Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

Getting £15m from Chelsea for him was good business to be fair.

...and he turned out to be an even worse signing for them!:)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Soldie

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Blind had 3 assists so far.
    Justsayin

You might say... he's playing a blinder.

horatio-caine-shades.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Why do people not see any chance of Blind going to Utd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Regarding this rumoured interest in Valencia from Liverpool, I think he would be a smashing player for them and would definitely worry if we were to sell him to them (not)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Liverpool are not interested in Valencia and you all know it! Its Sanchez we're after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Manchester United ‏@ManUtd 1m
    BREAKING: We're delighted to announce Antonio Valencia (@7AntoV) has signed a new three-year deal at #mufc. More: http://bit.ly/1lHfaHm

Feck sake :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

This summer just goes from bad to worse. Valencia has signed a new 3 year deal. Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

mike65 wrote: »
    Liverpool are not interested in Valencia and you all know it! Its Sanchez we're after.

And you won't get him without sending the greatest player in the history of the world ever, the other way.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Manchester United ‏@ManUtd 1m
    BREAKING: We're delighted to announce Antonio Valencia (@7AntoV) has signed a new three-year deal at #mufc. More: http://bit.ly/1lHfaHm

Feck sake :mad:

3 goals in the World Cup shows his class and ability. He'll be a new player under LVG. The main thing we all have to understand is that we need to hold on to our world beaters and Valencia is certainly one of them yes I know it's the other Valencia that scored and ours is poo but shur nothing else is going on we are not signing Toni Kroos.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Love the timing....

Sigh.

Realistically, if he's decreased to squad player, grand. If LVG thinks he can motivate him, fine, whatever. But I really don't want to see him first team week in, week out, no matter how bad he is....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

kryogen wrote: »
    Regarding this rumoured interest in Valencia from Liverpool, I think he would be a smashing player for them and would definitely worry if we were to sell him to them (not)

Crisis Over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

If Tony is going to be around then he better start asking his international team mates Enner Valencia and Jefferson Montero for a few tips to shake his game up a bit,

Even the Honduras lads weren't falling for his stop with the ball,throw a dummy with the right leg and then try and cross it trick last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

I think its great move by Utd. A good hard working player to help consolidate your 7th place finish from last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Quandary

I wonder would Liverpool take Young on a free if we offered to pay his wages and increase their seating allocation at OT....

If they played hardball I suppose we could throw £5m at them to seal it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,222 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Nani, Valencia with new long term deals in the last 12 months. Who next lads young, cleverly? More proof that 200m is a myth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Valencia new deal makes sad and brings a bit of worry with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

I understand that it was part of Evra's contract that he was entitled to a 1 year extension, nothing can be done there, but...

Valencia gets a 3 year deal??

Do the staff that hand out these deals even watch these players? It's been said many a time, Valencia has been figured out and teams can deal with him now quite comfortably.

Looks like the squad overhaul that many predicted and indeed wanted will now not happen....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Were people really expecting a clearout of 10+ players though?

We've already lost 3 first team players in Giggs, Vidic and Rio, and Buttner looks off too. So that's 4 players gone from the squad before July. That's before LVG even gets near the squad, and I'd expect more culling of the squad before the season kicks off.

Right, I'd have liked to see Val gone, but I can't expect to see him, Young AND Nani heading off this summer.

If the idea is to have Val as a back up RM and/or backup RB, then that's fine, we still need squad players, and he'll do grand against smaller teams. I won't be worrying about this until we get an idea of what LVG's plans are for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

MD1990 wrote: »
    I think its great move by Utd. A good hard working player to help consolidate your 7th place finish from last season.

Whooaaahoho are we just gonna let him get away with this guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭duffman13

zarquon wrote: »
    Different Valencia! There's 2 of them in the Ecuador team.

You read the whole post yeah?

Best way to deal with that is ignoring it! They are allowed to gloat after finishing ahead of us for the first time in 20 years and celebrating that fact more than finishing second in the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

yep nobody here cares

20-18

always the bridesmaids ;) : D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Were people really expecting a clearout of 10+ players though?

We've already lost 3 first team players in Giggs, Vidic and Rio, and Buttner looks off too. So that's 4 players gone from the squad before July. That's before LVG even gets near the squad, and I'd expect more culling of the squad before the season kicks off.

Right, I'd have liked to see Val gone, but I can't expect to see him, Young AND Nani heading off this summer.

If the idea is to have Val as a back up RM and/or backup RB, then that's fine, we still need squad players, and he'll do grand against smaller teams. I won't be worrying about this until we get an idea of what LVG's plans are for him.

But you see this is the mind set we need to get away from as a club, the 'shur he'd be grand as a backup or against the smaller teams' if the player is no longer good enough ship him out...

Look at Bayern's depth, they have real quality ready to step up when needed, we need similar, not settling for someone like Val who would be grand against the smaller teams...

We need to think bigger and push on, personally I wasn't expecting 10+ players to leave but 6-7 players that have not done it (Val and Evra) in the last few years to be turfed out, not rewarded... I know nothing could be done with Evra but you get the idea....

I too think this will impact the reported 200mil....

zarquon wrote: »
    Different Valencia! There's 2 of them in the Ecuador team.

TLDR?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Jesus!! Offering Valencia a new deal! What on earth has he done in the last three years to justify remaining at the club?? He is horribly limited and every full back in the premier league has him figured out: Stand in front of him and show him inside. Can't use left foot. Has to go back towards his own goal. Passes to Carrick.

This summer is turning out to be a nightmare. Is Woodward working against us or for us??

RANT!! :)

Just look at the replies to that official tweet about him getting a new contract. How is it that every United fan can see the guy is useless, but those at the club cant?

yep nobody here cares

20-18

always the bridesmaids ;) : D

Not really. More like the girl who gets plastered by 8 in the evening, pukes all over everyone and misses out on the real party later in the evening. Then wakes up and cries about where her life went wrong and how all the prettier, more successful girls are all a bunch of c*nts.

But you see this is the mind set we need to get away from as a club, the 'shur he'd be grand as a backup or against the smaller teams' if the player is no longer good enough ship him out...

Look at Bayern's depth, they have real quality ready to step up when needed, we need similar, not settling for someone like Val who would be grand against the smaller teams...

We need to think bigger and push on, personally I wasn't expecting 10+ players to leave but 6-7 players that have not done it (Val and Evra) in the last few years to be turfed out, not rewarded... I know nothing could be done with Evra but you get the idea....

I too think this will impact the reported 200mil....

Bayerns depth is built through adding one or two quality players every season through the youth team and transfers. We can't build a depth of squad over night that is comparable to there squad. Valencia is versatile and with no champions league is adequate for 15-20 appearances this season. Plus LVG might see something in him. I doubt he will see the 3 years of his contract if his current form continues.

LVG has decided he wants him and that's enough for me, he could easily be used as a wing back if we chuck him in a 5-3-2 system due to his work rate so no major issues with this deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Don't mind too much, decent squad player. If it was Young I'd be going mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Meh, who cares. Guy embarrasses himself with a post. Move on.

The daily MD1990 windup posts have been less effective recently.