If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Israel - Palestine Conflict. **Mod note in OP - updated 1st August**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭shewasdiesel

bumper234 wrote: »
    I ****ing hate war

I've been there, iv'e seen that,iv'e done that.

That's why it hurts me to say that i really hope Israel.gets hit hard and bad soon. They need something really bad to happen so it wakes up.the general populace to call for a cease fire. I hate the thoughts of innocent people.getting hurt but if the deaths of a few Israeli civilians could stop.the blatant massacre of hundreds more Palestinian civilians then so be it.

If anything that will galvanise the Israelis to wipe out Palestine and be done with the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    I am 100% seriously in favour of withdrawal from the UN if no Israeli can be convicted of war crimes. It is an institution unfit for purpose.

In an ideal world, all non-security council members would hold an emergency extraordinary general meeting. Agree to set up a new international peace body fit for purpose. Based on a truly democratic voting process and free of elite Security Council veto nonsense. But funding is a key area that would really need sorting out. Because right now, the US provides 28% of all financial contributions to the UN. So not only can the US neuter the UN with its privileged veto. But its financial contribution is also a nice little reminder to the UN, to thread carefully around American interests.

http://www.un.org/en/peacekeeping/operations/financing.shtml

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

You think if Iran or ISIS tried to attack Israel the US wouldn't wade in directly? It's not even a conspiracy theory, the US are already giving weapons and ammo to Israel.

Iran won't invade israel. And neither China nor Russia will get involved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Iran won't invade israel. And neither China nor Russia will get involved.
    Iran very unlikely, but once they have nukes the Israelis will stick to their borders a lot more carefully. If ISIS get a foothold within firing range to the east though anything could happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Iran very unlikely, but once they have nukes

I thought Iran swore never to persue the acquisition nuclear weapons?

The atomic energy agency agreed with they aren't in the process of doing same.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I ****ing hate war

I've been there, iv'e seen that,iv'e done that.

That's why it hurts me to say that i really hope Israel.gets hit hard and bad soon. They need something really bad to happen so it wakes up.the general populace to call for a cease fire. I hate the thoughts of innocent people.getting hurt but if the deaths of a few Israeli civilians could stop.the blatant massacre of hundreds more Palestinian civilians then so be it.

So it is ok for hamas to kill civilians but not for israel to do so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Iran very unlikely, but once they have nukes the Israelis will stick to their borders a lot more carefully. If ISIS get a foothold within firing range to the east though anything could happen.

When do counties lob nukes around ? Do ISIS have nukes now ? Bit of a CT stretch to immediately go to the nuclear option... (And don't say WW2)

I think Professional military personal are held to a higher standard these days. Shooting kids that cant fight back is not the done thing. Collateral is tolerated to a point, it’s gone well beyond collateral at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Ironically, considering Israel was founded as a result of extreme anti-Semitism, this conflict will fuel even more anti-Semetism. If you commit war crimes and plague an entire ethnic group of people under a flag with the Star of David on it, those crimes will become associated with Judaism. Isn't right, but it will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭KahBoom

There's a fair chance that nuclear proliferation is going to increase in the middle east over the next half century or so, and who knows what hands such weapons will end up in - Iran certainly won't use them offensively, but if a group like or similar to ISIS ever gets their hands on some, then the entire state of Israel will pretty much need to evacuate out of the middle east entirely.

So, I'd say the existence of Israel as a state, is temporary/limited - the course they're on just isn't sustainable, and they're not going to be making any friends in the middle east anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I think Professional military personal are held to a higher standard these days. Shooting kids that cant fight back is not the done thing. .......

you'd think that.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=91525813&postcount=1142

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭GetInTheHole!

What an absolutely ridiculous comparison.

Hamas is a terrorist organization. The IDF is a state army.

By your life logic so - would it have been okay for the British Army to indiscriminately shell the civilian population of Dublin in response to the terrorist actions of the IRA in the past??

Like i said - ridiculous.

Nodin wrote: »

I'm talking more about world view and public opinion. In this day and age Of instant media, You can't get away with brushing it under the rug. People wont sit back and go "ah sure its a war, Some civilians are bound to die". Israel is no better in this than the terrorists they claim to be fighting.

I thought Iran swore never to persue the acquisition nuclear weapons?

The atomic energy agency agreed with they aren't in the process of doing same.
    Maybe they have no nukes the same way Israel have no nukes?

I'm talking more about world view and public opinion. In this day and age Of instant media, You can't get away with brushing it under the rug. ..........

...but they can and they do. If you think that was anything other than a small sample, jaysus love ye. There's one or two young lads a week killed, and nobody gives a rats ass. The fact is that the legal avenues of redress are all blocked and as a result there are no consquences for Israels actions.

Ironically, considering Israel was founded as a result of extreme anti-Semitism, this conflict will fuel even more anti-Semetism. If you commit war crimes and plague an entire ethnic group of people under a flag with the Star of David on it, those crimes will become associated with Judaism. Isn't right, but it will happen.
    Israel has identified itself as a racist Jewish state.
    Thankfully the Jewish people don't all identify with Israel.

Why will they not make protest at British embassies? British created this problem only at 1948

When do counties lob nukes around ? Do ISIS have nukes now ? Bit of a CT stretch to immediately go to the nuclear option... (And don't say WW2)
    My post wasn't that complicated. No I didn't say or suggest ISIS have nukes right now. Iran inevitably will though, and Turkey and Egypt. These are big countries in a dangerous region with a potential enemy who they know has nukes. It has to be a long term goal of theirs.
    As for ISIS they are apparently already operating in Gaza on a small scale. If their rise continues to be this meteoric Syria could be next and we're straight to a second front for Israel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

pedro1234 wrote: »
    If Israel gets hit, it could be the start of a world war because the US will jump right in, and then who knows who could follow, Russia, China?

Maybe I'm mad but I dunno man.

I don't mean by another country, I mean a big hit on a school or hospital in an Israeli city. If the population of Israel get an idea of the hurt Palestine is feeling then maybe it will bring an end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

I don't mean by another country, I mean a big hit on a school or hospital in an Israeli city. If the population of Israel get an idea of the hurt Palestine is feeling then maybe it will bring an end.

I think it would bring what they would see as justification for the genocide.

Definitely. Israel are currently whispering "give me a reason" with the gun pointed at the handcuffed prisoner...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

a lot worse to come for Gaza by the looks of it... Israel are planning on depopulating Gaza by whatever means.
    Into the fray: Why Gaza must go By MARTIN SHERMAN

The only durable solution requires dismantling Gaza, humanitarian relocation of the non-belligerent Arab population, and extension of Israeli sovereignty over the region.

We have before us an ordeal of the most grievous kind.... You ask, what is our policy? I will say: It is to wage war, by sea, land and air, with all our might and with all the strength that God can give us; to wage war against a monstrous tyranny... That is our policy. You ask, what is our aim? I can answer in one word: victory; victory at all costs, victory in spite of all terror, victory, however long and hard the road may be; for without victory, there is no survival.

Taken from this article in the Jerusalem Post

No, there's no justification for that. A military defeat would be whats required, with heavy heavy losses over a long period.

If anything that will galvanise the Israelis to wipe out Palestine and be done with the problem.

Which would in.turn galvanize public opinion around the world, make no.mistake if Israel step up attacks then things will change.

It's happening already.

http://news.sky.com/story/1312145/un-says-gaza-school-attack-a-criminal-act
    The UN says the latest strike on a school was a "gross violation" of international law as Israel scales down its ground operation.

Where did i say that?

Nodin wrote: »
    No, there's no justification for that. A military defeat would be whats required, with heavy heavy losses over a long period.

That would require military intervention by several.other countries and the death toll from.that is unfathomable

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭shewasdiesel

So let me get this right, you want more innocent civilians to die, women and Children just so long as long as they are Israeli ?

a lot worse to come for Gaza by the looks of it... Israel are planning on depopulating Gaza by whatever means.

Taken from this article in the Jerusalem Post
    Annexation of Gaza and expulsion of the population on "humanitarian" grounds. FFS they'd just say black is white so give us the ****ing land wouldn't they?

So let me get this right, you want more innocent civilians to die, women and Children just so long as long as they are Israeli ?

No i want the ****ing world to.open it's eyes and see the blatant murder of HUNDREDS of people that is happening in Gaza, if the death of 10.innocent civilians will.stop the death of another thousand then so be it. Let's call it "collateral damage"like the IDF do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,487 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

No i want the ****ing world to.open it's eyes and see the blatant murder of HUNDREDS of people that is happening in Gaza, if the death of 10.innocent civilians will.stop the death of another thousand then so be it. Let's call it "collateral damage"like the IDF do.

As someone else said on a similar point, that would harden the resolve of the Israelis and Gaza would suffer for it.