Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSNI Recruitment - Stage 1 - The Initial Selection Test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭VES86

You stop between each section

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭wannabegard

One packet of wine gums to you sir!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 LovelyHorse

Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster! I am applying for my second time and wanted to get in on the craic that I see here! IST tripped me up last time, I have such poor time management but I am working on it. Can anyone remind me of the specific timings for each of the three sections?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭ZeGerman

I lurked here for 4 years before I started posting. Welcome!

sorry to be on this like and eejit. but does anyone know of any websites that have aptitude tests similer to the IST mock test. I pretty much know the mock test backwards at this stage and the stuff that i have for other aptitude test i.e. the garda test, particluary numerical reasoning is kinda irrelevant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭ZeGerman

I got an app on the iPhone called assessmentwiz which was handy enough for the true, false, can't tell. It was free too but couldn't find anything like the data card.

cheers man but i cant get it. iv a samsung ace so i cant find it. sur lookit its not as bad as the NYPD aptitude tests!!! jaysus their awful!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Suzuka

Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster! I am applying for my second time and wanted to get in on the craic that I see here! IST tripped me up last time, I have such poor time management but I am working on it. Can anyone remind me of the specific timings for each of the three sections?
    If I remember right its 5mins, 12mins, 20mins. Could be wrong but I'm sure someone else will correct me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Mop a top

I think you're right or very close it if not with the times. If you google verbal reasoning tests you should get something similar. I only just passed last time and I ended up guess the last 5 answers lol it's very tight on time. I'm sure 90% if the people on here would agree. Good luck!

not exactly what we are going to be doing but its something
    aptitude-test .com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Timetravel

Times are 5,12,25mins 99% sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Can you bring a bagpack with you to IST or a drink to the tests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Cromlech

shakin wrote: »
    Can you bring a bagpack with you to IST or a drink to the tests?

Yep, I did.

It's pretty impossible to cheat, so I'm sure they aren't worried that you might be hiding the answers somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭popolive

Cromlech wrote: »
    Yep, I did.

It's pretty impossible to cheat, so I'm sure they aren't worried that you might be hiding the answers somewhere.

Can you leave the exam for the bathroom ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Suzuka

popolive wrote: »

No. Can only go before it starts. If you leave during the exam you'll not be allowed in again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Cromlech

popolive wrote: »

No, you are given an opportunity to go before the test starts, if you don't go then you have to wait for the test and info at the end to be completed before you get another chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Dekkers

Forced myself to go to this today. Actually think I did wee bit better than last time. Didn't prepare at all this time and generally put no pressure on myself ha. Finished the bugger anyway with only 1 or 2 guesses on the horrendousness that is the data card.

Anyway, hopefully won't need it. Roll on 2013 medical!

Good luck to all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭psnihopeful

That's the IST out of the way! It definitely wasn't any easier second time round! Ahhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭ctaylorf

Dekkers wrote: »
    Forced myself to go to this today. Actually think I did wee bit better than last time. Didn't prepare at all this time and generally put no pressure on myself ha. Finished the bugger anyway with only 1 or 2 guesses on the horrendousness that is the data card.

Anyway, hopefully won't need it. Roll on 2013 medical!

Good luck to all!

Were you at the afternoon session today Dekkers? I had my IST again today too as backup.. it was slightly easier this time round as I knew what to expect and I didn't prepare at all either. Still tough at the same time though. Glad its over

ctaylorf wrote: »
    Were you at the afternoon session today Dekkers? I had my IST again today too as backup.. it was slightly easier this time round as I knew what to expect and I didn't prepare at all either. Still tough at the same time though. Glad its over

Aye I was in 1st of afternoon ones I think.

I found it easier just because I'd less pressure on myself so that's the easy advice to give to people. Easier said than done ha. Was definitely more composed and didn't build it up so much.

I honestly think the less you care the further you (can) go in this process.

Glad it's over too...definitely didn't go today for the craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭canuck_copper

I'm flying back this week too for the IST.... Was hoping to have heard something from the 2013 campaign as I wouldn't have continued with the 2014 one if I got a PCA date...trying to save the £$£$ where I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

Just trying to get a rough figure of how many applied here so, naturally enough without giving away your UID- has anybody got a UID with last four digits higher than 3000 ?

I'm flying back this week too for the IST.... Was hoping to have heard something from the 2013 campaign as I wouldn't have continued with the 2014 one if I got a PCA date...trying to save the £$£$ where I can

Better safe than sorry is my favourite cliche of the day ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭popolive

Just trying to get a rough figure of how many applied here so, naturally enough without giving away your UID- has anybody got a UID with last four digits higher than 3000 ?

well over... almost double that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

Kk, so we're talking similar numbers to last time then! Id say you can half that when they discover the £19k salary! ha !

Twas tough alright i wont lie. But at least it was more doable than that stupid garda aptitude test. I think i did ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Blossom89

Anyone do their test today ? And anyone on here that's been to Ted Cooke this campaign ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Chief Wiggum2

Does anyone know where to find specific practice tests for the 1st and 3rd part of the IST?

thats the million dollar question lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Homer01

Does anyone know where to find specific practice tests for the 1st and 3rd part of the IST?

I doubt such a thing exists. Once you've done your IST you'll see why.

Just go with the advice given in their Guidance booklet.