Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭blinkey 101

Dogs next door barking none ****ing stop morning noon and night 3 dogs the size of horses in a tiny garden :-( I just need sleep :-(.........!!!!! Sleep just sleep few hours no dogs barking I feel like jumping the wall with a samurai sword in my Yfronts . And to top it of the guy who owns them sleeps in the front of the house and gives me a big hello good morning and a smile . While I have bags under my eyes down to my knees !!!!! The bastard !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Now this is incredibly trivial but then that is the name of the thread.

When something is described in adverts as lasting "two times longer" or "kills two times as many germs" etc. It should be "twice as long".

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Wow, that's a "very pacific" amount of time :p

There's a manager in my place of work that says this all the time. He says it alot, he knows he is saying it wrong, as there is always a small pause before he says it, then repeats it immediatley.
    I think the pause is to think about what the correct way is, and he believes pacific is, the the repeat is to confirm to himself that it's the correct way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    There's a manager in my place of work that says this all the time. He says it alot, he knows he is saying it wrong, as there is always a small pause before he says it, then repeats it immediatley.
    I think the pause is to think about what the correct way is, and he believes pacific is, the the repeat is to confirm to himself that it's the correct way.

You should have a go at convincing him that "atlantic" means the opposite, i.e. vague, general. :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

jimgoose wrote: »
    You should have a go at convincing him that "atlantic" means the opposite, i.e. vague, general. :pac:

Then I'll have to commit and find a meaning for 'Mediterranean'......
    to engage in thought or contemplation; reflect.

'Indian' - the part of the car that makes it drive

'Arctic' - a type of monkey?

T...'Arctic' - a type of monkey?

No, silly - an Arctic is a tcruck with a tcrailer, and an Antarctic is a rigid HGV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Then I'll have to commit and find a meaning for 'Mediterranean'......
    to engage in thought or contemplation; reflect.

'Indian' - the part of the car that makes it drive

'Arctic' - a type of monkey?

In the Ageing Sea....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Rochester

People with long hair closely examining their split ends. Cut them off people and use conditioner.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,115 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Accidentally stepping on a snail. Not only do you squish the poor fcuker, you also stab him to death with pieces of his own gaff.

Plus, the noise. Vom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭siblers

People who eat pizza with a knife and fork, it's just wrong.

people on Facebook starting a sentence with "i cant believe "

i cant believe my johnny is 12 today so proud of him .

i cant believe i bought a new phone cost me €500.

i cant believe I'm going on holidays to Spain for 2 whole weeks !

**** off i don't care!! And why don't you believe it? ffs you bought it you book it hes you're son so believe it !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

people on Facebook starting a sentence with "i cant believe "

i cant believe my johnny is 12 today so proud of him .

i cant believe i bought a new phone cost me €500.

i cant believe I'm going on holidays to Spain for 2 whole weeks !

**** off i don't care!! And why don't you believe it? ffs you bought it you book it hes you're son so believe it !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    :mad:

I cant believe that annoys you so much. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I finally narrowed it down to a choice between 2 fridge freezers. Now I just need to make a decision tomorrow. Black or white. I prefer white but the 1 I like best is in black in the shop so unless they can get me a white one in the same delivery time frame it'd have to be the black 1. Decisions decisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

When I wake up in the morning and I hit the disable button on my phone instead of the snooze button. They're too close together.

Oh Sweet divine Jesus, the neighbours have started hammering something, it's not helping my thumping headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

... "kills two times as many germs".

Does this mean it was sh¡t at killing germs before?

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Does this mean it was sh¡t at killing germs before?

I wonder if they'll ever get that final .1% of bacteria, none of them have managed to eradicate 100%:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I'm coming in here more than i should

Lets start!

Unreliable people
    People who don't know how to embed pictures on this
    People who overstay their welcome
    Willywavers - oh I have to do something later, OH WELL I DONE THAT WITHOUT ANYONE HELPING ME AND I'M SO MUCH BETTER THAN YOU

Fcuk off

Cars :pac:
    And thinking at night

/rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

When people take something from you (without asking) and you never get it back! :mad:

I got my eyebrows threaded today and reminded of the time I got them waxed a few years ago. The lady was finishing tidy them up with a pluckers and she plucked my mole hair. :mad: Without. Even. Asking. :mad::mad::mad::mad:

I was so annoyed, to this day the hairs haven't grown back. :( I have a tiny mole under my chin, barely noticeable. I call it Ronnie and the b*tch plucked Ronnie. :mad: Ronnie hasn't been the same since. :(

When people take something from you (without asking) and you never get it back! :mad:

I got my eyebrows threaded today and reminded of the time I got them waxed a few years ago. The lady was finishing tidy them up with a pluckers and she plucked my mole hair. :mad: Without. Even. Asking. :mad::mad::mad::mad:

I was so annoyed, to this day the hairs haven't grown back. :( I have a tiny mole under my chin, barely noticeable. I call it Ronnie and the b*tch plucked Ronnie. :mad: Ronnie hasn't been the same since. :(
    You did well enough. I'd have used a flamethrower. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

You did well enough. I'd have used a flamethrower. :)

It just looks like a little freckle now, hidden by all my chin fat. :(

I can't believe the hairs didn't grow back. I thought 3 extra ones would sprout but alas, nothing.

Trivial annoyance: Waiting for my horrible old Servis fridge-freezer to kick the bucket, so I can buy one of those awsome Liebherr American-style ones. Unfortunately the stupid thing appears to be my kitchen's answer to the Terminator. Die, you bastard!! :D

I came across some really bad reviews of Liebherr, it might be worth having another look at manufacturers while you wait for the beast to die:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Short wheel base jeeps. I mean the bigger ones like Troopers, Pajeros, Patrols, Land Rovers etc.. Whats the point? The increased breakover angle only really matters if you take them extremely deep off road, which perhaps excuses the Defenders..
    Otherwise they look strange, are not much lighter on juice, are less stable on road, worse to tow heavy loads with, and less practical in the space they offer. 90% of them are commercial which is even more annoying! Your "van" can carry hardly anything, at least the LWBs have bloody space!:mad:
    They make no sense to me. And Land Cruiser owners are the biggest culprits while IMHO nothing looks more wrong than a SWB patrol.. The long ones are good enough for the Army..
    The only exceptions to the rule (at a push, still) are the smaller (ish) jeeps like the Nissan Terrano or Isuzu "MU" (Opel Frontera SWB) Which looks mental. Like a little Humvee and the 3.1s pull houses down. Or my favourite "crossover", the Isuzu Vehicross.

That Muller deluxe ad, it's a bog standard yoghurt not an orgasm in a pot ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

My running route has a hill midway through which I like to go up at a good clip. A massive badger was hit by a car recently and lies at base of said hill. Decomposing badger is feckin ponging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Short wheel base jeeps. I mean the bigger ones like Troopers, Pajeros, Patrols, Land Rovers etc.. Whats the point? The increased breakover angle only really matters if you take them extremely deep off road, which perhaps excuses the Defenders..
    Otherwise they look strange, are not much lighter on juice, are less stable on road, worse to tow heavy loads with, and less practical in the space they offer. 90% of them are commercial which is even more annoying! Your "van" can carry hardly anything, at least the LWBs have bloody space!:mad:
    They make no sense to me. And Land Cruiser owners are the biggest culprits while IMHO nothing looks more wrong than a SWB patrol.. The long ones are good enough for the Army..
    The only exceptions to the rule (at a push, still) are the smaller (ish) jeeps like the Nissan Terrano or Isuzu "MU" (Opel Frontera SWB) Which looks mental. Like a little Humvee and the 3.1s pull houses down. Or my favourite "crossover", the Isuzu Vehicross.

Imo think it's a tax thing. All of the above are dead common with farmers round my way. Lwb passenger 4x4's seem to be vanishing off the roads except for newish ones.

Lets start!

Unreliable people
    People who don't know how to embed pictures on this
    People who overstay their welcome
    Willywavers - oh I have to do something later, OH WELL I DONE THAT WITHOUT ANYONE HELPING ME AND I'M SO MUCH BETTER THAN YOU

Fcuk off

Cars :pac:
    And thinking at night

/rant

People who don't know how to embed pictures on this..I'm sure you were a learner once ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

That Muller deluxe ad, it's a bog standard yoghurt not an orgasm in a pot ffs.

You should work in marketing :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Ok , are jeeps trivial?, no, come on now , if we keep this up we won't be allowed
    a TTAY 3 thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

/rant

It's an orgasmic experience alright. Veritable orgies of trivial quibbles.