Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

YbFocus wrote: »
    Yay got my spacers on and she looks much better now, no longer lost in the arches smile.png

What size did you get? Any before/after photos? smile.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Speaking of opc. Opc astra holds its value... I remember prices back in the day when I was looking to buy one and prices are still the same now.

I know I know, experts will run in now and shout how bad understeer in these, but I would still love to own one some day. They just look really cool in that blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭RyanMGF

I'm that blue

da ba dee da ba di

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I notice a lot of UK imports very recently that dont get the silly 00D120xxx plates

did something change in the last 4 weeks about this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I notice a lot of UK imports very recently that dont get the silly 00D120xxx plates

I thought it changed around 2012 or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I think it was from 2011 onwards, imports just got the next number available, getting rid of starting at 120,000 for Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

RyanMGF wrote: »
    da ba dee da ba di

Stupid android spell checker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I thought it changed around 2012 or something.
    I think it was from 2011 onwards, imports just got the next number available, getting rid of starting at 120,000 for Dublin.

when i imported my car it got a similar number but for another county.

is it cars after 2011 or every car brought in after 2011-2012 ?

when i imported my car it got a similar number but for another county.

is it cars after 2011 or every car brought in after 2011-2012 ?

From Jan 2011 afaik

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Finally getting all the little jobs on my car done.

Had the most annoying experience today, OH took his car to a jet wash place, only for us to discover a wanker there who first rinsed off his car, then applied shampoo by hand with a mitt, then rinsed it, then started polishing the damn car with two others waiting for the jet wash!

I had some words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Not to bad!

YrZm3Cql.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

As a fair few if you know, I've been busy with a team of people from college with a car we built, competing in silverstone. Unfortunately we broke a drive shaft coupling in the main event (endurance). Overall we finished 26 out of 99, very good seeing as 40% of the points were going for the endurance and a good few of the other top teams are working off 10 times our budget!!!! If we kept the same lap times as we did before the drive shaft failure we would have finished 12th. I'm very proud of what we achieved!

Also fair play to the Germans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Fair play DZ, great result :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Both my parents cars, 2013 and 2014 are imports with 4 and 5 digit plates.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Both my parents cars, 2013 and 2014 are imports with 4 and 5 digit plates.

must be just the dublin so.

in the meantime im breaking me shoite laughing at this !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

put up a pic.

I will tomorrow, flat out today didn't get a chance, I have a before shot to compare it with :)
    What size did you get? Any before/after photos? smile.png

20mm and longer bolts etc to go with, I'll get it up tomorrow evening :)

NCT Tuesday, the fecker better pass, cleaned the inner side of the alloys and all!

Anybody ever buy individual socket heads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Yep! I messed up my back somehow, great, no work being done here for the next while :(

Ahh, probably one of the worst places to get hurt, can't do anything :( Hope all will be grand soon :)

Nope, its a day of gta for me it seems

What did you want to know about the socket buying though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,398 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Yep. Ebay has them. :)

Wet and got a draper one. €6.50 for a 19mm hex socket, jaysus!

On another note, a message just popped up on the dash saying "alarm system service required". Each time you turn on the car it beeps and the message stays on for about 5 seconds. That wouldn't cause any problem for the NCT would it? I'll get to it after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Wet and got a draper one. €6.50 for a 19mm hex socket, jaysus!

On another note, a message just popped up on the dash saying "alarm system service required". Each time you turn on the car it beeps and the message stays on for about 5 seconds. That wouldn't cause any problem for the NCT would it? I'll get to it after.

Nope, be grand!
    Only stuff like airbag malfunction or brake malfunction lights affect the NCT

Nope, its a day of gta for me it seems

What did you want to know about the socket buying though?

Ah it's just that one of the ones I have got goosed so it's just one I needed replacing, instead of a full set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Spent 2 hours in the scrap yard today with no wiper linkage to show for it. Every one had a t least one siezed bolt :(. I'll have to go back again tomorrow with a hacksaw and a drill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Donuts in my Rx8

Best. Donuts. Ever.

Dartz wrote: »
    Donuts in my Rx8

Best. Donuts. Ever.

Now I've to go for some donuts in my car :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Now I've to go for some donuts in my car :P

I've got a packet of Lidl cream doughnuts in the fridge.............:D