Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 *mod warning linked in OP 26/07*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

He's nuttier than a squirrels sh1t!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

indykaila News ‏@indykaila 15m
    We have been told if Liverpool was in London, Alexis Sánchez would had signed for Liverpool. #LFC

This lad is a right laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,621 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Fescue wrote: »
    This lad is a right laugh.

Wouldn't they be called London then :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

Lucas Moura from PSG anyone? Also agree with the previous shouts for Tevez. Quality player and quite similar to Suarez in talent, work rates and behaviour :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Titi Camara ‏@TitiCamara22 25m When I left Liverpool not many people thought I could have been replaced. Liverpool will survive without Suarez
    As Titi said, we just about managed without him.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

5starpool wrote: »
    Tell his family to live in London then! He can visit them occasionally.

Also, those Barca kit pictures are not from their club shop apparently, just some sports shop that has decided to try and pre-empt things (although it is sadly pretty inevitable. I wonder will the ban reduction to a month be announced before or after the transfer?

What ban?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Jaysus, Sanchez would be in London quite a bit with his family if he brought them to away matches. Then he wouldn't have to actually live in London. Which to me would be a bonus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

He could live in London and commute everyday in the Babelcopter :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

Am I right in thinking that Milan got Ballotelli for 25 million european dollars?
    At that price or a few mil more I'd be happy for Rodgers to take a punt on him if he thought he had a chance of helping him reach his potential.

I don't see us going balls to the wall for an out and out striker though. In a bizarre way I think losing Suarez will allow Brendan to implement his grand plan that he might have envisioned from the start of his tenure.
    He had two lads that were banging in goals for fun and he simply had to accomadate 2 strikers, Danny's goals while Luis was suspended perhaps forced his arm.

Whatever way he decides to set up this season I believe he's earned the right and privilege to do as he sees fit, I'm cautiously optimistic that circumstance was only a coincedence.

From everything I've seen Rodgers has that 'succeed or die trying' thing about him, there won't be any half measures. You can be damn sure that his goal this season is to win the league. I don't see any of the self preservation traits in him, a massive season for him and the club ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

2m47ew8.jpg

There's only one Gordon Gekko around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

He could live in London and commute everyday in the Babelcopter :P

Doesn't Andy Carroll commute from Newcastle to London, and back home for lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭viper006

I really thought last week we had a great shout of getting Sanchez. Losing a world class player in Suarez is such a big blow but for the transfer to result in strengthening one of main rivals to boot with Sanchez going to arsenal is actually a nightmare scenario. He'll b a huge signing for them while in same breath we are losing a hugely important player.

Sick and tired of almost getting the likes of Sanchez,kono,willian and Mkhitaryan only to lose them and the last despite so many of media saying done deal .in contrast the stories I hope that aren't true like spending almost 70m on louvren,lallana and markovic seems to be happening.

Sounds really negative but gutted on how it all playing out in this window so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭jasonb

Just two things that have been rolling around my mind...

1. I'm getting more and more annoyed at FIFA, it really feels like they're dragging out the appeal for Suarez's ban until he's sold, and it just stinks of looking after the 'special' clubs (i.e. Barcelona). I'm not into conspiracy theories at all, but when it comes to FIFA, accusing them of being corrupt is hardly 'out there'. I wish they'd just come out and deal with the appeal.

2. Suarez is irreplaceable, there's no point denying that, but we should be really happy with Sturridge, I don't quite understand the doubt/fear about him. He's scored 31 goals in 43 league appearances. He scored more league goals last year than Owen ever did in a season, and only Suarez, Torres (in his first season) and Fowler got more in one season in the last 20 years. Yes, he's been playing in a great attacking Liverpool side, which is always going to help, and yes, he had Suarez beside him, which is also always going to help. But he's a great player, if he'd got 21 last season without Suarez getting 31 we'd be lauding him as our star! I'm not saying we won't miss Suarez, any team would, but we still have goal scorers at the club, including the guy who got the second highest total last season...

J.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 139 ✭✭HaveASnickers

75m for Suarez is incredible. Liverpool have to be laughing with that tbh.

Ye'll have to go for quality rather than potential with a chunk of that money though if you want to stay top 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

I used to love titi camera, what ever happened to him, where did he go to after us and why the fcuk did we get rid of him at all??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,621 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

75m for Suarez is incredible. Liverpool have to be laughing with that tbh.

Ye'll have to go for quality rather than potential with a chunk of that money though if you want to stay top 4.

We just need to make sure Sturridge keeps his form, and has a great support crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,998 ✭✭✭✭8-10

shamrock55 wrote: »
    I used to love titi camera, what ever happened to him, where did he go to after us and why the fcuk did we get rid of him at all??

Was it West Ham?

Edit: It was! For some reason I remember the transfer. From wikipedia:
    "I've come to West Ham to play, play, play – and score, score, score. If it was a question of money, I could have stayed at Liverpool and picked it up. I need to play, and if I don't it is totally pointless."

Camara went on to play only fourteen games, in all competitions, without scoring at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Griezmann would be a very nice alternative to Sanchez. All seems quiet with links to him though.

If we want to get in a big name player or two we better do it this Summer while we have the funds and the attraction of CL football. No guarantees we will have it next Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

I'd love Sanchez at Liverpool would suit the style of play perfectly but it's unbelievable the difference 4 good games at a world cup have on people's opinion of him as a player. There was a fair bit of indifference towards him on here prior to the world cup if I recall correctly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Is it that our transfer kitty was what we've spent so far on Can, Lambert, Lallana, Origi and then whatever we get for Suarez on top or are we spending what we think we'll get for Suarez now before prices go up and those 4 signings are eating up what we might get for Chewie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Augmerson wrote: »
    Is it that our transfer kitty was what we've spent so far on Can, Lambert, Lallana, Origi and then whatever we get for Suarez on top or are we spending what we think we'll get for Suarez now before prices go up and those 4 signings are eating up what we might get for Chewie?

Apparently all the money being spent now is outside of any extra bob we'll get from Suarez money :)

Wow. Have to say that makes me feel a lot better. Not so worried now. If the 75m sterling being touted is correct then we'd be able to afford one serious name or two great players.

Oh god I hope I'm not wrong now after getting your hopes up :o I think someone said it a few pages back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

shamrock55 wrote: »

He had this great ability to dribble around opposing defenders, then inexplicably fall over

Oh god I hope I'm not wrong now after getting your hopes up :o I think someone said it a few pages back :)

It makes sense and I do recall a story about John Henry giving BR 60m sterling to spend this summer well before the Suarez transfer saga reignited.

Overall when you put that in perspective, things look good.

The signings so far strengthen the squad, give us good options from the bench.

Our options from the bench last year...Moses, Aspas....Not very encouraging at all. I'd go as far to saw that on two occasions those players cost us big time. Lambert, Lallana and Can will be much better. Hopefully we bring in Lovren and Markovic.

The important thing then is we spend that 75m sterling properly. We have to learn from what happened to Spurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Ben Smith tweeted earlier that money already spent isn't part of the incoming Suarez cash.

The important thing then is we spend that 75m sterling properly. We have to learn from what happened to Spurs.

Definitely, I'd prefer two brilliant players with the money than six decent ones.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Echo's Pearce on Talksport: #Rodgers has options, #Coutinho and #Sterling, and #Markovic. #Rodgers expected to bring in another striker.

#LFC looked at #Shaqiri very closely and opened talks before the World Cup but I'm not convinced they're still in the market for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Dreading next season- our team looks so mediocre. I thought after finishing 2nd we'd be signing household names like mandzukic and Sanchez not Lallana and markovic