Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

Thanks lads, hopefully the club are playing the Vidal deal very close to their chest, maybe a bit of misinformation to keep rival rich clubs from coming in to hijack the deal? /wishful thinking

However, I am now trying to curb my excitement/hopes regarding a Vidal deal, it's been going on that long now that it really is starting to remind me of the Sneijder and Thiago Alcantra episodes.

Also, is Evra officially gone yet? I have been a critic of his over the last season, but now that we've signed Shaw and released Buttner, it would be great if he hung around for another year. We have no other LB options and I imagine that with less games to play, Evra could be more than sufficient for LB back-up.

Honestly though, I feel a bit 'bad' even suggesting that. The man has been our LB beast (mostly) and a terrific servant over his years at the club, he deserves to go and get first team football elsewhere in his limited time left if that's what he wishes for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Unfortunatey hes prob the most reliable Utd journo, the only thing is the club are leaking les and less and he also said he didnt expect herrera rumours to be true.

yep.

for me the whole vidal thing is twitter circulated bullsht.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Has Evra's move to Juve been made official yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Regarding the Adidas news, I found this quote in particular to be pretty interesting.
    The huge sum involved is only £40m less than the Glazer family paid for the club in 2005.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Someone called it right in here earlier when they said the Vidal story was BS and you could tell by the 'when he's back from holiday' line.

You do not have a conversation with Utd about a 40 million 150kpw deal and then say 'I'll let you know after my hols'.

They would rightly tell you to fcuk off and look elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

OctavarIan wrote: »
    Regarding the Adidas news, I found this quote in particular to be pretty interesting.

An incredible deal, and Woody should be congratulated. As should Sir Alex Ferguson - without the sustained success for over 2 decades that he brought us, the club wouldn't be near as popular, and deals such as this would be nothing more than wishful thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

No guarantees on who United will go for, hoping that once Wednesday rolls around and LVG as sitting at his desk, that we'll have a bit more legitimate information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Leftist wrote: »
    yep.

for me the whole vidal thing is twitter circulated bullsht.

It seems like it. There are very little reliable sources from Italy. It's very apparent that Manchester United are choking the press at the minute. My understanding is that Woodward in particular wasn't happy with the manner in which the Shaw deal was being reported and the pressure being placed upon him by the journalists the club was briefing. I think any Manchester United fan knows or can easily find out who was actually leaking the extra information from the club.

Ogden said that there was no deal for Herrera and 2 hours later it was announced. Ducker and Jamie Jackson via Daniel Taylor were nowhere to be seen either. Everybody knows who was sending around the texts to Andy Mitten, Ducker, Ogden, Taylor, Ladyman etc. I think that he or she is on a short lease at the minute and Woodward has stopped the briefing the media.

Also Ducker is by far the best writer on United. 99% of what he says is what he either believes or has researched. My feeling is that Jackson and Ogden went too far with the transfer stories and now the wider press are suffering as a result. If Ducker thinks that Vidal isn't happening that's because he hasn't heard anything. I don't think the English media will be first to any United transfer story this Summer so I wouldn't necessarily believe that a transfer isn't happening because the Manchester based journalists say it's not and Herrera and Shaw have proved that.

I'm not going to believe anything this Summer until the club confirms it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

Now that Adidas are officially onboard, let the mockups begin

BbCdTkV.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,591 ✭✭✭✭kippy

glued wrote: »
    I'm not going to believe anything this Summer until the club confirms it.

Best practice any Summer tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

I know its just rumours but it seems Zaha could be on his way out, really wanted to see him given a chance, surely he should have been given one last year. And would love to see Powell given some game time this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

That third jersey mock up looks quite like our old Sharp one we wore winning the Cup Winners Cup. Quite like it.

Great to see the deal being done and more importantly our annual debt interest fee being reduced. Hopefully this will allow us to push on and spend on investing in the team over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭NeVeR

The Last World Cup Sweeps post :D

Well done and thanks to all who took part.

Below are the winners.

Winners: Germany - Liam O
    Runners Up: Argentina - NeVeR

Most yellow cards in group stages €20 - Honduras -- LostBoy101
    1st Red Card €20 - Uruguay -- Gadge
    1st OG €20 - Croatia -- ninja900
    1st Peno €20 - Brazil -- markc1184
    Worst goal difference in group stages. €20 - Cameroon -- bennyl10

If anyone would like to review and make sure I'm correct please do. Can the winners please PM me your Paypal email address and I'll send the winnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

Now that Adidas are officially onboard, let the mockups begin

BbCdTkV.png

I know its the money that matters but dam that chevrolet logo looks horrendous. Cant see there being a really nice looking kit with that thing on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭NotorietyH

NeVeR wrote: »

Below are the winners.

If anyone would like to review and make sure I'm correct please do. Can the winners please PM me your Paypal email address and I'll send the winnings.

Ivory Coast had 7 yellow cards too in the group stage. I was doing the office sweepstakes here in work and that was one of the prizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

NeVeR wrote: »

Below are the winners.

Well done to all the winners and to NeVeR for organising it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Team | Manufacturer | Per Year | Years | Total
    Manchester United | Adidas | £75M| 10 | £750M
    Real Madrid| Adidas | £31M | 8| £248M
    Chelsea | Adidas|£30M|10|£300M
    Arsenal | Puma|£30|5|£170M
    Barcelona | Nike|£27M|10|£270M
    Liverpool | Warrior| £25M| 6| £150M
    Manchester City|Nike|£12M|6|£72M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Suprised Bayern arnt in that list. Actually love Adidas jerseys, can't wait to see what comes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Unsung Hero

A staggering amount of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,941 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

TheDoc wrote: »
    Suprised Bayern arnt in that list. Actually love Adidas jerseys, can't wait to see what comes out.
    They should be.
    http://www.sportspromedia.com/news/adidas_and_bayern_munich_renew_kit_deal_for_eight_years/
    The reigning Bundesliga champions have signed an eight-year extension to their current deal with Adidas, which expires at the end of the 2011/12 soccer season, taking them through to 2020.

German newspaper Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung reported that the deal is worth a total US$289 million, around US$36 million per season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

I like seeing that the whole Manchester City deal is worth less than 1 year of ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I like seeing that the whole Manchester City deal is worth less than 1 year of ours.

And rightfully so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

How could they(Adidas) justify that amount of money :pac: it doesn't make sense from a business perspective

Ed is a fecking genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

My own theory is that we are still in for Vidal, but are doing it themid 90s way rather then the last few years way.

We do have a fight on our hands no question.

But the sponsorship deal is as good as a signing today.

Huge figure. Its actually scary how much.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Headshot wrote: »
    And rightfully so

They've won two league titles since that deal was signed though and with them no comfortably in the CL every year, you'd expect their next one to be a fair bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

How could they(Adidas) justify that amount of money :pac: it doesn't make sense from a business perspective

Ed is a fecking genius!

They have said that they expect sales to amount to 1.5 billion over the course of the ten years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Ed is a fecking genius!

If you think about it, as a sports clothing brand the best possible thing you can do is have the top sports professionals in the world wearing your stuff on the field.

It's more surprising to me that Nike would let it go at any cost. If you're selling sportswear I'd have though that kind of prestige is the most important thing in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Delboy5

More speculation but the front page of the La Gazetta Dello Sport has a picture of Vidal with headline Done Dealio Manchester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭uggybear

BT Sport have announced that they're showing United's first game of the season at home to Swansea exclusively live on tv, pity that the channel is part of the $etanta package

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Delboy5 wrote: »
    More speculation but the front page of the La Gazetta Dello Sport has a picture of Vidal with headline Done Dealio Manchester.

Photshopped picture