Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tourists in Ireland

• 16-08-2014 12:14AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭

Do you ever wonder when tourists come to Ireland and would love to go up and ask them a billion questions about what they think.
    Its clear to see why they come to Ireland cos we are the best country in the world ;)
    Like did they expect the weather? food? people? culture? dirty/tidiness? cost?

* Maybe I should be a tour guide :cool::cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

You could be anything you wanna be.

Off to bed now, ye little scamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yeah, tourists love being asked 'so what do you think of us then?' at every turn.

Almost as much as 'so when are you going home?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Well I live in Kilkenny and any tourists I ever talk to absolutely adore the place. Probably because it's so historic and 'Oirish'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

They come for Garth Brooks and now they are refusing to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,048 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Did they expect the weather??

So do you think were the only nation that thinks of checking out the weather before we go on holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

thelad95 wrote: »
    Well I live in Kilkenny
    I'm sorry for your troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭daviecronin

You could be anything you wanna be.

Off to bed now, ye little scamp.

Little Scamp hahah okay mammy night night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

They come for Garth Brooks and now they are refusing to come.

That's our sex tourism industry fecked so!

_Brian wrote: »

So do you think were the only nation that thinks of checking out the weather before we go on holidays.

No but literally rain one minute too hot the next typical stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭con___manx1

If they live in a hot country with sun all d time I'm sure they love a bit of rain now and again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,840 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I wonder what brings them to certain areas. When I see tourists in Tralee, I'm quite curious as to what drew them to such a dreary place.

siblers wrote: »
    I wonder what brings them to certain areas. When I see tourists in Tralee, I'm quite curious as to what drew them to such a dreary place.

Ya I agree like you always see tourists in the city but you'd love to tell them go to the heart of west cork or something- that's the real ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,048 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Tralee?
    Imagine how surprised we are to see some up here in Cavan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

Tralee?
    Louisiana backwoodsmen on a busmans holiday

I'm sorry for your troubles.

What troubles? The most beautiful CITY in Ireland, easy access to 4 of the major 5 other cities and a great hurling team to match. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Do you ever wonder when tourists come to Ireland and would love to go up and ask them a billion questions about what they think.
    Its clear to see why they come to Ireland cos we are the best country in the world ;)
    Like did they expect the weather? food? people? culture? dirty/tidiness? cost?

A lot of them were probably on their way to/back from London, decided to try a day or two in Ireland as part of their tour. Then fly back to US, Canada etc.

The other 90% are Polish folk visiting their friends/family who live here now.

A lot of them were probably on their way to/back from London, decided to try a day or two in Ireland as part of their tour. Then fly back to US, Canada etc.

The other 90% are Polish folk visiting their friends/family who live here now.

I doubt all of them are on course to London. A lot of our American folk stay here longer and like to trace history and stuffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Do you ever wonder when tourists come to Ireland

Breathtaking coast.
    Great literary heritage.
    Good pubs.
    The people.
    Good sense of humour.
    Castles, forts, and dolmens.
    Folklore and Banshees.
    Great stout.
    Great lakes rivers and mountains.
    Great fishing.
    Clean air.
    Clean beaches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Yeah, tourists love being asked 'so what do you think of us then?' at every turn.
    '

Standard Late Late line of questioning since the streak of p1ss took the reins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,634 ✭✭✭feargale

would love to go up and ask them a billion questions about what they think.

Not if your first question to the tourists is " What do ye think of us?"

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Standard Late Late line of questioning since the streak of p1ss took the reins

That is an offence to streaks of piss everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

Good one :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,840 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Tralee?

I was in Cavan town for a weekend before, I've been to worse places :D

Maybe they were impressed by Ireland's boxers in the Olympics, and somebody directed them to Tralee on a Saturday night,

If they live in a hot country with sun all d time I'm sure they love a bit of rain now and again

Seriously, that is quite true.

thelad95 wrote: »
    What troubles? The most beautiful CITY in Ireland, easy access to 4 of the major 5 other cities and a great hurling team to match. :D

And which city has the misfortune to be cut off from Kilkenny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Tralee has the Siamsa Tire, the National Folk Theatre, which is on the schedule for most organised tour groups, as is the medieval museum.
    And it's a "gateway" to the Dingle Peninsula with ample (and comparably cheap) accommodation especially for large groups.

The town has a convenient location and a couple of touristy attractions. That's all really.

As for the weather - all tourists know that Ireland is rainy and are surprised when there is a spell of fine weather.

And most tourists buy a travel guide before travelling to Ireland and know what to expect. It's not like Spain where most are not interested in travelling as such but just hanging out at the beach and getting drunk.

And no, don't ask tourist what they think of Ireland and the Irish! The Irish always do that and it gets tired. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Packrat

I am a tour guide and can answer some of your questions, but only from an American/Canadian pov as they are the nationalities I drive & guide:

They are surprised that it doesn't rain all the time as they were told to expect by some drunken idiot from here that they met on "Saint Pattys day" in Chicago or wherever.

They are surprised that we think HARP is piss. They think Bud is piss. Both views are correct.

Tidy towns as a concept is fascinating to them. My group nearly wet themselves the other evening when they saw about 20 people painting the Flesk bridge voluntarily.

They can't believe how much the landscape changes within 30 to 50 miles here.

They think some people speak ONLY Irish and don't understand English...... I explain that thats just the wierd teacher people in Dublin.....

They think Corned beef&cabbage is a thing here, I delight in explaining that its bacon&cabbage - especially if they are Jewish.

They are surprised at how good the food in general here is. I explain how thats new...

Sheep mesmerise them. I explain how donegal prople mesmerise sheep for nefarious purposes.

They are constantly amazed at how nice everybody is to them, then on the last night of the tour, I drop them off in the Temple Bar, and tell them that the "craic" really gets going around 1 ish...

They are the politest, most respectful tourists we get here.

Actually they fvcking rock.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”