repeaters. Might be getting a new battery as well. And my fitted mats came Friday, must get a pic up! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ugh I need a break from the CAO offers thread. It's like a mad house over there.

Wheels are due for arrival tomorrow, as are my side repeaters. Might be getting a new battery as well. And my fitted mats came Friday, must get a pic up! :)

Why in the hell are you in the cao thread? :confused: apart from the obvious answer like

Also yay for wheels! I might be getting my vacuum lines tomorrow, if i don't so help me god that shop is getting a mountain of abuse, already a week late

Why in the hell are you in the cao thread? :confused: apart from the obvious answer like

Also yay for wheels! I might be getting my vacuum lines tomorrow, if i don't so help me god that shop is getting a mountain of abuse, already a week late

Because I am extra nice and trying to keep the kids calm and reassure them as they wait until 6 for the offers! Not a hope I'm waiting with them :pac: Few trolls like to stir sh!t too.....

Can't beat a load of new stuff coming :)

Because I am extra nice and trying to keep the kids calm and reassure them as they wait until 6 for the offers! Not a hope I'm waiting with them :pac: Few trolls like to stir sh!t too.....

Can't beat a load of new stuff coming :)

Well look at mr nice guy, it was me in that position last year waiting on a place, feels like yesterday :rolleyes:

Yeah you can't bate new stuff, I've a good bit coming for both cars next week, then they're as done as they can be, the 9-5 anyways, the 900 will be....somewhat driveable :D

Haven't paid much attention to the 900 thread lately, have you got the engine bay treated? Is the engine back in?

Sure pop over and have a look see! :)

Jaysus fair play man, you've a load of stuff done since I last seen it!

Yeah i don't stick around! :pac: there's one serious spot on it that is really concerning me though, so i need to get it looked at and sorted out, basically the car could collapse from under its own weight :o

Game over sorta thing y'know?

Ahh yes that'd be a slight problem alright. Be nice to be re-assured that it won't fall to pieces whilst on the m50 or something :pac:

Exactly, plus the lack of a proper exhaust, well, an exhaust that hasn't been butchered by the look of it :mad:

Yeah i don't stick around! :pac: there's one serious spot on it that is really concerning me though, so i need to get it looked at and sorted out, basically the car could collapse from under its own weight :o

Game over sorta thing y'know?

This exact thing

wishbone_damage.jpg

Oh sh!t. Get any quote to sort it or anything?

Guy in mullingar wants 8/900 for it, but i know of a person who might do it for a bit less, with better results

Here's the whole process
    http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/forum/threads/saab-900-driveshaft-tunnel-repair.22345/

Ah yes. Seems to be a bit to it after. Hope it doesn't end up costing you an arm and a leg!

You and me both! Once i get it going that'l be the next order of bidness, saving up to sort that, then it'l be safe to drive

This is stupid o'clock, why am I up :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

28 Stone :eek: What sort of animal are you!! :pac:

Don't mean that in a bad way or anything.

Foxtrot Oscar
    OSI wrote: »
    Fair enough. I found the R53 to be a very harsh and noisy ride over long distance.

I was talking R56s. Perhaps the build quality or sound dampening improved. Using non run flats helps. I've had two, the second one being a convertible. It's more comfortable/quiet doing 300 miles with the top down, counter intuitively. But on a physical comfort basis, I had no problem whatsoever which was the opposite of what I expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

I do got mine done 3 weeks ago, getting inlet valves walnut shell blasted next week and then remapped at the same time. How much were you quoted for the timing chain? Getting that many miles on the original is good going, definitely big cajones on you! :pac:
    I can give you the number of a Mini specialist who does all my work. He gets cars from the North and all.
    He can let you know what he recommends. Id imagine if you were holsding onto the car the upgraded head and PCVs would be better.

That not Ger in Ballincollig you mean is it? Ive been going to him for a while now since he was recommended by someone on here!
    I know Im really taking my chances with 85k on the original chain so it has to go this week! Im thinking remap myself too haha! I must get the oil filter housing gaskets done first though along with the chain and get the head blasted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Guy in mullingar wants 8/900 for it, but i know of a person who might do it for a bit less, with better results

Here's the whole process
    http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/forum/threads/saab-900-driveshaft-tunnel-repair.22345/

For that price, it would be cheaper in the long run to buy your own welder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Marcusm wrote: »
    I've had two, the second one being a convertible. It's more comfortable/quiet doing 300 miles with the top down, counter intuitively. But on a physical comfort basis, I had no problem whatsoever which was the opposite of what I expected.

At 6'5" you must look like Noddy driving around in one of those! :D

noddy.jpg

pred racer wrote: »
    For that price, it would be cheaper in the long run to buy your own welder.

Yeah but would you trust me to do a welding job like that? I know i wouldnt :P

Get a practice car first, be grand.

Hang on and I go down to my car tree there and pick one off :P

Plus I've no space :(

Hang on and I go down to my car tree there and pick one off :P

Plus I've no space :(

No space?
    Sure there's five cars in the yard outside my dublin house now. Ya gotta make space sometimes! Car tetris!