Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I'd tow it.

Can you get a loan of an a-frame even?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I'd tow it.

Can you get a loan of an a-frame even?

I've no towbar sadly :( I'll probably end up towing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

No, don't drive it uninsured, whatever about the tax and NCT.

Stop bloody raining! I need to get this damn Beetle finished!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Is it worth the cost of an NCT and tax fine to bring it back?

It's totally up to a Garda as to what he/she wants to do on the spot. Personally I would drive it back and pay any fines that I get as they would probably be less than the cost of getting it trailored or tow-trucked. But that's me, I'm not saying you should do it.

Like I said, get it insured at least.

Is it worth the cost of an NCT and tax fine to bring it back?

It's totally up to a Garda as to what he/she wants to do on the spot. Personally I would drive it back and pay any fines that I get as they would probably be less than the cost of getting it trailored or tow-trucked. But that's me, I'm not saying you should do it.

Like I said, get it insured at least.

Ah no i getcha, I think I'll just tow it back, gona be a long drive haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I've no towbar sadly :( I'll probably end up towing it

A towed car still needs to be insured does it not? It thought it was only if its on the back of a low loader that you can transport it uninsured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

djimi wrote: »
    A towed car still needs to be insured does it not? It thought it was only if its on the back of a low loader that you can transport it uninsured.

Makes sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

Towin' aint easy but it sure is fun lol Be careful how you tow and who you get to pilot each car, it's a skill onto itself. Also not 100% but i think towing by rope is frowned upon.

If you are going to tow for the sake of 70/80 lids get yourself a spring loaded towing bar in Fergal Allens etc makes towing a lot more easy/safe.

31ecPepoAAL._SY300_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Well some of you might know my focus and what it cost me....

I just got offered 5 grand on a trade in with it.... feck me thats a fair profit on my side !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

I just got offered 5 grand on a trade in with it.... feck me thats a fair profit on my side !

depending on what you trading against etc, could appear to be nice figure for your focus but in reality it might not be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

That's a steal! For you, not for the dealer though! Good sign if you are getting trade in offers. Perhaps try selling it privately if you thinking of selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

cabb8ge wrote: »
    depending on what you trading against etc, could appear to be nice figure for your focus but in reality it might not be

The car you might be trading in against could have its price inflated to make it seem like you are getting more than you are. The trade in price means nothing. It's the cost of the change is what you need to concentrate on. Find a few more examples of the car you want and price those and then compare the costs to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

[ quote="cabb8ge;90668565"]depending on what you trading against etc, could appear to be nice figure for your focus but in reality it might not be[/quote]

Im working against what I paid for it which is a lot less than their trade in offer.

@chp - im not sure what im doing with it..... I think a relative wants to take it off me and my new job means I wonT be driving much anymore (the odd evening and weekends) so im looking at land rover discoveries again !

The car you might be trading in against could have its price inflated to make it seem like you are getting more than you are. The trade in price means nothing. It's the cost of the change is what you need to concentrate on. Find a few more examples of the car you want and price those and then compare the costs to change.

I understand what you mean there. I went into a used car dealer just oto ask (he didnt have the stock I wanted) and just asked what would I be looking at trade in for my car and he came up with that figure

But selling private for a small bit more than that could be an option too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

JC01 wrote: »
    Really? I always thought they wer shockingly plastic and cheap feeling for the "luxury hatch" they sell themselves as. And the 1.4 is a godawful model, woefully underpowered and an absolute sow on petrol

Your right about them holding their values so well though, to a lot of Irish people a VW badge seems to be the pinnacle of car ownership and the market value they hold reflects that thinking.

I wouldn't buy a 1.4 golf. I have a 1.9tdi golf and the 2.0 would be nicer but I find the 1.9 tdi grand performance wise. The baseline 'irish spec' golf mk5 is horrible inside it has the most crap plastic steering wheel I've ever seen and there is no chrome look material or anything on the dash. Mine is a comfortline with a few other extras and it is a different car inside granted still not as nice as a highline but I like it and find the upgraded seats far nicer to sit in than than baseline. Tbh I was never one of those vw badge that's why I bought it type. I'm happy out with it and had a focus and astra before that I think the golf is by the best of the 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,426 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Bpmull wrote: »
    I wouldn't buy a 1.4 golf. I have a 1.9tdi golf and the 2.0 would be nicer but I find the 1.9 tdi grand performance wise. The baseline 'irish spec' golf mk5 is horrible inside it has the most crap plastic steering wheel I've ever seen and there is no chrome look material or anything on the dash. Mine is a comfortline with a few other extras and it is a different car inside granted still not as nice as a highline but I like it and find the upgraded seats far nicer to sit in than than baseline. Tbh I was never one of those vw badge that's why I bought it type. I'm happy out with it and had a focus and astra before that I think the golf is by the best of the 3.

Mk 4 was the same - start specing them up with extras inside - and they are like a different car inside - light coloured leather interior, sunroofs, Recaro seats etc etc.

Worst thing is when they have (imo) black interiors - although I will be honest here and say I don't like black interiors on ANYTHING

Back in the 80s - front wheel drive Opel Asconas and Mk 2 Vauxhall Cavaliers (same car different badge) were exactly the same - a lot of the specced up UK versions tended to look MUCH nicer inside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Anyone ever use this croud or know anything about them.
    http://www.cardent.ie

They said they could sort the dents and touch up the paint so it would be all good. I assume their using the smart technique. Quoted me 200 euro which is great is it too good to be true though. If they will fix it for that kind of money I'd be happy out any thoughts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Is there any site that lists the standard equipment specification on cars?

Parkers used to have something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

The amount of midgets out there is unreal. They make it impossible to do anything outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote: »
    The amount of midgets out there is unreal. They make it impossible to do anything outside.

Or when the feckers get plastered onto the front of the car, nearly have to scrub the paint off to get them off :mad:

Decent coat of wax makes it a lot easier!

Ya? It'll be getting a wax before long, so hopefully it'll help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Interslice wrote: »

I would love to drive that 0-60 2.5 seconds. It reminds me of the cars you see on youtube on a quater mile track that take off with a hop they are so fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

And now I want to get an E34. UK seems to be the only job for those though, very very few around here.

What's the crack with number plates? As far as I'm aware they're legally required to be fitted to the front and back of all vehicles (Except motorbikes, mopeds, etc. where only a rear plate is required).

Am I right in the above?

It's just I see a lot of cars (always seems to be BMWs for some reason) with the front plate off the car, sitting on the dashboard instead.

Am I missing something there? What's the upside to this? Just seems like it's something you'd do if you were actively looking for hassle from the Gardaí?

What's the crack with number plates? As far as I'm aware they're legally required to be fitted to the front and back of all vehicles (Except motorbikes, mopeds, etc. where only a rear plate is required).

Am I right in the above?

It's just I see a lot of cars (always seems to be BMWs for some reason) with the front plate off the car, sitting on the dashboard instead.

Am I missing something there? What's the upside to this? Just seems like it's something you'd do if you were actively looking for hassle from the Gardaí?

It's the cool brigade that put the reg plates on the windscreen!! The same people that will have a lovely 3 (the odd time a 5) series slammed to the ground and fiddled with....sigh

And yes it is against the law, not to mention stupid looking.

It's the cool brigade that put the reg plates on the windscreen!! The same people that will have a lovely 3 (the odd time a 5) series slammed to the ground and fiddled with....sigh

And yes it is against the law, not to mention stupid looking.

Yep, had to do this with my old astra when i got the bumper done, taped it all up to the window, looked stupid :pac:

What's the 1.8 petrol like on the mk4 golf gti?