Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Anyone hear anything on Vidal?

I have heard he has made his mind up and we will see devlopment pretty soon

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Anyone hear anything on Vidal?

I have heard he has made his mind up and we will see devlopment pretty soon

Where did you hear this? Are United in the running??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

Fellaini is being scapegoated exactly as Cleverly was last season. He has not been that bad in this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Was this posted before?

Ronaldo said he really misses Manchester United and English football, and some of the best years of his career were at United.
    But goes onto say his his life is in Spain and he is enjoying it there and part of his life is there, but then questions it with 'the future we never know'.
    But he is 'really really happy in the Spanish league at the moment.'

A very unreliable source says United are in (not so) secret talks to re-sign Ronaldo.
    http://www.caughtoffside.com/2014/07/05/exclusive-man-united-in-secret-talks-to-re-sign-cristiano-ronaldo-in-sensational-70m-deal-as-real-madrid-target-james-rodriguez-as-replacement/
    They claim RM are prepared to sell Ronaldo back to United for £70 million, to fund the purchases of James Rodriguez and Radamel Falcao.

Rumours are United could turn attention to Carvalho instead of Vidal, Juventus it is claimed wants £45 million plus Nani, meaning Vidal would cost £53m to £55 million, which United are believed to see as too high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Montroseee wrote: »
    Fellaini is being scapegoated exactly as Cleverly was last season. He has not been that bad in this game.

Far from the worst on the pitch. Hazard and Alderweireld are well ahead of him for that honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭SeanJ09

Far from the worst on the pitch. Hazard and Alderweireld are well ahead of him for that honour.

Hazard has been shocking at this WC. Fellani has at least been decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭KH25

Here's what I hate about Fellaini. He's a big tall lad, yet he can't win a bloody header or shield the ball properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭SeanJ09

"When you have a big mop of hair like that, you are more likely to get picked on"- Brian Kerr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭OdgeXD

Montroseee wrote: »

That's an unfair comparison, Cleverly was absolutely dreadful last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

KH25 wrote: »
    Here's what I hate about Fellaini. He's a big tall lad, yet he can't win a bloody header or shield the ball properly.
    There's hope for us all lads. If Fellaini can be a pro footballer, anyone can.

If you want to criticize him would you not find something that is actually true to criticize him for?

IrishIrish wrote: »
    If you want to criticize him would you not find something that is actually true to criticize him for?

Have you watched him all season? He's dire. He was grand for Everton up front when his job was to get in the way and make defenders uncomfortable. As a midfielder he's a dreadful player. Far, far below United standard.

As I type this now he'll probably get a goal.... :P

Have you watched him all season? He's dire. He was grand for Everton up front when his job was to get in the way and make defenders uncomfortable. As a midfielder he's a dreadful player. Far, far below United standard.

Yeh he's had a bad season, like 95% of the whole united squad. He's not dire, he's a very good player and been one of the best midfielders in the premier league over the past few years. I don't think he's united standard but that is a different argument. I didn't want him in the first place but I remember plenty of people on this thread wanting Fellaini for years before he actually arrived.

I think he is a nice squad player to have, although obviously expensive (Which wasn't his fault). As was mentioned earlier he is just being made a scapegoat for the past season. If he is still at united next season I'd expect him to be a much more effective player in a more settled and motivated team.

Yeh he's had a bad season, like 95% of the whole united squad. He's not dire, he's a very good player and been one of the best midfielders in the premier league over the past few years. I don't think he's united standard but that is a different argument. I didn't want him in the first place but I remember plenty of people on this thread wanting Fellaini for years before he actually arrived.

I think he is a nice squad player to have, although obviously expensive (Which wasn't his fault). As was mentioned earlier he is just being made a scapegoat for the past season. If he is still at united next season I'd expect him to be a much more effective player in a more settled and motivated team.

We are never going to agree on this. He is an awful midfielder. He was at his best for Everton playing up front. As a midfielder he leaves far too much to be desired.

I'm not a big fan of him at all, I just think the criticism of him is ridiculous at times. People looking for reasons non stop to give out about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Wonder if we will make a move for vermaelen now that Belgium are out.
    Still think it's bizarre that we are linked with him.

I'm not a big fan of him at all, I just think the criticism of him is ridiculous at times. People looking for reasons non stop to give out about him.

Trust me, I would absolutely love to see him be a great player but I just don't think he has it in him to play for any top team. I will agree with you that sometimes people can be over the top about him, myself included. But he just isnt that good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

Just on this point, every now and then there is a time when plan a and b are not getting the job done so why not keep him around (not ideally financially I admit) for situations such as the above, as you said it worked well for Everton and let's face it he is good at occupying the opposition CB when needs be....

It's an option is all I'm saying and I think last season proved he will not be our answer to a midfield enforcer... But in a 'get in the faces of the CB' capacity he has that in him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

Just on this point, every now and then there is a time when plan a and b are not getting the job done so why not keep him around (not ideally financially I admit) for situations such as the above, as you said it worked well for Everton and let's face it he is good at occupying the opposition CB when needs be....

It's an option is all I'm saying and I think last season proved he will not be our answer to a midfield enforcer... But in a 'get in the faces of the CB' capacity he has that in him

Did you see any of the match today?

The only person occupied by Fellaini was Brian Kerr and his hair fetish.

He was useless as Plan A, B (..& C if there was one) for Belgium today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Fellaini is worse than Cleverly. There, I've said it. At least Cleverly can pass the ball sideways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Cleverly scapegoated for last season? He didn't need to be scapegoated, he was just rubbish. For once I agree with the RTE panel when they said what does Fellaini do? I thought it was a United thing, but he's now shown on the world stage that it's just him. I thought Belgium were very disappointing today, Hazard was atrocious but since he doesn't play for United, I don't particularly care. I can't see what Fellani brings to United or Belgium and I'll be really surprised if he remains a United player in the long term.

Zico wrote: »
    Did you see any of the match today?

The only person occupied by Fellaini was Brian Kerr and his hair fetish.

He was useless as Plan A, B (..& C if there was one) for Belgium today.

To be fair that's one match and he played CM along side Witsel, I'm talking about his Everton days when he did cause disruption in the opposition box...

I'm not saying either that he is an option from the start but there are those games where he could be useful when needs be.

Edit.... Just to be clear, I don't want to see him next nor near our CM in any capacity next season, I'm talking only sub to mix it up when it calls for it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭CathalRyano

Will people ever start realising it's Cleverley and not Cleverly is the real important question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

I think one of the main problems with Fellini in this World Cup was that he didn't have a clearly defined role and position. He just floated around the pitch.

To get the most out of him, you have either play him off the striker or sitting in front of a back four for the entire game.

Otherwise he isn't much use. And I think that's the crux of it; united won't play him up top, and we don't play so defensive as to need a deep lying CM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Rio got asked at halftime during Belgium/USA game what was Fell's best position he replied behind the striker. (Rooney,Mata,Kags,Adnan) all well ahead of him for that position.

We are well stacked in that position. I think it's best for Fell himself that he seeks a transfer from United to get on with his career instead of sitting on the bench with us.

Will people ever start realising it's Cleverley and not Cleverly is the real important question.

88046_grammar-nazi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

If Plan A doesn't work, plan B should be a change in formation or personnel. Somewhere around the letter 'X' should hoofball up to Fellaini become an option.

He hasn't the ability to play for us so he'll more than likely moved on.

If Plan A doesn't work, plan B should be a change in formation or personnel. Somewhere around the letter 'X' should hoofball up to Fellaini become an option.

He hasn't the ability to play for us so he'll more than likely moved on.

Yeah maybe, still.... It's an option.....

He just gives us that something different up there and there are situations that call for that...

But I do agree that him starting or even being first option to change a game would be down the list,far down the list but an option. One the less

I have an obvious inclination to see Holland continue to do well at this World Cup. But then my other side is saying, ffs Holland lose the fecking game and let The Iron Tulip get home to Old Trafford ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I want Van Gaal to come back and be 'Manchester United and World Cup winning manager'. And I want Van Persie to be 'Manchester United's World Cup winning striker'.

Keno wrote: »
    I want Van Gaal to come back and be 'Manchester United and World Cup winning manager'. And I want Van Persie to be 'Manchester United's World Cup winning striker'.

Yes I see the appeal and the logic, I'm just seriously inpatient at this stage. I wish there was a tournament fast forward button.