Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

RedRunner wrote: »
    I got a couple of hellos running home from work today. Must be just you P. ;)
    Or probably just because you are going so fast these days...they don't get a chance :D

maybe yaboya is running on the south side? It's much harder to wring a hello from passing runners when I'm running around work in rathgar than when I'm running on the north side. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

HelenAnne wrote: »
    maybe yaboya is running on the south side? It's much harder to wring a hello from passing runners when I'm running around work in rathgar than when I'm running on the north side. :)

No, I'm running on the northside. Maybe the locals can spot that I'm just an imposter from the Southside though? :pac:

yaboya1 wrote: »
    No, I'm running on the northside. Maybe the locals can spot that I'm just an imposter from the Southside though? :pac:

I'd say that's it -- we have an eye for these things! :pac:

But really, it is weird, isn't it, when people don't say hello. Generally, I find, the over 50s (esp much older men) say hello. When I first started running I used to pass a group of men in their 70s, I'd say, on Saturday mornings. In the summer half of them would have their tops off, they were all in short shorts etc. they'd ALWAYS say hello, and things like 'go on, good girl' (which I would not be happy to hear from someone my own age, but I suppose 'girl' is ok from people their age). Anyay, i really liked the hellos and encouragement and it was one of the things that really made me feel like a runner when I started. So I always say hello to people, esp people who look like beginners.

I'd say that's it -- we have an eye for these things! :pac:

But really, it is weird, isn't it, when people don't say hello. Generally, I find, the over 50s (esp much older men) say hello. When I first started running I used to pass a group of men in their 70s, I'd say, on Saturday mornings. In the summer half of them would have their tops off, they were all in short shorts etc. they'd ALWAYS say hello, and things like 'go on, good girl' (which I would not be happy to hear from someone my own age, but I suppose 'girl' is ok from people their age). Anyay, i really liked the hellos and encouragement and it was one of the things that really made me feel like a runner when I started. So I always say hello to people, esp people who look like beginners.

It's the beginners who ignore me most. I get more replies from the seasoned runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

It's the beginners who ignore me most. I get more replies from the seasoned runners.

I kinda understand that though. When I started running I was so self conscious and wouldn't look another runner in the eye. Head down and hoping they'd pass as quickly as possible. I felt they must be thinking how ridiculous I look. I know now that it was all in my head.
    Like HelenAnne older men always say hi. Beginners very rarely. Experienced looking men, usually. Experienced looking women , rarely. Kids, never.
    I always say hi but if I don't get a response on first lap I don't bother if passing them again.

Me too. But I find I pass the same people all the time either around home or work. Persistent 'hello-ing' and mad smiling from me eventually yields results!

Ososlo wrote: »
    I kinda understand that though. When I started running I was so self conscious and wouldn't look another runner in the eye. Head down and hoping they'd pass as quickly as possible. I felt they must be thinking how ridiculous I look. I know now that it was all in my head.
    Like HelenAnne older men always say hi. Beginners very rarely. Experienced looking men, usually. Experienced looking women , rarely. Kids, never.
    I always say hi but if I don't get a response on first lap I don't bother if passing them again.

I've passed Maria McCambridge a few times and she generally smiles or nods or says hi.

(When I say 'passed', I mean going the opposite way, rather than 'overtaken')

Me too. But I find I pass the same people all the time either around home or work. Persistent 'hello-ing' and mad smiling from me eventually yields results!

Fair enough, but it's never happened to me on home turf. Just saying...:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck in the morning RR, hopefully we'll be both finishing at the same time.

Enjoy the race tomorrow RR.
    What's the target?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

tang1 wrote: »
    Best of luck in the morning RR, hopefully we'll be both finishing at the same time.

Best of luck to you too. Keep an eye out for me in the starting pen. I'm the long lad in my club t-shirt and luminous blue and yellow brooks Racers!

Enjoy the race tomorrow RR.
    What's the target?

Thanks P. If I can hold 7 min mile pace ill be ecstatic. If I can do a low 36:xx I'll be happy enough too because of preparation. Main goal is not to f$@k myself up cos marathon training starts Monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Good luck tomorrow. Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Best of luck tomo RR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,855 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Have a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

How did you get on R

Friday 27th

Rested and stretched and rested and stretched some more.

Saturday 28th - Irish Runner 5 Mile

Had been flip flopping all week whether to do this one or not with the niggle still niggling away but decided to bite the bullet in the end and just go into it without any pressure of doing anything special.

Going into this race my PB was 35:42 (Raheny5 2014) and I had run this race on the same course (I think it was anyway) in 36:30 so anything in the high 35s low 36s I would have been satisfied with and above all to come through it unscathed so I can at least start my marathon plan on Monday not injured.

Met a few clubmates around the baggage area and went off for a few lengths of furze road as a warmup where I met Tang1, or rather he spotted me. Had a good chat and along came "The King" looking focused and all set. A sub 30 in the far recesses of his mind but which later seems to have surfaced and was boldly accomplished. Super stuff.

The Tang/RR smackdown was to be put on hold as I was not putting any pressure on myself today so felt fairly relaxed about the race . Headed up to the sub 40 min pen /Wave 1 and then had to exit stage left again for last minute pit stop behind a tree. Back in the pen and then Murph_D showed up too so a fair few of the boards gang were there. After a brief shower of rain before the race the conditions were now near perfect for the race, if a little warm but not too warm.

The race started soon after and we were off, great to be racing again. It wasn't long until Tang1 was streaking away and got separated by some slower runners fairly quickly. I lost him before we turned the first corner and wouldn't see him again until the finish.

Felt quite comfortable in the first mile trying not to get too carried away and just keep it in around 7min/mile pace. The glute/hamstring (which I will call the Glammy from here on)wasn't causing any issues except it was there lurking in the background, just a little tight. Would it hold for the race only time would tell. First mile completed in 6:49

For second mile it was just more of the same, trying to keep an even pace, whilst trying to take advantage of this been the faster part of the course. Lots of people passing me and I was passing lots of people at this stage. Usual stuff in the early part of these races. Mile 2 done in 6:54

I'm really happy at this point and feeling quite comfortable and surprising myself a little bit. Coming down the Khyber I was just conserving the energy and letting the hill do the work as I prepared for the uphill afterwards.The first hill required some effort but I wasn't wrecked at the top of it like other years so this was great. Just tried to keep the effort the same. Pace dropped to the 7:30s here but still all good. Mile 3 :7:07

At this stage was still feeling reasonably good and was beginning to allow myself thoughts of a possible PB but had to just concentrate on keeping the effort good up the drag of the last section of the course. Keeping the ship steady and really pleased with myself haven't struggled at all yet. THe glammy was behaving insofar as it wasn't giving me any pain. Was carrying it a bit and was probably affecting my stride but had no problem running with it. At around this stage I think I passed Pistol_75. Gave him a shout out so hope it was him! I was feeling good still the legs had no signs of jellyness yet. Mile 4 : 7:12

Hadn't actually run in the park since this race last year so wasn't fully remembering where the turn for home was. When the turn came for Furze road it caught me a bit by surprise as I thought there might be another hill. I was coasting a bit here and in hindsight could possibly and upped the pace a bit earlier than I eventually did. Coming into the home straight when I caught a glimpse of the Finishing arch I started to ramp it up a bit. Another runner just ahead of me saw me do this and then sprinted off like I was going to beat him up or something. I let him do his thing and just trued to gradually increase the pace know the glammy could start complaining but it didn't and when we got to about 200m from the end I glanced at the watch and saw it was it 34 something. I knew sub 35 wasn't on but thought I put a last burst in to try and get as close as possible because a pb was definitely on now. Found some reserves and finished extremely strong flying through the finish line and then walked over to the grass for a now customary wretch. It read 35:18 on the watch, a 24 second PB and over a minute faster than same race last year. Soooo happy with that!

Last mile (and a bit); 7:07, (4:11)

Official Chip Time 35:18 - New PB!

So ecstatic it is and delighted too that Tang1 got his sub 35.Definitely more to come from you Tang. "The King" didn't fcuk it up and delivered yet again. Met another possible Boardsie after the finish but not sure , one of the organisers of StAnnes ParkRun. Hope all the other Boards people ran good races and are as happy as I am today!

Marathon training starts Monday...bring it on!

Warmup : 1.16miles @9:46

Race : 5.03miles @7:01

WTD|25.57
    MTD|121.63
    YTD|939.57

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Great pb, well done. And a great read too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Great day for the race reports :)

Well done R. Delighted for you !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Great race and savage to PB on that route R, plenty more to come from you by years end. Real pleasure to meet you this morning at last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,855 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice one Robbie - well done on yet another PB and coming through in one piece! (By the way, the mystery parkrun guy is FBOT01.)

Murph_D wrote: »
    Nice one Robbie - well done on yet another PB and coming through in one piece! (By the way, the mystery parkrun guy is FBOT01.)

Ah thanks D. Had been thinking about it afterwards and reckoned it might be FBOT01 alright. Thanks for the confirmation!

Congrats RR super stuff . Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Great run and report...nice PB to boot. Good to meet you briefly after the race. Good luck with the marathon training. PB in the first race of the series is a great start:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Great result! Bodes well for the rest of the season.

Sunday 29th June

Short recovery run. Legs a bit heavy and stiff this morning. The left hamstring was a very tight , more so than the troublesome side. I'm assuming probably from that side compensating for the lack of mobility on the other side. The recovery run was just the ticket though to loosen up the legs and they felt a lot better after the run.

Had my 10 yr old along for the spin as he was on his bike. Trying to explain the advantages of running slow in a recovery run to him as he asked me why I was running so slow!:) Not the easiest this to do. the "Uhh ok!" response declared his obvious lack of interest in the topic as he sped off on his bike, clearing the way ahead.

4.26miles @9:31

WTD|29.83
    MTD|125.89
    YTD|943.83

Monday 30th June

Had been feeling crap all day. Had a migraine yesterday after my run and it still lingered today. Had thoughts of bailing on the planned run home from work but happy I did it even though I wasn't feeling the love during the run.

Feel awful now so hopefully it will work its way out of the system before tomorrow's run. Marathon training has officially started and I'm stocked up on the beetroot juice.

6.26miles @8:43

WTD|6.26
    MTD|132.15
    YTD|950.09

Monday 30th June
    I'm stocked up on the beetroot juice.

6.26miles @8:43

WTD|6.26
    MTD|132.15
    YTD|950.09

Hope your feeling better tomorrow RR. When do you take the beetroot juice? I've read some good stuff about it but it one food I cannot face eating unless it will make me faster of course :D

DOCO12 wrote: »
    Hope your feeling better tomorrow RR. When do you take the beetroot juice? I've read some good stuff about it but it one food I cannot face eating unless it will make me faster of course :D

Thanks DOCO. It'll be grand, when I get them they usually pass within 24/48hrs.

I take a glass of it in the morning for breakfast. Just make sure you brush your teeth after though or everything will be pink!:)

I get the 1 litre carton from Holland&Barretts organic stuff that's got a little bit of apple juice in it. It's called "Beet it" I tried it out as an experiment during London marathon plan and I think it helped so now I try and use it in the build up to big races and top it off with a beet shot in the morning of the race. I've PB'd every time! I'm sure the training has something to do with too though.

I think AMK uses it too
    But I think that's because he read somewhere it slows down the
    ageing process

It's an acquired taste but I like the pickled beetroot like you get in a jar and have with salad. You get used to it. And as you say, if it helps you to run faster, its worth a go.

Thanks DOCO. It'll be grand, when I get them they usually pass within 24/48hrs.

I take a glass of it in the morning for breakfast. Just make sure you brush your teeth after though or everything will be pink!:)

I get the 1 litre carton from Holland&Barretts organic stuff that's got a little bit of apple juice in it. It's called "Beet it" I tried it out as an experiment during London marathon plan and I think it helped so now I try and use it in the build up to big races and top it off with a beet shot in the morning of the race. I've PB'd every time! I'm sure the training has something to do with too though.

I think AMK uses it too
    But I think that's because he read somewhere it slows down the
    ageing process

It's an acquired taste but I like the pickled beetroot like you get in a jar and have with salad. You get used to it. And as you say, if it helps you to run faster, its worth a go.

Thanks for the info. I'll have to add it to my shopping list. And ensure I've the toothbrush on hand :D