Irish open 2014 @ Fota thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Seemed to be a great day there. Good man, GMac. Well ground out at the end by Harrington. Can't wait for tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

Heading down to this tomorrow, anyone recommend good places to sit/stand?

The area between the 12 green & the 13th tee. Good view of the players coming down on 12, the green & the entire 13th, also behind the 13th green as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Nice to see John Kelly have a 68.

Would love to see him have an under par round and finish in top 30 / 25 - would be an incredible achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Nice to see John Kelly have a 68.

Would love to see him have an under par round and finish in top 30 / 25 - would be an incredible achievement.

He played some really lovely golf today, I followed him and Santos. For a while in the round he looked like he couldn't buy a putt. The only real error was on 14 left himself right rough and caught the top of the wedge through the rough and left himself short in the bunker.

In other news I'm absolutely f'ed I followed Kelly for the 18 then followed Harro for 17 just wanted to catch GMac finish. Then played Old Head. Am sitting out on the Balcony of the clubhouse with a near 360 deg view of the sea mainly for 2 reasons. 1 it's fantastic and 2 I can't move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

m r c wrote: »
    He played some really lovely golf today, I followed him and Santos. For a while in the round he looked like he couldn't buy a putt. The only real error was on 14 left himself right rough and caught the top of the wedge through the rough and left himself short in the bunker.

In other news I'm absolutely f'ed I followed Kelly for the 18 then followed Harro for 17 just wanted to catch GMac finish. Then played Old Head. Am sitting out on the Balcony of the clubhouse with a near 360 deg view of the sea mainly for 2 reasons. 1 it's fantastic and 2 I can't move.

What a day. Well maybe a bit much. But wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Driving around a Sky camera team for the last three days. Cameraman, aerial man, sound girl and me in the buggy. I also help with the camera tripod around the greens. Following Rock and Ilonen today. Hope to be on the lead group again tomorrow. Keep an eye out for me, although you shouldn't see me on telly if I'm doing my job right. Full report when I get back to Galway. Unreal experience for a golf fan. Thank you Mr Sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭big_drive

Anyone know what today's attendance was?

@ mrc

how did old head come about ?

Every course must be packed with lads down looking for a game ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,076 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

big_drive wrote: »
    Anyone know what today's attendance was?

28,000 I heard

@ mrc

how did old head come about ?

Every course must be packed with lads down looking for a game ?

Not at the money they were asking. The asked €170 for the twilight rate.

I got it for less.

It was a big one on my bucket list is the reason I wanted to play it. Being a stingy fecker I decided that as I had already paid for the hotel and was free for the evening I'd kill the two birds :-)

Going by some of the courses you have said you loved I'd really urge you to go play it. My first thoughts on the place were " I can't believe this is in Ireland"

The scenery and setting are totally breath taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Was gmacs and harringtons birdies on 16 make it on telly? Great buzz off crowd for that

Not at the money they were asking. The asked €170 for the twilight rate.

I got it for less.

It was a big one on my bucket list is the reason I wanted to play it. Being a stingy fecker I decided that as I had already paid for the hotel and was free for the evening I'd kill the two birds :-)

Going by some of the courses you have said you loved I'd really urge you to go play it. My first thoughts on the place were " I can't believe this is in Ireland"

The scenery and setting are totally breath taking.

Have - did a review of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,810 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Was a pleasure to be there today.

Course is terrific.

only downside was getting train back, the crush in que was bit mental, but otherwise a very enjoyable day out. Got there at 9.30 and say some great shots like Wattels out of the woods at 4th.

would go again if I could tomorrow. boo:(

EVENFLOW

Anyone else notice how narky Clarke got up around the 16th green. He missed short right and got fairly thick. We all laughed tbh.
    I was sure that would put him off but he hit a beaut on 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

would go again if I could tomorrow. boo:(

Open singles Monday week Kew - same pins as tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,810 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Anyone else notice how narky Clarke got up around the 16th green. He missed short right and got fairly thick. We all laughed tbh.

what happened? saw him on 15 before leaders came out

EVENFLOW

Corkblowin wrote: »

hmm you might have bookmarked my plans for that day:)

EVENFLOW

Good scoring conditions so far.

Fisher - 4 after 7
    Siem -4 after 10.

Good finish with about 10 players that could go low and win.

http://www.europeantour.com/europeantour/season=2014/tournamentid=2014048/leaderboard/index.html

In fairness it is all a bit daft and cheesy.

But the effort that Sky have gone to promote this event is unreal.

All the top guys covering this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

I miss you Ivor Robson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,823 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

G-Mac comes across as a very sound lad. Hope he wins.

Hoey on a roll, eagle on 10 after birdies on 3,4,and 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

In fairness it is all a bit daft and cheesy.

But the effort that Sky have gone to promote this event is unreal.

All the top guys covering this.

Sky have been great for this one and the country in terms of bigging it up for tourism, particularly Ewan Murray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Corkblowin wrote: »

Same tees ?

Harrington birdie, birdie start to the back 9, -1 for the day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

What in the hell was that young lad thinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭big_drive

What in the hell was that young lad thinking!

That was fairly daft. Must say the spectators have been very good though. I was there all day yesterday plus the pro am. There was no messing going on which was good to see. Everyone well behaved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Followed him on the back 9, he was fairly grumpy alright. His approach shot on 12 cracked a fella on the arm with no shout of fore, didn't see if he offered him a glove or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

RikkFlair wrote: »
    Followed him on the back 9, he was fairly grumpy alright. His approach shot on 12 cracked a fella on the arm with no shout of fore, didn't see if he offered him a glove or anything.

No surprise tbh. Clarke has always had a rep for being a bit of an arseh0le...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Lovely putt by Zanotti.

Shame G Mac couldn't follow it up.

The greens just not being good to him this week.