Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭NeVeR

NotorietyH wrote: »
    Ivory Coast had 7 yellow cards too in the group stage. I was doing the office sweepstakes here in work and that was one of the prizes.

I'll have to really check it out.. I'll be on FIFA's site for the next few hours !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Delboy5 wrote: »
    More speculation but the front page of the La Gazetta Dello Sport has a picture of Vidal with headline Done Dealio Manchester.

"Done Dealio" - wonder what that means in Italian ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

greendom wrote: »
    "Done Dealio" - wonder what that means in Italian ?

Fake picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Delboy5

Photshopped picture

Cant believe i fell for that, thought my italian was better.....

Fcuk sake "done dealio"......Mama Mia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Fake picture

Yes, and fake Italian :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

How could they(Adidas) justify that amount of money :pac: it doesn't make sense from a business perspective

well no, it makes perfect sense. Nike were absolutely milking money from us. dont forget, its not just the kits, they own everything and that include the megastore on match days and absoltely everything else merchandising wise.

its not inconceivable to think that Addidas could double, if not treble that in one year. the top 3 selling jerseys in the PL in 2013 had RVP, Rooney and Kagawa on them and United sell about 1.2million shirts per year.

straight away there alone, most of the money is made back there already before we even look at every other piece of merchandise going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭NotorietyH

NeVeR wrote: »
    I'll have to really check it out.. I'll be on FIFA's site for the next few hours !

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_FIFA_World_Cup_disciplinary_record

I used this page when coming up with the categories. Has the number of cards by team towards the bottom.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Nike made a ton of money by making largely rank shirts, can you imagine the increase in sales of shirts if they were actually attractive!

I'll almost certainly buy one next year.

Decided I'm going to try and head over to the Swansea game but getting a ticket is going to be tough I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭yermandan

DONE DELIO HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Doris300

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Decided I'm going to try and head over to the Swansea game but getting a ticket is going to be tough I reckon.

what is the best way to get a ticket in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Nike made a ton of money by making largely rank shirts, can you imagine the increase in sales of shirts if they were actually attractive!

adidas tracksuits and polo shirts etc are much nicer as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,591 ✭✭✭✭kippy

How could they(Adidas) justify that amount of money :pac: it doesn't make sense from a business perspective

Ed is a fecking genius!

I doubt they'd hand over 750+ million without research.

In fairness sporting goods cost damn all to produce, most likely produced in some sweat shop in india or elsewhere in Asia. Appears to be the main cost associated with them is promotion/marketing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

glued wrote: »
    Team | Manufacturer | Per Year | Years | Total
    Manchester United | Adidas | £75M| 10 | £750M
    Real Madrid| Adidas | £31M | 8| £248M
    Chelsea | Adidas|£30M|10|£300M
    Arsenal | Puma|£30|5|£170M
    Barcelona | Nike|£27M|10|£270M
    Liverpool | Warrior| £25M| 6| £150M
    Manchester City|Nike|£12M|6|£72M

worthwhile putting in when those deals were signed.

For example the madrid deal looks ****e if it was signed last year, but if i was signed 6 years ago then looks decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Not sure if posted, but LVG has given Van Persie three weeks off entirely, before reporting back for training.

Looks like he will be reverting back to the lighter workload approach that Fergie had over Moyes.

As a seperate note, I think this summer already has shown we need to shift our credability ratings for certain journalists.

I'm getting the impression that Van Gaal has insisted that the transparant transfer stuff to media be stopped immediately. Fergie had a pretty tight ship when it came to what was and was not ok to leak out, or even insiniate to journalists. That somehow got a bit out of hand with Moyes, as Woodward and certain executives got WAY to pally pally with journalists, and Moyes himself was dangerously transparent with journalists.

Graham Hunter printed out a text conversation they had over Herrera, just before the debacle last summer.

Considering how off the mark the reliables have been, stands to me that there is a little blackout going on. As a fan I prefer it, that we are operating again as a tight ship, but as a gossip whore, its certainly annoying :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

For example the madrid deal looks ****e if it was signed last year, but if i was signed 6 years ago then looks decent

Madrid signed 8 year deal in 2012.
    Chelsea signed in 2013.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

TheDoc wrote: »
    Not sure if posted, but LVG has given Van Persie three weeks off entirely, before reporting back for training.

Looks like he will be reverting back to the lighter workload approach that Fergie had over Moyes.

As a seperate note, I think this summer already has shown we need to shift our credability ratings for certain journalists.

I'm getting the impression that Van Gaal has insisted that the transparant transfer stuff to media be stopped immediately. Fergie had a pretty tight ship when it came to what was and was not ok to leak out, or even insiniate to journalists. That somehow got a bit out of hand with Moyes, as Woodward and certain executives got WAY to pally pally with journalists, and Moyes himself was dangerously transparent with journalists.

Graham Hunter printed out a text conversation they had over Herrera, just before the debacle last summer.

Considering how off the mark the reliables have been, stands to me that there is a little blackout going on. As a fan I prefer it, that we are operating again as a tight ship, but as a gossip whore, its certainly annoying :D

Badly needed. Very smart from LVG.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Madrid signed 8 year deal in 2012.
    Chelsea signed in 2013.

wow, they are ****e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

TheDoc wrote: »

Seems to be a strong bond between Van Persie and Van Gaal. It will be interesting to see how it ends for Van Persie given it's likely that Van Gaal will be the man who will have to make the decision to phase him out of the team in a couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

90d22b0350aa598380493940af1832da.png

http://www.sportingintelligence.com/2012/10/08/real-madrid-and-barca-earn-most-from-kit-deals-united-and-liverpool-closing-in-081002/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

user2011 wrote: »

Jayus, United were getting as much per year since 2002 that Arsenal are getting in their new Puma one.

United really are a money making machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Any big players contracted to adidas we could be in the market for? Vidal is puma iirc....Messi maybe....!!!!

So what do you lads think will happen?

Will the debt pay down be immediate?

Doing that will free up 20 million quid per year at current rates... personally think its a no brainer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 139 ✭✭HaveASnickers

So what do you lads think will happen?

Will the debt pay down be immediate?

Doing that will free up 20 million quid per year at current rates... personally think its a no brainer

I'd imagine the current servicing of debt is sufficient whatever that is. I'd be happy for the Glazers to pocket some beans from this deal, they well and truely deserve it as does Ed. Sunderlands total turnover is 76m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

what we are all thinking right now
    aggrandized.gif

How Ed Woodward feels right now
    laughing-like-a-king-homer-simpson.gif

Got the home and away jersey there, not as bad as I first anticipated when worn ....

I'd imagine the current servicing of debt is sufficient whatever that is. I'd be happy for the Glazers to pocket some beans from this deal, they well and truely deserve it as does Ed. Sunderlands total turnover is 76m.

would you not want them pay down the debt to make that 20 million in interest payment go towards a player?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 139 ✭✭HaveASnickers

Sirsok wrote: »
    Got the home and away jersey there, not as bad as I first anticipated when worn ....

Cristiano O'Queeffe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭NeVeR

NeVeR wrote: »
    The Last World Cup Sweeps post :D

Well done and thanks to all who took part.

Below are the winners.

Winners: Germany - Liam O
    Runners Up: Argentina - NeVeR

Most yellow cards in group stages €20 - Honduras -- LostBoy101
    1st Red Card €20 - Uruguay -- Gadge
    1st OG €20 - Croatia -- ninja900
    1st Peno €20 - Brazil -- markc1184
    Worst goal difference in group stages. €20 - Cameroon -- bennyl10

If anyone would like to review and make sure I'm correct please do. Can the winners please PM me your Paypal email address and I'll send the winnings.
    NotorietyH wrote: »
    Ivory Coast had 7 yellow cards too in the group stage. I was doing the office sweepstakes here in work and that was one of the prizes.

Updated with joint winners for Most Yellows. €10 / Each :D

Winners: Germany - Liam O
    Runners Up: Argentina - NeVeR

Most yellow cards in group stages €20 - Honduras and Ivory CoastLostBoy101 - and - LightOfTruth
    1st Red Card €20 - Uruguay -- Gadge
    1st OG €20 - Croatia -- ninja900
    1st Peno €20 - Brazil -- markc1184
    Worst goal difference in group stages. €20 - Cameroon -- bennyl10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

we just booked out flights for 3 of the first 5 home games - Swansea, Everton and Chelsea, if theres any tickets spare ill post here or the ticket forum.

defo have some spares for the second game against QPR and 3rd against West Ham as ive stag/wedding those two weekends and cant go to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Sirsok wrote: »

Not big deal but isn't the button on the home jersey supposed to be black?