If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Need a wall built, can anyone recommend a builder?

• 15-06-2014 04:09PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭

We need a small amount of garden wall built, it's only about 2 metres long and 6 foot high. I got one quote but the guy wanted a grand to do it, so he obviously didn't want to take on such a small job. I'd appreciate any good recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭black & white

Whereabouts are you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,948 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

If area is Ennis & surrounds PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Wow a grand he obviously didn't want that job or thinks highly off himself.I Just finished a 42ft long by 1.8 meter wall today even that wouldn't cost a grand more like around the 300 quid mark. Is it just a normal wall, retaining or boundary wall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

jonon9 wrote: »
    Wow a grand he obviously didn't want that job or thinks highly off himself.I Just finished a 42ft long by 1.8 meter wall today even that wouldn't cost a grand more like around the 300 quid mark. Is it just a normal wall, retaining or boundary wall?

It's just a normal garden boundary wall. The neighbours on either side of us have walls so we only need the bit at the end of our garden done. There's a fence there so it'd need a foundation dug. We only want a breeze block wall with caps, the same as what's on either side of us. We don't want it plastered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Just did a quick rough price and the total cost would be in the region of

Blockwork: between €50-60 I used a €120 per block charging number. There's roughly 40-50 blocks on your wall without piers.

Digging and laying concrete should be no more than €100 it's not that big a wall.

Cost of blocks cement etc another €100

Labour €120.

Total €380 give or take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,948 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

jonon9 wrote: »
    Just did a quick rough price and the total cost would be in the region of

Blockwork: between €50-60 I used a €120 per block charging number. There's roughly 40-50 blocks on your wall without piers.

Digging and laying concrete should be no more than €100 it's not that big a wall.

Cost of blocks cement etc another €100

Labour €120.

Total €380 give or take.

Ye have the job! :D:D

As it says in the title really. We need a small boundary wall built and so far any number I ring in the golden pages is no longer in use:confused: I've avoided calling builders as I don't think it's a big enough job for a builer. If anyone can PM me the names and numbers of anyone they'd recommend I'd really appreciate it. I'd like to get a wall put up before the fence falls down.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭black & white

There were unforeseen expenses that meant delaying the wall build. Several numbers I was given for quotes are no longer in service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Threads merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

As it says in the title really. We need a small boundary wall built and so far any number I ring in the golden pages is no longer in use:confused: I've avoided calling builders as I don't think it's a big enough job for a builer. If anyone can PM me the names and numbers of anyone they'd recommend I'd really appreciate it. I'd like to get a wall put up before the fence falls down.:)

PM sent

marzic

We found someone, so hopefully it'll all be done by the end of next week. I really wouldn't have thought that it would be so difficult to find someone. After all it's a small job, cash in hand. But most of the numbers I rang are no longer in service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭finbarrk

If you had told us what part of the County you were in you could have a few more phone numbers got.