If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Worst work attitude you've ever witnessed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

P_1 wrote: »
    Not really tbh. When you work you are exchanging your time and expertise for money. If you're paid according to how much time you spend working (which the majority are) then it's not a crappy attitude to actually want to finish at the time you stop being paid for.

I know what you saying but I guess the attitude that has been instilled in me is to 'get the job down'. So what if you have to stay a extra unpaid 10 mins.

Then again I have a crazy work ethic...and I would regularly worked 18-19 hour days- 60-70 hour weeks even if I was being paid for 35 hours. Yes you might say I am a mug but I have now reached the top of my profession and I am essentially my own boss. The jobsworths I passed out on the way up and are still where I left them and will never go anywhere. I guess it comes down to ambition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭h.bolla

The IT lad that works with us at the minute. What a twat. He talks about hacking non-stop day and night. He never says he hacks anything but he always drop these little hints and say things in a way to make you think hes one of Irelands best. One of the girls took her laptop into him one day she forgot her password and couldnt get into it and told him she'd give him 50euro to hack it. He spent hours routing around with it and then handed it back to her unhacked saying "I dont have a windows 8 disk with me". And then the very next day hes right back to "did you ever see paypal security? Its $hit I could drop them like a fly if I wanted in 10 minutes they wouldnt even know what hit them...... but I wouldnt do it because Im a white hat"..... oh really, what about the windows disk did you remember to bring it today.... "uh, no, emm I forgot all about it".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

That must be nice though, a chilled out work place with a work life balance and no one about to have a stroke?

Not really actually. It is a publicly traded company that is not French in origin and that has been on the slide for a few years now. I can see 500 or so being chopped in the next 18 months. Then the heart rate will start to race.

The work life balance only exists if you are French and have a French boss covering for you. Any other nationality and you are brought to the guillotine for being perceived as a well paid foreigner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Worked in a company with someone who wanted to take the summer off and when her request wasn't granted, got a 'virus'. Was blatantly living it up during her sick leave, and returned with a tan from being abroad.
    Was quietly moved on, when she returned, but I'm sure she still pulls the same stunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Not really actually. It is a publicly traded company that is not French in origin and that has been on the slide for a few years now. I can see 500 or so being chopped in the next 18 months. Then the heart rate will start to race.

The work life balance only exists if you are French and have a French boss covering for you. Any other nationality and you are brought to the guillotine for being perceived as a well paid foreigner.
    Ok that sounds bolloxs. And will it be yee well paid foreign putains who will be the ffirst to be chopped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Lol, thats a LOT of French people in a 'small' office.

Where was small ever mentioned? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭uch

RoboRat wrote: »
    Mate of my Dads is a manager in the civil service and he told me of this one guy he had to deal with. Basically there was a special project and this guy was picked for it. He was told that there was a bonus on completion and it was a 6 month project.

The project basically fell through as it wasn't viable so he was told to go back to his department and they would give him the bonus anyhow. No, he refused and then spent 6 months literally doing nothing. When he was due to go back to his department he then had the audacity to ask for the bonus as he completed the contract and what's worse, he actually got it.

Not saying you are lying but I've worked in the Civil service in several different areas for 15 years and I've never in that time heard of anybody being given a Bonus

22/25

Birneybau wrote: »

Post #48 mentions a 'small office building'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Plazaman

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Worked in a company with someone who wanted to take the summer off and when her request wasn't granted, got a 'virus'. Was blatantly living it up during her sick leave, and returned with a tan from being abroad.
    Was quietly moved on, when she returned, but I'm sure she still pulls the same stunts.

Here's one case where I would blame the doctor who certified her sick, not as many doing it nowadays but it wasn't too long ago that €40 was what you'd pay to get a paid week off work.

I worked on a building site in London as a labourer in the early 90's. There was a guy there who was balls to the wall lazy and would do as little as possible and without fail one or twice a day would find a corner to take "mah booty nap". The lucky git somehow would always be seen to be working when the supervisors came around though.

All came to an end one day when he went for a "booty nap" in a corner and pulled a sheet of cardboard over him. 20 minutes later a forklift drive put a pallet of cables down on top of him thinking the corner was empty. Thankfully he survived but I'm sure he was sick of lying down as the last I heard after three months he was still in a hospital bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

LynnGrace wrote: »

I worked with someone who used to get "Overtime Flu". At the first mention of said overtime, she'd be grand but, as the day went on, her little coughs turned into monster whooping cough affairs. So she'd go home sick. Not long afterwards, one of us would get text messages from her along the lines of "Losers! Still stuck in work. I'm in the pub!!!!"

When things got tough and redundancies were in the offing, she was outraged at being first on the list and took the company to a tribunal and then complained when the tribunal took one look at her attendance record and told her to feck off. The company attendance records showed that she'd taken so many sick days that she'd more than doubled her annual leave. The worst part was, she'd played the sick leave system so well that the company got rid of the 'we trust you' side of it as a result so everyone else needed umpteen sick notes and filling out "I promise not to get sick again for six months" forms from then on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I work with 3 fellas who get the same money as me but are lazy bastards and get away with it, but there are people like that in every workplace I guess.

I said it to one of them once and he told me if I said any more he would hit me, real nice visitors to our country.
    He threatened you - Report him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It's amazing how much RTW interviews improve the general health of employees :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Tigger wrote: »
    stealing

boxes of high end watches, jewelry you name it its been stolen from places i worked

and it was usually common knowledge who was doing it in these places.
    Is the booty flaunt on their facebook wall? :p:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

As a teenager, I worked in a certain well-known convenience store. The manager used to take one of the lads mags into the toilet with him, tell me to 'keep sketch', do his business and then put the magazine back on the shelf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I work with a woman who for the first 4 years of her job (when she got a full time contract), she basically dragged the ar%e out of every single job she was doing in an attempt not to be asked again and hence be left with only the easy work. It wasnt blatant rule breaking as such, it was busywork like "getting her in tray ready" "creating spreadsheets" etc and by the time she got the work done, her reports were riddled with errors and a lot of work had to be redone.

It got to the point where eventually she was just left to do all the simple jobs like entering report numbers, ordering stationary, the kind of jobs you give a student or someone on JobBridge and 5 years on she has the cushiest number in the office- basically does nothing but browse the net, chat with her mates on the phone and do the odd 3 page report. One manager who took her on backed down when she accused him of sexism and bullying. Her current manager just accepts it and gives everyone else more work. Thats what really annoys me, the way everyone else always has to pick up the slack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

In the 5 years I've worked in my current job no fewer than THREE people have fallen asleep on their first day (in front of everyone).

In two cases they were getting 1:1 training, the third was in a conference room full of starters.

I know of a company whose terms and conditions include being caught sleeping on the job as gross misconduct and a sackable offence :eek:

I mean I can understand, stealing, fighting, dishonesty but accidentally falling asleep at your desk wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

I know what you saying but I guess the attitude that has been instilled in me is to 'get the job down'. So what if you have to stay a extra unpaid 10 mins.

Then again I have a crazy work ethic...and I would regularly worked 18-19 hour days- 60-70 hour weeks even if I was being paid for 35 hours. Yes you might say I am a mug but I have now reached the top of my profession and I am essentially my own boss. The jobsworths I passed out on the way up and are still where I left them and will never go anywhere. I guess it comes down to ambition.

Definitely not calling you at 'mug' at all, but, life is WAAAAAYY too short (in my eyes) to be working those hours, no matter how much you get paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Birneybau wrote: »

haha, sorry I read' same' as 'small'. Post deleted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Definitely not calling you at 'mug' at all, but, life is WAAAAAYY too short (in my eyes) to be working those hours, no matter how much you get paid.

Completely agree. Work to live, not live to work and all that!

I think some of the people mentioned have mental health issues with out themselves or anyone realising it, I once worked with someone who was so lazy they could star at the wall all day and they had a horror of any kind of psychical work, they were convinced that woman had a great life, they moved to a different department and got let go for mixture weirdness and incompetency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Six pages in and the dole hasn't been mentioned in a work-related thread.

Well done AH! :P

BDJW wrote: »
    Completely agree. Work to live, not live to work and all that!

Yeah I know...but the problem with self employment (I am part of a partnership and now moved to self assessment for tax purposes) is that nobody else is going to pick up the slack if I don't do it. At least I will reap the benefits and not some fat cat directors...I knew there would be reward at the end if I put the work in. Slaving away 9-5 in some organisation would be a different story altogether...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Jawgap wrote: »
    During the boom when no one wanted to work in the Public Service

Horse**** and bitter Public Sector revisionism. The public sector were taking on so many people during the boom that there weren't enough people to fill the available roles. That's how FF bought votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I worked with a lad in a former company who took the piss big time. We would be in different countries on projects, the company would put us up in our own apartment and pay us daily expenses. We also had the possibility of a flight home every weekend. If you took the flight home on the weekend then you would not get paid expenses for the weekend, obviously.

This lad would book flights every weekend for Saturday home and Sunday back, so he would only miss out on one days of expenses. But he never flew home, instead he was getting fake taxi receipts to/from the airport written up and submitting them as expenses. These were worth 2-3 days expenses compared to the one day he was missing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Yeah I know...but the problem with self employment (I am part of a partnership and now moved to self assessment for tax purposes) is that nobody else is going to pick up the slack if I don't do it. At least I will reap the benefits and not some fat cat directors...I knew there would be reward at the end if I put the work in. Slaving away 9-5 in some organisation would be a different story altogether...

I can totally understand your point of view seeing as your self employed. Personally, it just wouldn't be for me. I wouldn't want to miss out on a lot of my 20's or 30's due to work. That is when a lot of the fun stuff happens :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

God help you if you hand your notice in, generally you are frog marched out of the place a few hours later and given pay in lieu. Do not come back. It's like they take it personally.

God help you? That sounds amazing! I'd basically get three months paid holidays! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Jawgap wrote: »
    During the boom when no one wanted to work in the Public Service we regularly had people who would start on their first day, go for lunch and not come back - the record was some who started at 9-00am and left at 10-30am!!

We had people either laugh or get wonderfully indignant in interviews when we told them starting salaries.....

My favourite was the girl who went told the starting salary for the job we were hiring said something to the effect that "My Daddy works for [Large International Beverage Comany] I can get twice that money working for him..."

Had loads of them in the Civil Service Department where I worked also during the Celtic Tiger. These will be the same people who nowadays make up stories about Civil Servents getting massive yearly pay raises and bonuses and massive pensions :):)

Horse**** and bitter Public Sector revisionism. The public sector were taking on so many people during the boom that there weren't enough people to fill the available roles. That's how FF bought votes.

...and not only that but they pumped up public sector wages so high they outstriped the private sector.

That was always the carrot in the public sector pre FF: "Okay your wages are not as high but you have so many other perks and conditions that will ease the pain."

Now, the public sector have private sector wages and public sector conditions.

Most of my best friends work in local authorities and have done so all their working life. For years, I used to have regular arguments with them about their cushy numbers 60k pa, 5 year career break available, pensions and the rest etc. Hell one guy took 12 mts off to go travelling and when he came back his job was gone- somebody else had filled it. So the good old Council, in all seriousness, created a new role for him. You cldnt make it up. Of course, they never saw it like that.

Now one of my friends has moved into the private sector (although his public sector job is still waiting for him) and last weekend he admitted that from a different perspctive- it's a joke in the public sector. For example, why does the country have so many Local Authorities? Amalgamate most of them and make redundant staff not needed....as if...this is Ireland afterall....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

uch wrote: »
    Not saying you are lying but I've worked in the Civil service in several different areas for 15 years and I've never in that time heard of anybody being given a Bonus

Me neither. I have worked on plenty of projects in the Civil Service and not a sniff of a bonus. I WISH :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

It wasnt blatant rule breaking as such, it was busywork like "getting her in tray ready" "creating spreadsheets" etc and by the time she got the work done, her reports were riddled with errors and a lot of work had to be redone.

I used to work with someone like that. The job involved a lot of lengthy phone conversations with clients while you did IT-related tasks for them. She'd spend an eternity telling them all about her day so far. The clients loved it as they reckoned she was making a rapport with them but, when you factored in that each client got the same conversation, she was wasting several hours a day. The rest of us on the team had to do most of her computer-related tasks for her while she chatted away about what she watched on the telly the night before.

And that was when she was actually on the phone to clients. She could just as easily have been on to her fiancée, her mother or her mother inlaw to be giving them the "Here's what I had for lunch" conversation. But, as long as she made those handful of important daily calls to the key clients, she was grand as far as our eejit of a manager was concerned as it didn't mess up his metrics. Of course he was one of those IT geeky types who break out in a rash when forced to talk to a real, live, woman so he let her get away with murder. Anyone new to our office would think she was the manager the way she bossed our actual manager about.