Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Ah i know, my neighbours are like that they drive their cars until something goes in then trade it in :rolleyes: I keep saying its repairable and i always get "ah sure once one thing goes on it then its fecked"

Strange attitude, but then the Irish attitude to motoring in General is weird. Except you guys :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Stheno wrote: »
    He's just like that, myself and our mechanic have chats about what needs to be done to his car, and never ever tell him there is an issue no matter how small.

I just say, "Oh the mechanic needs to check this"

Heeheee

Then the mechanic and I have little chats to check that what I've noticed is right, and OH only arrives down to pay the bill.

The proper way! :D I only go to my mechanic when i really really need to, or when i can't do it myself

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Strange attitude, but then the Irish attitude to motoring in General is weird. Except you guys :cool:

My mechanic once gave out to me that I hadn't pointed out to him that there was a problem with the wiper mechanism on the OHs car!

That said, I knew there was and just forgot it due to a more pressing issue, but he has high expectations of me, compared to most of his customers.

No lie, they change cars like the weather, they're old enough like so i suppose its something to do with it, but I'll never understand them, nor them me :pac:

Yay go us :cool:

I did a fair bit of research into it at the time, and essentially, extended bolts or not, you added another element of risk to your wheels, if the nuts are too tight the spacers will crack over time, so I decided on that basis not to do it.

I imagine the same thing would apply to yours so unless you are going to tighten them yourself, be wary

Well I'd have thought that it was just a case of taking the wheel off, adding the spacer and putting it back on (with a bit of a lubricant, to make it easier to remove in future).

I might buy them and get my mechanic to put them on (as he'll be getting under the car during the week, anyway). He'll be able to advise on the bolts, I'd say, as he'd have a better idea of what's going on that I would.

I'll try them for a week. Any sign of potential trouble, any vibration, or any 'give' if i give the wheels a good kicking, and I'll take them off. But if everything holds up sturdy, I might just leave them be and see how I get on.

Although I've read lots of horror stories, i've yet to actually see anyone have an accident. All the forums I read are people saying this or that could happen, but no one ever really seems to be posting up saying "look what happened to me". It's all hypothetical..?

YB, did you put extended bolts on your spacers? (yours are 20mm, so presumably so?)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No lie, they change cars like the weather, they're old enough like so i suppose its something to do with it, but I'll never understand them, nor them me :pac:

I probably drive one of the oldest cars where I work, but I actually really like the car, how it looks, how it drives, everything.

And it's unusual, and I've put loads (not half what some on here would have done tbh) of time and effort and money into it

I'll keep my oldie car rather than drive a cheapo Dacio thanks!

And I'll probably mind it better :)

I probably drive one of the oldest cars where I work, but I actually really like the car, how it looks, how it drives, everything.

And it's unusual, and I've put loads (not half what some on here would have done tbh) of time and effort and money into it

I'll keep my oldie car rather than drive a cheapo Dacio thanks!

And I'll probably mind it better :)

Exactly, like my car has a bit of a reputation and people make fun of me for owning it but sure look how much i care? I got it for 800 quid and i bloody love it, someone i know recently spent the guts of 10K on a new yaris, it boggles me why you'd waste 10 grand on a car, having said that though I've probably spent that on repairing mine :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I have a neighbor who changes cars every year. Actually, he got a new car today. A new Qashqai. Its got wheel trims, and black plastic everywhere. Its in a lovely colour of purple though, nearly midnight purple.

Everything he has ever had has been a soulless econobox. IX35, old Qashqai etc. Every bloody year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

It's because Yariiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii are class baiiiiiiiiiiiii

Exactly, like my car has a bit of a reputation and people make fun of me for owning it but sure look how much i care? I got it for 800 quid and i bloody love it, someone i know recently spent the guts of 10K on a new yaris, it boggles me why you'd waste 10 grand on a car, having said that though I've probably spent that on repairing mine :o

I paid 800 for my creature, have spent probably 2k on it since (due to the very nice mechanic, I've service history for a massive amount)

3 years of ownership, 1k per year, car is now in better nick than it was.

This is why I love bangernomics

And I always wanted a gtv, loved them from the first time I saw them.

Heck I'm even thinking about replacing my gear stick as it looks shabby

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I have a neighbor who changes cars every year. Actually, he got a new car today. A new Qashqai. Its got wheel trims, and black plastic everywhere. Its in a lovely colour of purple though, nearly midnight purple.

Everything he has ever had has been a soulless econobox. IX35, old Qashqai etc. Every bloody year.

Same here, each year a new passat or jetta, as paddy spec as they can get it and it's the talk of where i live, "have you seen brennans new 142 car? ohhh it's lovely!" I'm there thinking yeah.....reaaaal lovely :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I did that to my A-class last year. It makes a big difference to the interior.

I paid 800 for my creature, have spent probably 2k on it since (due to the very nice mechanic, I've service history for a massive amount)

I've put the guts of 2/3 grand into mine since i got it, along with a lot of swearing :pac:

I love my car, and if the engine goes boom, i'll be genuinely heartbroken, I just changed all my interior lights to leds, because i like the colour they put out haha

It's the little things that make the big difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Maybe it wouldn't be that way if the year of the car didn't show up on the licence plate.

I guess there's quite a lot of people that are like "Yeah, look at my 142 plate" even though it's like a 1.2 Micra or something.

With that kind of money I'd get something like a Porsche 944, insure it, do some mods and have money left over

Dord wrote: »
    I did that to my A-class last year. It makes a big difference to the interior.

That's the thing for me, the rest of it apart from the rip in the drivers seat is fairly pristine so the worn gear knob takes away from it, it's just a new gear knob.

As long as the car is running well, I honestly can't see me getting rid of it, so the small investment into stuff that I'd like to improve it is worth it for me.

Same here, each year a new passat or jetta, as paddy spec as they can get it and it's the talk of where i live, "have you seen brennans new 142 car? ohhh it's lovely!" I'm there thinking yeah.....reaaaal lovely :rolleyes:

Oh thats the worst bit. People always say its lovely etc, but there honestly is not a single "lovely" feature about it. Nothing whatsoever.

Bar the colour on this, I do like it.

Otherwise, absolutely nada.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Oh thats the worst bit. People always say its lovely etc, but there honestly is not a single "lovely" feature about it. Nothing whatsoever.

Bar the colour on this, I do like it.

Otherwise, absolutely nada.

Oh agreed, I'd pick an older car with actual features than a new yoke any day

GvidoR wrote: »
    Maybe it wouldn't be that way if the year of the car didn't show up on the licence plate.

I guess there's quite a lot of people that are like "Yeah, look at my 142 plate" even though it's like a 1.2 Micra or something.

With that kind of money I'd get something like a Porsche 944, insure it, do some mods and have money left over

I don't think so tbh.

I've had plenty of people stop both me and the Oh and ask about my car (there are about 23 of them in the country) Then they hear it's an alfa and the old conceptions kick in) Then they realise they are old enough and the sheen fades.

I think there is culture in Ireland of either owning from new and replacing or people who drive what are termed bangers, when those bangers might be more carefully minded than a 142 reg.

I remember getting the brakes replaced on my current 00 reg, and checking with my mechanic if I had to bed them in and he complimenting me on asking the question, as he has customers who despite being told, ignored his advice.

Now I'm not perfect, work interfered with my life and I delayed a service, but by god I knew what that car needed when it went it, and my mechanic identied a couple of small issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Well I'd have thought that it was just a case of taking the wheel off, adding the spacer and putting it back on (with a bit of a lubricant, to make it easier to remove in future).

I might buy them and get my mechanic to put them on (as he'll be getting under the car during the week, anyway). He'll be able to advise on the bolts, I'd say, as he'd have a better idea of what's going on that I would.

I'll try them for a week. Any sign of potential trouble, any vibration, or any 'give' if i give the wheels a good kicking, and I'll take them off. But if everything holds up sturdy, I might just leave them be and see how I get on.

Although I've read lots of horror stories, i've yet to actually see anyone have an accident. All the forums I read are people saying this or that could happen, but no one ever really seems to be posting up saying "look what happened to me". It's all hypothetical..?

YB, did you put extended bolts on your spacers? (yours are 20mm, so presumably so?)

Get Hub-centric spacers or none at all tbh. They don't come under 10mm. Halfords ones are shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Will you let me know if you do. Mine is battered and badly needs replacing. Finding the 5 speed ones is difficult though.

Mine cost me 350! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

F*ck lads the summer is fairly going :(

Indeed it is :( feels like yesterday i was leaving college haha

The sooner the summer is over the better.

That way my girlfriend can't slag me for having work to go to when she doesn't :pac:

And Summer is like my 3rd favorite season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

@kkv yep i got 20mm hubcentrics. Do not buy slip ons they are annoying and dangerous! And yes i also got proper extended bolts, with 20mm spacers the old bolts wouldn't even bite!

Got my insurance renewal papers this morning and I was pleasantly surprised.

950 euro!

That's what I ended up paying, with 6 years NCB :(

At least it's fully comp + NCB protected though.

You mean that's what you're paying now?

For me it's third party only.

Yup, renewed yesterday.

And that's on an E46, right?

Still seems kinda pricey for 6 years NCB... I've got only 1. I was insured for 6 months before that but nobody cares if it's not a full year.

Yeah, 2005 E46 320Cd.

Joys of being under 25 I guess.

Brokers were at least another 100 on top of that, with increased excess and restrictions for U25's. Then quotes from the like of Axa, Aviva, chill etc were all laughable at over €2k.