Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

Haha this is true, well I just proved it so! :pac:

My next car will probably be diesel ans slow lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

tossy wrote: »

I are disappoint, I'm collecting something tomorrow so i'll throw up a few pics, call it a long term birthday present :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I need one of those :D

I dunno, it is bloody terrifying, but if you get the hang of it and just don't steer at all its pretty fun.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I dunno, it is bloody terrifying, but if you get the hang of it and just don't steer at all its pretty fun.

That's all i need, imagine a pensioner going around tesco on that thing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

Anyone gone to a previous Rock' n Rumble American car show? Worth going? It's on in Cork con rugby club tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

tossy wrote: »

Welcome to the dark side:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Get a video, please!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

String wrote: »
    Anyone gone to a previous Rock' n Rumble American car show? Worth going? It's on in Cork con rugby club tomorrow.

First year in Con and first year they called it 'Rock n' Rumble'.

If you like yank tanks, beer, bbq and rock music you'll have a fantastic day. If you're going as a spectator leave the car at home. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

10325717_10202686169447719_8417073688369685055_n.jpg
    My neighbors built this, I can confirm it is indeed the scariest thing I have ever driven. It is fupping mental.

Are you neighbours with Colin Furze :D

10325717_10202686169447719_8417073688369685055_n.jpg
    My neighbors built this, I can confirm it is indeed the scariest thing I have ever driven. It is fupping mental.

I have a couple of engines lying around, if anyone has something like this that needs engined up:P drop it off at Preds Shed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

pred racer wrote: »
    I have a couple of engines lying around, if anyone has something like this that needs engined up:P drop it off at Preds Shed :D

I've a 5.0 V8 on a pallet ripe for something like this along with the box and rear axle.... Bosh K jetronic and all :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

pred racer wrote: »

Aren't you old enough to need one yourself?? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I are disappoint, I'm collecting something tomorrow so i'll throw up a few pics, call it a long term birthday present :cool:

I got the tyre by the way :)

Lads, a quick one. One of the lads in work has an avensis. How often does the timing belt need to be changed? Its a 2010 2.0 diesel model.

Or is it a chain?

CianRyan wrote: »
    Get a video, please!!

Been most of the day at the MG, so tomorrow we'll mess about with it.

Loads of videos to come, don't worry :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Me legs are fecking bolloxed after two hours of driving that. . Sweating like feck too..... a few brown trousers moments

Atleaset I havent forgetting how to drive my now tiny focus !

dgt wrote: »
    I've a 5.0 V8 on a pallet ripe for something like this along with the box and rear axle.... Bosh K jetronic and all :pac:

I was thinking of a 100-200cc 2 stroke, but you're right, must think bigger:D
    Aren't you old enough to need one yourself?? :P

FU:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Looking for a 2l petrol hatch, not peugot or citroen. There's a lot of crap on DD. Maybe another focus :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Hal1 wrote: »
    Looking for a 2l petrol hatch, not peugot or citroen. There's a lot of crap on DD. Maybe another focus :o.

civic type R?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I was looking at a few of them. I'm not sold on them. Nah.

Sooo yaaa....belt or chain lads?

Beain.

Beain.

I'm just gonna tell him its powered by his own sense of self satisfaction

http://i.imgur.com/jle4j.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Hal1 wrote: »
    I was looking at a few of them. I'm not sold on them. Nah.

What you want is a Focus ST :pac:

YbFocus wrote: »
    I got the tyre by the way :)

Hooray! Well I have the moolah here

Just pay the other lad the 80 man, your good after that as discussed

YbFocus wrote: »
    Just pay the other lad the 80 man, your good after that as discussed

I know, but one swoop and all that, I'll be grand

I'll text you :)

Not the place for it, but honest its grand like discussed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Does anyone else find that the suspension in their car gets harder and harder the more they need to pee?

It felt like someone had replaced my springs with scaffolding poles by the time I got home :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,310 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

So I'm just back from a long motorway spin and I've come to a conclusion based on a few observations..

120 km/h isn't fast enough considering most people can't even hit that

This was prompted after I had some silly twit in a 3 series start drifting across the centre line to pass a truck - without noticing I was about to pass both of them as they were doing about 100-110!

As most people seemingly can't do/maintain 120 km/h on an open motorway - but will do 10-20 km/h under it - those of us who can will inevitably end up gaining on them and thus need to overtake to continue, especially when one of these people comes up behind an even slower vehicle - like say a truck.

However, with such a limited variance in speed, the actual overtaking move will take far longer and indeed encourage idiots that they can make their stupid manoeuvre without causing a problem.

I wasn't in any rush tonight but I noticed several example of idiots taking chances as a result of the above. It's actually MORE dangerous in my opinion that "speeding" because in the latter case you would be past them quicker and the greater difference in speed discourages their stupidity in the first place as they'd see you move out and gain on them faster.

Then there was the scummer who nearly caused a pile-up an hour earlier by cutting across me from the outside lane in an attempt to undertake a car ahead of him which he'd actually successfully intimidated enough that it was moving over anyway. As a side note, Quattro and quick reactions FTW.

Yer man then nearly swipes the front of my car and the back of the other one, but do our girls n boys in blue care - nope, cause it was a NI reg hatchback and while I could go making a statement, the response was such that there's no point (car mightn't be here tomorrow/could be a tourist/not on the system etc). Our heroes did say they'd put the word out but didn't seem overly optimistic/interested despite the road in question being covered with cameras

Fun evening eh? :mad: