Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭daithi7

And unfortunately there is no Common Sense Authority that could deal with your ilk on such matters of national importance as violations of common sense.

p.s. I never advocated driving over the speed limit btw, so quite why the RSA should be 'dealing with my ilk' with fixed charge notices , perhaps only you can tell us!?

p.p.s. perhaps people of your ilk now believe that the RSA should have the power to fine some ;) road users, for informing others (via an internet forum) that to hold up other road users below the speed limit for no good reason is both anti social and in fact, illegal......................(subject to usual provisos)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Drivers should know that driving too slow is considered poorly and of course something the guards can pull you on. But that's not what you left it at. You know very well the argument you made was that driving more than 10km less than the limit is anti social and illegal. It's right there in your post, don't try make out like I'm being pedantic. You're just wrong and you don't like it.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Drivers should know that driving too slow is considered poorly and of course something the guards can pull you on. But that's not what you left it at. You know very well the argument you made was that driving more than 10km less than the limit is anti social and illegal. It's right there in your post, don't try make out like I'm being pedantic. You're just wrong and you don't like it.

assumptions aside (& you're making quite a few) , if I am 'wrong' can you tell me what is 'right'??

daithi7 wrote: »
    assumptions aside (& you're making quite a few) , if I am 'wrong' can you tell me what is 'right'??

Toys being thrown out then eh?

I can't tell you what's right, because as far as I'm aware there isn't a set amount below the limit that's acceptable and not acceptable. 50 in a 60 zone is not unacceptable by reasonable standards. It'd make sense for it to be judged on a case by case basis, allowing for whether or not there's traffic being held up, what kind of road you're on, road conditions etc.

1.Toys being thrown out then eh?

2. I can't tell you what's right, because as far as I'm aware there isn't a set amount below the limit that's acceptable and not acceptable. 50 in a 60 zone is not unacceptable by reasonable standards. It'd make sense for it to be judged on a case by case basis, allowing for whether or not there's traffic being held up, what kind of road you're on, road conditions etc.

1. Another assumption from you to add to the list

2. Of course, you can't tell me what is right, cos obviously from your response you simply don't know. QED :)

Jaysus. You claim something, don't prove it right, I explain how you're wrong, and you say I've to prove how you're wrong. Hmmm. Can't argue with that kind of logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭BeerSteakBirds

Jake1 wrote: »
    just destroyed the whole bleedin dinner.
    Everything all out on the plates on the counter, as ye do, then my daughter goes to take glasses from the press, and a few of them fell down, smashed to a million pieces , all over the counter , plates, floor.

Dinner in bin now :(

That is trivial compared to what happened to me. Picture the exact same thing except its' 2 1 litre glass bottles of Olive Oil which do the falling out of the cupboard. The result is impossible to hoover, mop or pick up with a cloth decently. A sticky slippery hard to soak up mess saturated with tiny dangerous splinters of glass all over the kitchen tiles

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    How would one have the courtesy to let someone move past? If someone wants to OT they can - or do you mean the "slow" driver should pull in? If I'm 10km off the speed goal limit, I'm not going to be going out of my way to pull in and let others pass. They are of course more than welcome to OT when it's safe to do so.

If there is a long stretch of hard shoulder with no entrances on the single lane motorway, I would nudge into that to let the faster driver go past.

If it's on a single lane back road, and someone is mincing up behind me, i'm going to slow down more and not be bullied into driving faster.

Gosh.....talking about driving and rules of the road and differences of driving opinions and grey areas in the rules and knowing that nobody is going to be convinced by little words on a thread on a forum is going to change anything kind of annoys me.

I'm annoyed with myself for kind of talking about it now. I'm going to get stuck into a tub of Ben & Jerry's now to make the world feel balanced........Phish food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Jaysus, you fancy smancy people with your 'cars', some of us slum it with the other plebs in suffocating heat on cattle trucks buses. Speaking of which, I got on the bus in Limerick the other day and the heat was on. It was fricking 20 degrees outside. I thought I'd pass out before I got home.

Jaysus. You claim something, don't prove it right, I explain how you're wrong, and you say I've to prove how you're wrong. Hmmm. Can't argue with that kind of logic.

I asked you to inform me what is 'right', to prove a point. The simple fact is the law appears to be ambiguous on how slow is 'too slow'. And that is the issue.

The law does state that driving too slow is both anti social and illegal, it just does not do a good job imho on defining what is too slow.

So in the absence of a good definition I did define what I think is too slow, and I stand by that opinion.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    If there is a long stretch of hard shoulder with no entrances on the single lane motorway, I would nudge into that to let the faster driver go past.

If it's on a single lane back road, and someone is mincing up behind me, i'm going to slow down more and not be bullied into driving faster.

Gosh.....talking about driving and rules of the road and differences of driving opinions and grey areas in the rules and knowing that nobody is going to be convinced by little words on a thread on a forum is going to change anything kind of annoys me.

I'm annoyed with myself for kind of talking about it now. I'm going to get stuck into a tub of Ben & Jerry's now to make the world feel balanced........Phish food.

Well now I'm kind of annoyed that you're kind of annoyed, in fact I'm so annoyed that I'm gonna go out and drive so slowly to hold up the whole road in the happy knowledge according to the politically correct brigade that I can legally hold up and annoy every other road user too ;))

just fuppin wonderful :))

Why do my salads have to be so fattening and unfilling:( I probably make the most unhealthy salads on the planet. There'd probably be less calories in a deep fried cheese pizza, yet I'm still hungry:(

Thin steak/beef marinated in balsamic vinegar and a tiny bit of honey with marinade used as a dressing, thin strips of the beef and walnuts and blue cheese and poached pear

Or bbq spice chicken and red melon salad with some mayo

Or tuna and mayo and mushed up boiled egg with feta and walnuts

All on beds of baby leaf salad

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    How would one have the courtesy to let someone move past? If someone wants to OT they can - or do you mean the "slow" driver should pull in? If I'm 10km off the speed goal limit, I'm not going to be going out of my way to pull in and let others pass. They are of course more than welcome to OT when it's safe to do so.

Drive tight left and maintain the position to show you're aware of them and not going to suddenly pull out and try ram them off the road when they OT, or not going to wobble over to the line and back again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Waiting to get served at a bar and someone strolls up and knows the barman and just shouts out an order and get served before me. Ye bastid. Yet I try it "well Eugene whiskey and ginger ale please" and get the thousand yard stare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Augmerson wrote: »
    Waiting to get served at a bar and someone strolls up and knows the barman and just shouts out an order and get served before me. Ye bastid. Yet I try it "well Eugene whiskey and ginger ale please" and get the thousand yard stare.

Hahahaha, I'm going to try that.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

There is a spider inside my monitor. Its just wandering around my screen as I type. Doesnt seem to be too happy to be in there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Augmerson wrote: »

Must try that sometime :D
    I've noticed this lately, in some shops, when I'm at the top of the queue, the cashier says who is next. Wha??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I asked you to inform me what is 'right', to prove a point. The simple fact is the law appears to be ambiguous on how slow is 'too slow'. And that is the issue.

The law does state that driving too slow is both anti social and illegal, it just does not do a good job imho on defining what is too slow.

So in the absence of a good definition I did define what I think is too slow, and I stand by that opinion.

Nah man, you're just stumbling backwards while trying to balance a tray of drinks. Just excuse yourself and set the tray aside.

So first you claimed its illegal to do more than 10 less than the speed limit. And now you're saying because the law doesn't define what is too slow, you made up your own mind on what is too slow and that somehow that makes you right.

You know that's not how laws work right? You can't just think them up yourself..?

You went from 'its illegal to go more than 10 under the limit' to 'well don't get pedantic it kinda is', to 'well ok its not BUT I THINK IT SHOULD BE'. You're embarrassing yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Ain't that the truth, chief.

Hell is other people.

(Apart from us of course 'cause we're all fecking great)

Yeah, but you're MY people!! :D

Now, other trivial annoyance of mine? When this thread gets crashed by an argument...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

bluewolf wrote: »
    Thin steak/beef marinated in balsamic vinegar and a tiny bit of honey with marinade used as a dressing, thin strips of the beef and walnuts and blue cheese and poached pear

Or bbq spice chicken and red melon salad with some mayo

Or tuna and mayo and mushed up boiled egg with feta and walnuts

All on beds of baby leaf salad

Damn you bluewolf, I'm drooling here and I already had dinner! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Mod:If you guys could stop derailing the thread with a ridiculous argument that'd be great.
    Kthxbai

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Must try that sometime :D
    I've noticed this lately, in some shops, when I'm at the top of the queue, the cashier says who is next. Wha??
    ''
    That really grinds my gears. Whaddya mean whos next?'' ,
    you've damn well saw me standing here for 5 mins, you made eye contact several times, ye swine !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

bluewolf you are making me feel bad:( I always have chips with my salad....I will deffo try the tuna recipe though..sounds yummy:)

Colser wrote: »
    bluewolf you are making me feel bad:( I always have chips with my salad....I will deffo try the tuna recipe though..sounds yummy:)

The key is to pack it with protein ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

On thread bitchfights

Only getting hungry at bedtime :/ i had all evening to be hungry and eat. Now isn't the time!

No more recipes :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Jake1 wrote: »
    ''
    That really grinds my gears. Whaddya mean whos next?'' ,
    you've damn well saw me standing here for 5 mins, you made eye contact several times, ye swine !!!

Exactly.
    I walked out of a coffee shop at the weekend, after standing waiting to give my order, and then being 'greeted' with some kind of a grunt from the guy (supposed to be) working there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Referees and players before games, they don't shake hands they do that buddy type handshake, you know the hand clasp type thing. Have some bloody professionalism and shake properly you'd don't see business folk going into meetings doing that.