Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭statto25

FaganJr wrote: »
    Jaysus where ya hear that?

I heard he had quit too after the Roscommon game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Hoarse :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

statto25 wrote: »

he may as well. about to make customary half a minute appearance at the end again. what has he done wrong ? what has freeman done wrong or has he still the flu ? varley and conroy must be some operators in training .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

statto25 wrote: »

He was up and down the sideline warming up all afternoon anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

c_man wrote: »
    Well done from yer southern neighbours :) Thoughts on facing Kerry? I'd fancy Mayo given both performances today, but there's a few weeks in it yet..

Always best to consult the experts on these questions:P: bookies have Mayo slightly ahead of Kerry for AI, whereas it was other way round before today. Only saw a few mins of Kerry so can't really judge myself. One thing that would hearten me is that Kerry aren't as physical as Cork (or Dublin) so if Mayo get their defensive tactics right they should be able to minimise goals conceded.

God talk about crawling over the line though, cooler heads in the last ten minutes and Cork would surely have done it. Could they have done anything different with those close-in frees in injury time? They must surely have known they couldn't win it with points?

km79 wrote: »
    Anyone hear rumour that Donie Vaughan is starting midfield instead of Barry Moran with cuniffe returning .......

so it was true. and did not work. the team is now all over the place. Keegan seemed to spend most of the game corner back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

km79 wrote: »
    Anyone hear rumour that Donie Vaughan is starting midfield instead of Barry Moran with cuniffe returning .......
    I didn't think that Vaughan had a great game.
    Would Jason Gibbons not be a better option in the middle of the field ?

blinding wrote: »
    I didn't think that Vaughan had a great game.
    Would Jason Gibbons not be a better option in the middle of the field ?

yes! as he is actually a midfielder! 4 years in and he hatches this plan for a 1\4 final. the experimenting shud be over. the team was all over the place 1st half. Keegan in particular was wasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

A long term problem surfaced yet again. We're conceding way too much. When teams attack our full backline we consistently concede 2+ goals per game.
    Usage of forwards subs was strange. Taking OConnor off in a tight margin game? We don't have another freetaker like him. Varley/Conroy have not produced across many games.
    Cannot see how we'll solve the defence leaking so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭statto25

keane2097 wrote: »
    He was up and down the sideline warming up all afternoon anyway!

Was he on the panel for the Connacht Final? I can't find the programme!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭swht

Though Keegan done well on Kerrigan who was quiet. We criticise the half back line for not being defensive enough but he did the job today.

Cunniffe is better suited to the man marker role than sweeper I think. Thought the 2 O Shea's played brilliantly. And if Doherty and Dillon can keep up those performances the forwards look to be in much better shape. Doherty got through some amount of work.

Andy's substitution seemed strange and would have taken gibbons on sooner but overall thought the sideline got tactics OK. Cork were seriously up for the game and were niggly from the start but Mayo deserved their win overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭Panrich

Decisions on the line will cost us again this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,212 ✭✭✭lukin

Horan having a pop at Cork for comments made before the game regarding Mayo's "tactical fouling":
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/horan-rebel-management-disgraceful-638158.html
    As a Corkman I thought it was foolish of Ronan McCarthy to say those things before the game as they rarely influence the referee (if that's what the aim was) but Horan should have just ignored it and look to the next game.

A long term problem surfaced yet again. We're conceding way too much. When teams attack our full backline we consistently concede 2+ goals per game.
    Usage of forwards subs was strange. Taking OConnor off in a tight margin game? We don't have another freetaker like him. Varley/Conroy have not produced across many games.
    Cannot see how we'll solve the defence leaking so much.

Reason being is he picked up a knock on his shoulder during the attack that lead to the first Cork goal. He was waving his arm around for awhile and seemed uncomfortable, hopefully nothing too serious mind

Also 4 AI semi finals in a row. First time since 51. Just saying...

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Reason being is he picked up a knock on his shoulder during the attack that lead to the first Cork goal. He was waving his arm around for awhile and seemed uncomfortable, hopefully nothing too serious mind

oh god no ! I seen him down getting treated for cramp or hamstring strain but one of the lads at home said he was holding the shoulder. that would be desperate news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

lukin wrote: »
    Horan having a pop at Cork for comments made before the game regarding Mayo's "tactical fouling":
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/horan-rebel-management-disgraceful-638158.html
    As a Corkman I thought it was foolish of Ronan McCarthy to say those things before the game as they rarely influence the referee (if that's what the aim was) but Horan should have just ignored it and look to the next game.

Thought it was considerably more classy to make comments after the team he managed had won the game rather than the Shiite talk by other managers before before. But maybe that's just me. He didn't shake a hand and was asked why, his reasons can't be called into question IMO. Horan was 100% correct (IMO) in how he reacted and how he managed this. He could have gotten involved in a pithy war of words but instead let his team do the talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,373 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Enjoyed that, but not sure what to make of it all.

I'm worried about the Kerry game, the way Mayo concede goals is troubling, an on form JOD could cut through them.

On the plus side they showed great composure and fight in the way they reacted to Cork drawing level, I think it was Freeman who really fought for a ball on the Hogan Stand side that in the end lead to the AOS goal.

Really confused about why Varley was used. If I'm right I think all he contributed was a bad wide and he failed to win a ball on the corner when Mayo needed it.

Thought Dillion did great, hopefully he can keep it up.

I'll watch it on telly ahon and see if its what I thought it was live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Enjoyed that, but not sure what to make of it all.

I'm worried about the Kerry game, the way Mayo concede goals is troubling, an on form JOD could cut through them.

On the plus side they showed great composure and fight in the way they reacted to Cork drawing level, I think it was Freeman who really fought for a ball on the Hogan Stand side that in the end lead to the AOS goal.

Really confused about why Varley was used. If I'm right I think all he contributed was a bad wide and he failed to win a ball on the corner when Mayo needed it.

Thought Dillion did great, hopefully he can keep it up.

I'll watch it on telly ahon and see if its what I thought it was live.

Varley coughed up a few soft balls and gave away a free for over-carrying. He did win a free in front of the posts though.

Strange how he is in line ahead of Freezer & Conroy. He brings on Conroy as a blood sub but then no sign of him later on in the game? Conroy had a chance of a score in that cameo but took an extra touch and it was blocked.

We are seriously poor off the bench this year. Id hold Andy back as he can clip scores when the game is loose in the second half. He doesn't have the legs to trouble from the start. We cannot rely on Conroy or Varley. Surely young O'Shea or someone like that must be worth a stab at this stage

We are in a semi-final and our inside forward line and full-back line are not functioning. Playing Cunniffe as sweeper was crazy today he should have been one on one with O'Neill from the out-set.

I think alot of our troubles in the full-back line are down to the opposition playing a defensive game-plan. There is acres for the ball to be played into. We had 2 players extra in defense but where were they when O'Neill & Hurley were making Hay??

There is no responsibilty from the spare men as they are not directly marking anybody. Look at Higgins for Hurley's goal? No where near him. 2 minutes later he turns over a ball on the touchline off the same man when he had no right to win it. The spare men need to take more responsibility and help Caff & Barrett out

Varley coughed up a few soft balls and gave away a free for over-carrying. He did win a free in front of the posts though.

Strange how he is in line ahead of Freezer & Conroy. He brings on Conroy as a blood sub but then no sign of him later on in the game? Conroy had a chance of a score in that cameo but took an extra touch and it was blocked.

We are seriously poor off the bench this year. Id hold Andy back as he can clip scores when the game is loose in the second half. He doesn't have the legs to trouble from the start. We cannot rely on Conroy or Varley. Surely young O'Shea or someone like that must be worth a stab at this stage

We are in a semi-final and our inside forward line and full-back line are not functioning. Playing Cunniffe as sweeper was crazy today he should have been one on one with O'Neill from the out-set.

I think alot of our troubles in the full-back line are down to the opposition playing a defensive game-plan. There is acres for the ball to be played into. We had 2 players extra in defense but where were they when O'Neill & Hurley were making Hay??

There is no responsibilty from the spare men as they are not directly marking anybody. Look at Higgins for Hurley's goal? No where near him. 2 minutes later he turns over a ball on the touchline off the same man when he had no right to win it. The spare men need to take more responsibility and help Caff & Barrett out
    JOD will need to be double covered directly he is that dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Was one of the most exciting matches I have been to, had everything. 406 seats were fantastic too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Sincere congratulations to Mayo for a very deserved win over us, yesterday.

I've long since held the view that Mayo Supporters are amongst the best in the country. Win or lose, great attitude. I sincerely hope that Sam's long overdue return to Mayo will happen this year.

We in Cork have a very different post-match feeling than after our loss in 2011. After a very poor Munster Final. our pride and honour is restored and we can look forward to getting back to being genuine contenders next season.

We felt that the ref was poor and missed a few late frees for us. We're annoyed with the issue over the last free but the chances of a goal were very remote.

Ye've got to stop O Donoghue and to a lesser extent, Paul Geaney - do that and ye are more than half ways to another final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭SeanJ09

Thought Enda Varley was downright awful when he came on yesterday. How is he ahead of Freeman or Mickey Sweeney? Frustrating that Horan insists on persisting on the likes of him and Conroy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Very enjoyable day in Croker...I'd like to pay tribute to the Mayo minors who put in a superb display against Armagh,they won at a canter and could have won by a lot more.They've the potential to be a better side than last year's crew which is saying something.

Immensely proud of the seniors,showed incredible bottle when the game was in the melting pot.Past Mayo teams would have likely crumbled when Cork rattled in that second goal.James Horan must get great credit for instilling that sort of inner belief and steel into the team.

Did'nt agree with the decision to start Donal Vaughan in the middle tbh but James Horan’s faith in Donal Vaughan was entirely justified.

Robbie Hennelly was outstanding in goal,kickouts always purposeful...excellent under the high ball,some great shot stopping.

Tom Cunniffe was as assured as ever and managed to see out the game without injury.Unfortunately Ger Caff had a tough afternoon out,ditto Chris Barrett.Having said that Brian Hurley and Colm O Neill are two forwards of highest class.

Colm Boyle was a rock in the middle and Lee Keegan nullified the much anticipated Paul Kerrigan threat.

The two O Shea’s were magnificent,Aidan won a couple of crucial balls after Cork’s second goal.What can one say about his goal?He showed the composure of an inside forward.The elder O Shea,Seamus at last is getting due recognition for his invaluable contribution to this Mayo team.
    The half forwards were effective,Jason Doherty had a solid game,kicked two points and in spite of coughing up possession leading to a Cork goal caught one crucial ball subsequently.

Cillian O Connor showed further evidence that he may be ready to become our marquee forward.How crucial was that late free?Was he substituted because of an injury?
    I shall have to eat my hat,Alan Dillon take a bow.:) Unfortunately in spite of a couple of early second half scores imho Andy Moran should’nt start the semi final.

A slightly more ruthless nature and better decision making would resulted in a couple of additional goals and a prevention of the now repetitive failure to close a game out.

Michael Conroy and Enda Varley added little as substitutes,Alan Freeman and Jason Gibbons got too little game time.

Fair play to Cork for such a stern test,Ger Caff was damn lucky to not give away a free and get a card of sorts.We know all about the issues with miscommunications in relation to timekeeping.:) Thought both sides suffered equally at the hands of the referee.How'd be a referee?Impossible job.

So the Kingdom awaits,hoping the O Shea lads and another will prevent the Kerry lads getting enough ball into James O Donoghue.Should Keith Higgins be designated to man mark O Donoghue?

We can only mark James ODonoghue with direct double coverage. Complete man marking one behind one in front. One should be Tom Cunniffe for strength n height and the other can be Barrett/Harrisson. Wasteful to go ott with Higgins n Cunniffe. We dont operate sweepers well, we just need a simple snuff out of theirs best inside forward. If that was implemented on Hurley yesterday plus better forward substitutes we would have won rather easily.
    Freeman is the man to bring in on tired bodies. But needs some decent game time. If JDoc m Dillon can maintain form then combined with having 7 defenders picked we are in a much better place than last year. The kickouts from Hennelly are consistent. Just need an adjustment in defence. Im not sure Ger Caff can be said to be totally secure in his position. Those who watch him close have noted him coughing up plenty scores. If he struggles again McHale may have to come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

we are in a much better place than last year.

Big call...

Big call...
    If we make the necessary adjustments in abandoning sweeper to a direct double up n improve forward substitutions. Otherwise both problems are a big hindrance on the scoreboard. At least a 5 point swing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

I think ye'll have to double up on JOD - he got 0-10 against us and 1-5 v Galway but missed a goal chance that he's convert 9 times out of 10. If he gets 1 on 1 then he'll often round the defencer and goal. Way more dynamic than Gooch and Declan O Sullivan at their best.
    The old cliches about cutting off his supply don't really apply - Kerry will get good possession and they are superbly schooled at kick passing into the right channels for JOD and Geaney. Once these 2 get possession in the scoring zone they are almost impossible to stop.

If anyone can come up with a plan - it's Donie Buckley.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Very enjoyable day in Croker...I'd like to pay tribute to the Mayo minors who put in a superb display against Armagh,they won at a canter and could have won by a lot more.They've the potential to be a better side than last year's crew which is saying something.

Immensely proud of the seniors,showed incredible bottle when the game was in the melting pot.Past Mayo teams would have likely crumbled when Cork rattled in that second goal.James Horan must get great credit for instilling that sort of inner belief and steel into the team.

Did'nt agree with the decision to start Donal Vaughan in the middle tbh but James Horan’s faith in Donal Vaughan was entirely justified.

Robbie Hennelly was outstanding in goal,kickouts always purposeful...excellent under the high ball,some great shot stopping.

Tom Cunniffe was as assured as ever and managed to see out the game without injury.Unfortunately Ger Caff had a tough afternoon out,ditto Chris Barrett.Having said that Brian Hurley and Colm O Neill are two forwards of highest class.

Colm Boyle was a rock in the middle and Lee Keegan nullified the much anticipated Paul Kerrigan threat.

The two O Shea’s were magnificent,Aidan won a couple of crucial balls after Cork’s second goal.What can one say about his goal?He showed the composure of an inside forward.The elder O Shea,Seamus at last is getting due recognition for his invaluable contribution to this Mayo team.
    The half forwards were effective,Jason Doherty had a solid game,kicked two points and in spite of coughing up possession leading to a Cork goal caught one crucial ball subsequently.

Cillian O Connor showed further evidence that he may be ready to become our marquee forward.How crucial was that late free?Was he substituted because of an injury?
    I shall have to eat my hat,Alan Dillon take a bow.:) Unfortunately in spite of a couple of early second half scores imho Andy Moran should’nt start the semi final.

A slightly more ruthless nature and better decision making would resulted in a couple of additional goals and a prevention of the now repetitive failure to close a game out.

Michael Conroy and Enda Varley added little as substitutes,Alan Freeman and Jason Gibbons got too little game time.

Fair play to Cork for such a stern test,Ger Caff was damn lucky to not give away a free and get a card of sorts.We know all about the issues with miscommunications in relation to timekeeping.:) Thought both sides suffered equally at the hands of the referee.How'd be a referee?Impossible job.

So the Kingdom awaits,hoping the O Shea lads and another will prevent the Kerry lads getting enough ball into James O Donoghue.Should Keith Higgins be designated to man mark O Donoghue?

Well said, top post but Turbo Tom should be assigned that role in taking O'Donoghue (even though its gonna take more than 1 marker at times!). Just think Keith has changed his game so much positionally and tactically over the last couple years that he's not the same tight marker he once was, not to mention how effective he is to the Mayo attacking game plan. Cunniffe is a well drilled full back and was alot more comfortable when taken off the sweeping role yesterday reverting back to his usual corner back role for the county. Definitely leave Keith somewhere in the backs though.

Biggest problem though from a quick glance at the highlights was the confusion there is in the backline, one of the main problems why we've been leaky from goals on the counter. Too many cooks playing the sweeping role IMO at different times in the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,740 ✭✭✭✭blueser

lukin wrote: »
    Didn't Donegal try the same trick against us (was it last year)? And they got their arses handed to them big style. Managers and selectors should try worrying about their own players' shortcomings, never mind having a pre-match dig at the opposition. It only fires your opponents up.