Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you ever or do you smoke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

No because I'm not a smelly, yellow-toothed b@stard. Always amazes me that smokers don't realise how bad they smell. Not much point showering and using deodorant or brushing your teeth if you're going to smoke. I'd rather sit next to someone with BO than someone who stinks of cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Smoked 30 to 40 a day for 32 years , Off them 7 months with the help of E-cigs.

God I miss them ,
    Coffee and Fag first thing in the morning ,:)
    AH well.... stupid healthy lifestyle........ :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Never have, and never will.

Serves absolutely no purpose whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Smoked 30 to 40 a day for 32 years , Off them 7 months with the help of E-cigs.

The damage has already been done. Your chances of cancer are still incredibly high compared to normal people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

smoke what??

Bacon, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

The damage has already been done. Your chances of cancer are still incredibly high compared to normal people.

THANKS ,, that's great to know ,So I should just start again as I'm probably F**ked is that what your saying....

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    THANKS ,, that's great to know ,So I should just start again as I'm probably F**ked is that what your saying....

No, that would only increase the already higher chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,770 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Never have, and never will.

Serves absolutely no purpose whatsoever.

It makes you look cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Only once, but in my defense, i was on fire at the time! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Whats normal? Hope your diet is well balanced because that's almost up there with smoking when it comes to cancer. Also exposure to vehicle emissions and other environmental pollutants won't do you any favours.

I'm a social/irregular smoker, in that I might smoke over the course of a few days and then not smoke again for a month or so. I do enjoy smoking, and would possibly do it a bit more often if I had more personal freedom, but have never found it addictive, so I avoid making it an everyday regular thing. A lot of people seem to scoff at the idea of smoking without being addicted to it but I've found it's perfectly possible to enjoy a few with alcohol or coffee every so often without turning into a 40-a day chainer.

Also, as silly as it might sound, I find smoking helps with social anxiety on nights out, as it makes for a good excuse to get away for a bit when talking to people or being around them becomes a bit too much. Best chats always happen in the smoking area anyway! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Smoked from 14/15 until 2 years ago.

I loved it. Love the smell the taste. Used to smoke cigaretes, then cigars, then a pipe - an ounce of Mick McQuaid would last ya a week.

Happy days :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Maphisto wrote: »
    Smoked from 14/15 until 2 years ago.

I loved it. Love the smell the taste. Used to smoke cigaretes, then cigars, then a pipe - an ounce of Mick McQuaid would last ya a week.

Happy days :)

whats the pipe like...used smoke small bit...off them since april....but have the chance to try the pipe the weekend...so am half looking forward to it:o

Well I enjoyed so I'm obviously biased :)

Takes a bit of getting used to. Too much puffing anf the smoke will be hot and it tends to burn the tip of your tongue. Too little and the baccy goes out or the draw is not strong enough.

There's loads to it - they should run uni courses in pipe smoking ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Tried cigs before but just didnae get how somebody gets to the point where they can smoke >10 a day. Surely that reduces any enjoyment you could derive from them.

Ah sure you were doing it wrong ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Started at 12, smoked heavily from 14, off them 4 years now. Best thing I ever did. Quitting was always hanging over me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Is anyone really heavy on them, like two, three packs a day?

I'm always amazed that people can get through that many.

I try and limit it to 6 or 7. When I'm drunk I get out of control and can get up towards 40, but I'm usually only inebriated one day a week. I've set 30 as the age I want to be off them for good but I'm probably just bullsh1tting myself, it's easy to put things off, it would be better to get it done now.

I used to smoke 40-60 a day. 14 hour shifts, with no breaks, so constantly running out the back for a smoke. Did a good bit of damage to my lungs.

I smoke between 10-20 a day now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I get sick when I smoke too many :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Whats with all the smoking threads lately, is there any smoking forum?

Personally I think people like to moan alot on here. But of course there is one common theme that runs throughout... it's never about THAT person's lifechoices. Oh no. Always about anothers.

Same way of thinking applies to other threads like about the dole. Of course, said moaners are working. But said moaners would quickly change their tone if they lost their job.

Ah... I actually take back my statement above about it being "on here" - fecking life it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Talking about heavy smoking I remember Sig Hansen of Deadliest Catch fame saying he'd regularly get through a carton in one hard fishing session, about 24-30 hours without sleep. That's 10 packs, serious smoking, cig every 7 mins or so at the high end.

Another story he had was that The Alaskan Police nearly arrested himself and crew on suspicion of tobacco smuggling when they carried out a random inspection of his boat before a trip, such was the quantity of cigarettes stacked all over the place.

I suppose you can't talk a chance of running out at sea when you're a 200 a day man. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭O.A.P

I have not smoked since new years eve 2002''
    If I can do it everybody can!
    I was on 30 a day at least , but now hate the smell off fags in cars .houses or on clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Smoked from 19 to 22, was breaking into my second pack a day, time to make a change, bought an e cig and have been using that for the last year, it really works, I feel way better for it, no more chest infections that last a month, no more inhalers for the asthma. I would recommend them to anyone.

God I loved smoking, I still miss it at times, especially if I'm stressed, but I know that I made the right decision.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Whats normal? Hope your diet is well balanced because that's almost up there with smoking when it comes to cancer. Also exposure to vehicle emissions and other environmental pollutants won't do you any favours.

The words of denial right there. Equivocate everything else to normalise your own mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Smoked what?

GerB40 wrote: »
    Smoked what?

...bacon, again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

Well aren’t you a pheasant plucker! Glass half empty much? I also take great umbrage with the "Normal" people remark.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Vile and filthy habit which I am happy to have kicked. My love support and best wishes to anyone who quits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Boo cigarettes. Yay for joints :D