Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Wouldn't expect much from a 2004 318Ci at that price myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

ninty9er wrote: »
    There were dents on every panel. I want a car, not a project.

I know what your saying, but at that end of the market I wouldn't be giving two fecks about bodywork, provided it drove the way it should. You can drive with a few dents, you can't really with a blown head gasket or an engine ran low on oil or a clutch about to go pop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

ninty9er wrote: »
    <rant>
    Having spoken to the seller this of and being informed it "doesn't need any work" (I can upload the text, also the one asking for more photos) I arranged a day off work and drove 200km.

It drives okay, but a panel beater could give a full day to put it properly right, and that's before you even open a spray booth.

Waste of a day, and a half tank

</rant>

How are you all anyways. It's been a while :)

I hate when this happens pure waste of time and money. It's happened me a few times pure muck of cars that the owners said were spotless ffs I showed up to see one focus before and it was that dirty I didn't even sit in it as I'd of had to throw my cloths out it was that dirty and I'm not even joking that's the dad part. I have to say I hate looking and searching for the right car I love cars and everything about them but just hate trying to buy one. Best of luck with the searching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

An 04 E46 coupe at €2250 sounds a bit cheap though.

You'd have to expect something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Bpmull wrote: »
    I hate when this happens pure waste of time and money. It's happened me a few times pure muck of cars that the owners said were spotless ffs I showed up to see one focus before and it was that dirty I didn't even sit in it as I'd of had to throw my cloths out it was that dirty and I'm not even joking that's the dad part. I have to say I hate looking and searching for the right car I love cars and everything about them but just hate trying to buy one. Best of luck with the searching.

****ing truth.

Went to see one car that even looked spotless in the photographs. When I got there, it was like it'd been left sitting under a desert sun with paint-fade. The interior seemed to suggest twice the mileage the car actually had. The clutch bearing moaned. And the thing struggled utterly to restart after I stalled it.

Oh. And it was expensive, to boot.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Update on the Astra situation.

My friend managed to get the guy's address, and texted his address to him (on the phone that the other guy "found") and got a few friends to send it too (just the address, nothing else at all). A few minutes later he got a call from this guy in a panic, some words were exchanged and they have come to a deal. He will refund €700 at 6 o'clock this evening.

I'm absolutely delighted.
    That's brilliant news :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Looks like I ditched the style 193's at the right time, every e46 i see now has them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

A lot of shyte seems to be coming from that neck of the woods lately

Hey Hey :mad: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Hey Hey :mad: :pac:

Howdy :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Nice blue Audi S2 in the city tonight along with a purple Mini pickup :pac:

Both very nice cars!

Spent my day bringing in daddy's bales in the twactorrr.... and the brakes decided to go half way through......

*For ye city folk, bales are the black round things that you might see in a field, they have grass inside the black plastic. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Spent my day bringing in daddy's bales in the twactorrr.... and the brakes decided to go half way through......

*For ye city folk, bales are the black round things that you might see in a field, they have grass inside the black plastic. :pac:

Seen this on the book today.

Bales-field-tipp.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Poor city folks heads will explode now, grass in black plastic?? The only thing i know that goes in black plastic is loike rubbish?? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Feckin farmers :pac:

Well I technically ain't a farmer, just lend a hand when I feel like it, fecking up the machinery in the process :P

Not worth putting the pics in any other thread, but just 2 quick ones.

Neighbours son's Mondeo, wish I had them wheels.

2w4k9w7.jpg

And these yokes arrived today, hate the screw heads so these should make a subtle change to the 206 and jeep. Ideally the plates should be stuck with tape, but meh.

e6r5dy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Keep an eye out for the BMW 3series on jacks on the NCR near ford dealer. Think someone robbed all four wheels overnight. They left the jack though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Interslice wrote: »
    Seen this on the book today.

Bales-field-tipp.jpg

Our very own LimerickMan took that photo right here in Thurles :D

Transfarmers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

So a special car has turned up at mine from yesterday :) fun times ahead. I'll stick up a pic later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

YbFocus wrote: »
    So a special car has turned up at mine from yesterday :) fun times ahead. I'll stick up a pic later.

Is it RWD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Not worth putting the pics in any other thread, but just 2 quick ones.

Neighbours son's Mondeo, wish I had them wheels.

2w4k9w7.jpg

And these yokes arrived today, hate the screw heads so these should make a subtle change to the 206 and jeep. Ideally the plates should be stuck with tape, but meh.

e6r5dy.jpg

You're better off not having those wheels. Polished face doesn't last p1ssing time. The old lad had them on his one and they were covered in white worm. Hitting every kerb going then meant it didn't matter mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,426 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I did the same - without the break failure thankfully :eek:

But I DID have brake failure a couple of weeks ago - pedal right down the floor job.

Had to use handbrake to stop it :eek:

You're better off not having those wheels. Polished face doesn't last p1ssing time. The old lad had them on his one and they were covered in white worm. Hitting every kerb going then meant it didn't matter mind...

Ya they seem to stick out quite alot, being the first part to hit the kerb, whereas mine are in slightly, so the tire sidewall usually takes the damage. Them ones are ruined alright, a lot of the paint is chipped off.
    Old diesel wrote: »
    I did the same - without the break failure thankfully :eek:

But I DID have brake failure a couple of weeks ago - pedal right down the floor job.

Had to use handbrake to stop it :eek:

Same here, handbrake to the rescue, get it to go as close to stopping as you can and then yank it up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

then yank it up :D

Or gently lift it and slow the car down gradually and in a controlled manner.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Is it RWD?

Most definitely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Most definitely :)

Nissan S13? Toyota AE86? BMW E34?

GvidoR wrote: »
    Nissan S13? Toyota AE86? BMW E34?

close with 1 guess, although i'd love all them too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

close with 1 guess, although i'd love all them too :)

S14? :P

OSI wrote: »
    well I'm not allowed to drive it

More importantly, how are you these days?