Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Why cant scholes say that he thinks Rooney was at his peak 2 years ago?

Whats wrong with that? He knows him better than us, it might get Rooney to prove him wrong? He could have said it to Rooney and he might have agreed with him,.
    I dont see too much wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

if Thomas Vermaelen is our only other defensive signing, will people be happy with that, going into the new season?

Rafael
    Jones
    Smalling
    Vermaelen
    Keane
    Evans
    Shaw

realistically, if Evra is sold, we are signing perhaps 2 more defenders. it would be madness to leave 5 defenders go in the space of 7 months.

We're not going to have so many games so 4 centre backs should be plenty.

Cover in the full back positions is where the concern would lie, maybe the younger lads like Varela and Vermilj could step up or Valencia fully converted.
    Rafael for one seems to miss half our games through injury or suspension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Who says he'll be a first team coach? Last season he was assisting the U19s in Europe. Nicky Butt for example had nothing to do with the first team until Moyes was sacked.

He won't be a first team coach now, but before the first team coaches had been announced it had been speculated that he could have some involvement in training the young midfielders brought into the first team.

From what they say Nicky Butt was always in line for Reserve Team Manager.

Scholes will have some role to do with the club and so will Phil Neville. But my point is I wouldn't have Scholes involved in the first team if he hints at players being past their peak to sites like PaddyPower. Also as much respect I have for him it would problem be wiser to keep his opinions on players internally, rather than telling the papers, especially when there is ongoing questions about the role you might have in the future of the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

ericzeking wrote: »
    But was it right then for him to immediately try to audition for the job? The classier thing would have been to keep his council and do what was asked in a low key manner and see what happens, instead it was suits and I'm the United manager now (no you're not, you're the caretaker)...and a couple of sly remarks about the good times being back, 'I've slain that evil David Moyes'...... having been part of the back room staff all season....

What's he going to do if LVG doesn't listen to him and we have a few bad results? Dagger at the ready, all set to appeal to the nostalgic fans?

Anyway, my main point was I think his role with LVG will be very low key. You could even see that in that clip of the training session, LVG and his entourage and then Giggs was a bit detached.

You are reading too much into him wearing a suit. And there was nothing sly about him saying that he wanted to bring back the old United play after the disaster of a season we had had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

is there enough quality there tho?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Scholes talked about Rooney wearing himself out and may have peaked two seasons ago when he scored 26 goals and saying he may have passed his peak.

Which was what alot of people were thinking anyway and certainly rang true in terms of what weve been seeing from Rooney.

FFS put him up front on his own and he will score 20+ goals. He has been scoring goals for fun while having to spend half the game in his own half due to incompetent midfielders.

Horse****, Moyes basically set the team up for him at the start of last season and, although he may have tried harder than anyone, his best wasn't enough to drive the team, like RVP had the season before.

He couldn't hit a cows arse with a banjo for England in over a year either.
    Rooney reacted angrily and who can blame him. Fair enough if it was a pundit who done it but a colleague. Totally unprofessional behavior from a colleague imo.

Scholes wasn't a colleague and if it was out of order then we won't be seeing him at the club again will we?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Watch him next season, see how many injuries he picks up, and see any player with pace skin him alive.

Players get old. Accept it.

just on that, any player with pace would skin hummels alive as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

is there enough quality there tho?

I know you don't like Jones, but I think he really improved for the run of games he got at Centre back at the back end of last season.

I think there is serious potential in a partnership of Jones and Evans if they are given their head. Week in, week out, give them a chance.

Especially if we get the right blend and are more compact in front of them, rather than the gaping holes we had at times last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,283 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Zico wrote: »

Horse****, Moyes basically set the team up for him at the start of last season and, although he may have tried harder than anyone, his best wasn't enough to drive the team, like RVP had the season before.

Rooney didn't play as a Center Forward at all last season or for England.

Try harder.

I've always thought Kagawa could play the Scholes/Modric style 2nd midfield spot, rumours Moyes was looking at it. Mata in a David Silva type role on the left like he started out in at Valencia with a proper wide player on the right and I think Rooney could fit in the middle with RVP ahead. Would require someone ultra defensive behind and Herrera would probably not fit in it but I think it's worth a try in a smaller game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Why cant scholes say that he thinks Rooney was at his peak 2 years ago?

Whats wrong with that? He knows him better than us, it might get Rooney to prove him wrong? He could have said it to Rooney and he might have agreed with him,.
    I dont see too much wrong with it.

I agree, I can't see anything wrong with what he said and how it could even qualify as being unprofessional is beyond me. Personally, I think Scholes hit the nail on the head when he spoke about Rooney.

Zico wrote: »
    Which was what alot of people were thinking anyway and certainly rang true in terms of what weve been seeing from Rooney.

Scholes wasn't a colleague and if it was out of order then we won't be seeing him at the club again will we?;)

Moyes set the team up for Rooney by not playing him in his best position? Yeah, that makes sense.

And RVP gets credit for driving the team when the best manager of all time was in charge, while apparently Rooney scoring 19 and assisting 15 while playing out of position was apparently the problem last year, not Moyes. Yeah, more sense.

And Rooney scored 7 goals in 6 games in qualifying for England last year, again while playing out of position. So if that's him having passed his peak, then we have nothing to worry about.

You can't be a coach and then go and criticise your own players in your role as a pundit. It's an obvious conflict of interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

bangkok wrote: »
    just on that, any player with pace would skin hummels alive as well

Hummels isn't particularly fast, but isn't as slow as Rio is now. No way.
    I'm hearing a lot of this ab out Hummels being really slow. Strange how most people started saying only after Messi went past him a few times in the world cup.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Adamocovic wrote: »
    He won't be a first team coach now, but before the first team coaches had been announced it had been speculated that he could have some involvement in training the young midfielders brought into the first team.

From what they say Nicky Butt was always in line for Reserve Team Manager.

Scholes will have some role to do with the club and so will Phil Neville. But my point is I wouldn't have Scholes involved in the first team if he hints at players being past their peak to sites like PaddyPower. Also as much respect I have for him it would problem be wiser to keep his opinions on players internally, rather than telling the papers, especially when there is ongoing questions about the role you might have in the future of the club.

Were either of them ever in line to be involved with the first them though? I don't think they were. LVG already have his coaching team in place. I took "we'll find a role for them" as a role with the academy / reserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

10563167_539225206223016_6106017729726178334_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Pro. F wrote: »
    You can't be a coach and then go and criticise your own players in your role as a pundit. It's an obvious conflict of interests.

It's amazing the amount of people that can't see this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

I'm hearing a lot of this ab out Hummels being really slow. Strange how most people started saying only after Messi went past him a few times in the world cup.

Messi goes by a lot of people with ease. They idea of Hummels being "really slow" based on that that game is lazy imo. Top class centre half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

There are few, if any, CBs in the world that would stay with Messi when left exposed like that and its not a real way to judge if a CB is slow or not.

Hummels would be a fantastic signing for Utd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Delboy5

Anyone know what time united are flying out to the US or has an official squad list been sent out yet?

he was never fast though, unlike rio in his prime who was both fast and an unbelievable reader of the game, doesn't have the pace any more but still a great reader of the game, that will never leave you. he will be good for qpr

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

He was carrying a knee injury in the final. People shouldn't really be judging him on that match.
    He's one of the best center backs in the world and I'd love to have him at Utd, but he's going nowhere this year.

by the way I agree that hummels is one of the best centre halfs in the world

Delboy5 wrote: »
    Anyone know what time united are flying out to the US or has an official squad list been sent out yet?

flying out at 3 today after training this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Cover in the full back positions is where the concern would lie, maybe the younger lads like Varela and Vermilj could step up or Valencia fully converted.
    Rafael for one seems to miss half our games through injury or suspension

Fully agree re lack of cover at full back
    Thats an area we could be very exposed in next season
    At present we've
    RB Rafael and no back up (varela and Janko have no senior experince at United)
    CB Evans, Jones and Smalling (none of whom seem to be able to last a season without an injury) and M Keane (unproven in PL)
    LB Shaw and no back (can't think of any of the younger players who could fill in)

Eric - Vermilj was already sold/ released

So we've lack of cover and experience in there and no natural leader. Evans to me does not inspire confidence.

I think we're looking at a Hummels/Subotic mid to late 20s CB required to lead the defence. De Vrij would be an improvement here too.

We need a left footed player also to provide cover at LB. Blind would be a great signing as an interim (with carrick out he can play CM) and provide cover to Shaw or split game time between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Were either of them ever in line to be involved with the first them though? I don't think they were. LVG already have his coaching team in place. I took "we'll find a role for them" as a role with the academy / reserves.

VG statement about finding a role isn't exactly what I'm talking about. From the interview it seems Scholes and Neville will both have a role in academy of some sort. But towards the end of the season it had been speculated by some people that Giggs liked the idea of Scholes helping coach the lads who came from the youths/reserves to the first team. To try help them make the move to the first team and also help out any new signings. When Giggs was appointed some thought that might have an influence on Scholes position.

My point is that while speculation about your career is going on it might be wiser to not take up a role with PaddyPower and start hinting at some of the current players being past it. I don't think he intended for the reaction and he was just saying what he felt, but still it seems like a daft and unprofessional thing to do when you are unsure of your role at the club.

Just my opinion though and others feel differently. Still no denying he was a top player and no doubt has a lot to teach young players in midfield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Jesus, lads, that's the point I was making about hummels. Not particularly fast, but anyone would look slow against messi.
    Would love us to sign him. Unlikely to happen though.

Although I think with the club in a good financial position, and with a new manager, this is the time to invest big in world class players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Pro. F wrote: »

He wasnt critical though imo and the points made were fair. He was more critical about his own performances for England than Rooney's.

Im not sure how anyone can take issue with what was said besides maybe Rooney himself. http://blog.paddypower.com/2014/05/22/paul-scholes-exclusive-how-england-can-get-the-best-out-of-wayne-rooney/
    He’s got a brilliant scoring record for his country with 38 goals in 89 internationals, but he’s played in eight World Cup games without a goal. You expect more of him. If Wayne is going to be one of the best footballers in the world, this World Cup is where he has to produce.

Euro 2004 was a low

Maybe Wayne has felt the pressure of playing for England in the last two World Cups when he’s not scored. I know how difficult it can be. I didn’t perform for England the way I’d have liked, especially at big tournaments. France ’98 was okay. It was a part of my career that was decent without being brilliant.

Euro 2004 was a low, however. I had a really bad tournament, for one reason or another, playing on the left-hand side. Playing out wide was not the issue – it is easy to make that excuse. Some of my best games for Manchester United were on the left, especially when Ryan was injured.

Wayne was in the Everton team at 16 years of age, in 2003. Since then he’s played at Euro 2004, two World Cups, Premier League, and Champions League every year at United. There’s a chance he’s worn out. Wayne’s peak may have been a lot younger than what we’d expect of footballers traditionally. Age 28 or 29 has been the normal ‘peak’. With Wayne, it could have been when he scored 27 league goals in 2011/2012 when he was 26.
    Wayne might be a player who’d retire come 31 or 32, given the amount of football he’s played. Ryan Giggs has been on the go for ages, but he adjusted his position. Can Wayne do the same? I don’t think Wayne will be able to play centre forward until he’s 34 or 35. But he could play centre midfield, possibly, into his mid-thirties.

He’s got all the ability to take over my old position at Manchester United. He has played some games there, but has never gone on an uninterrupted run. Whether he has the discipline to do it, right now I’m not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

On the way home now. Any news since the presser?

Oh, and tomorrow's Fight niiiiiiiight!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

MagicIRL wrote: »
    On the way home now. Any news since the presser?

Oh, and tomorrow's Fight niiiiiiiight!!!

All quiet on the western front Magic ;) nothing much happening
    See ye at the O2
    its going to be immense