Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭Charliebull

_Brian wrote: »
    Indeed..
    The other thing the vet thought it could have been was blackleg around the heart. I've never heard of that either but the vet said it can be the cause of unexplained sudden deaths in otherwise healthy animals..

When I checked the maps we are indeed in a low Selenium area, combined with a high molybdenum area... I see some weanlings that went out in the spring are already showing copper diffeciency on their coats.. Just waiting on All Trace bolus for them at the moment but gave some a copper shot Saturday anyway.

where would a man go to get a look at them there maps you refer to Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

I was looking for this before when lads were on about paying themselves a wages from the farms profits, but couldn't find it until now!

Paddy McCoy, an elderly Irish farmer, received a letter from the Department for Work & Pensions stating that they suspected he was not paying his employees the statutory minimum wage and they would send an inspector to interview them.
    On the appointed day, the inspector turned up.
    "Tell me about your staff," he asked Paddy.
    "Well," said Paddy, "there's the farm hand, I pay him €240 a week, and he has a free cottage.
    Then there's the housekeeper. She gets £190 a week, along with free board and lodging.
    There's also the half-wit. He works a 16 hour day, does 90% of the work, earns about £25 a week along with a bottle of whisky and, as a special treat, occasionally gets to sleep with my wife."

"That's disgraceful" said the inspector, "I need to interview the half-wit."

"That'll be me then," said Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Paddy must be near the border cause, he's paying the farm hand in €'s and the housekeeper in £'s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

It's gone very quiet in here....are ye planning on an uprising of some sort:D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

.Kovu. wrote: »
    It's gone very quiet in here....are ye planning on an uprising of some sort:D:pac:

Ye mods need to watch your backs, thats all I'm aloud to say.. :pac:

Damo810 wrote: »
    Ye mods need to watch your backs, thats all I'm aloud to say.. :pac:

My back? Unless you're under my leaba I think I'm safe til morning :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

.Kovu. wrote: »
    My back? Unless you're under my leaba I think I'm safe ti:Dl morning

Crouching tiger hidden Damo810 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Just back from co louth. Collecting machinery with a mate. My god they are a different breed of people up there hey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Reggie. wrote: »
    Just back from co louth. Collecting machinery with a mate. My god they are a different breed of people up there hey :D

Boy you are gonna get bitch slapped.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,996 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

yup we are very nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

whelan2 wrote: »

You got owned reggie

whelan2 wrote: »

Never seen anyone argue over €10 as fiercely......well maybe that Cavan crowd :p

You got owned reggie

Never

Never seen anyone argue over €10 as fiercely......well maybe that Cavan crowd :p

Ye must have been arguing as fiercely back.......

I was a spectator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,158 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

But that's a weeks wage for a farmer here in Cavan. Who wouldn't argue over a weeks wage ;)

where would a man go to get a look at them there maps you refer to Brian

When I'm back at the laptop I'll post a link to the article I was using.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Know a Cork farmers wife who's worse, argued over one euro!

Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,955 ✭✭✭visatorro

iv a fecking headache this morning, nothing to do with the few pints last night id say! cows had broken wire and were across two paddocks this morning aswell. the joys!

Farming is full of funny folk.
    Farm I pass regularly still has ~ 30 weanlings housed feeding silage. He'll keep them in for another few weeks till he cuts silage. He cuts whole farm (small) in the first cut and then turns stock out after the cut. Then cuts half or so In a second cut.
    Sells them in back end and then buys in fresh stock. So they are housed for 8 months of the year.

It just seems so inefficient and he's on a decent dry farm too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

_Brian wrote: »
    Farming is full of funny folk.
    Farm I pass regularly still has ~ 30 weanlings housed feeding silage. He'll keep them in for another few weeks till he cuts silage. He cuts whole farm (small) in the first cut and then turns stock out after the cut. Then cuts half or so In a second cut.
    Sells them in back end and then buys in fresh stock. So they are housed for 8 months of the year.

It just seems so inefficient and he's on a decent dry farm too.
    Not quite as bad in this area but most beef/suckler lads never let anything out till April/may.
    They graze whole place in a week then and wonder why they have no grass then.
    All the suckler lads around me this year started using the strip wire. But they never fenced off the last piece they graze when they move the fence on. None of them understand about putting out fert early and about grazing regrowth

Not quite as bad in this area but most beef/suckler lads never let anything out till April/may.
    All the suckler lads around me this year started using the strip wire. But they never fenced off the last piece they graze when they move the fence on. None of them understand about putting out fert early and about grazing regrowth

I would definitely include myself in saying most/many beef lads are behind the curve on grass management. But you do see lads changing practices and managing grass better.

Were landlocked by a number if older bachelors and they are all old school. Sucklers allowed to roam the whole grazing block, no grass management , no forward creep grazing calves, weanlings bulling cows. In our area I see the problem as being related to the older age profile who are farming as they always did. They have only themselves to support, have decent land blocks and SFP so there is no need to change, some are drawing the pension too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

That's all right if ya have fcuk all else to be at I work off farm so when I get home it's great to know which area cattle are in instead of traipsing around like a knob.will have extra bales here this year with better management of grass .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

It is not rocket science placing a water trough in the middle of the field is an answer to a lot of these issue, but most drystock and older farmers would have a hearth attack. Put a few posts beside it and fence to them this allows a field to become 4 paddocks.

Most dairy farmers forget that they supplement early and late in the season so it is a factor on turnout date. The biggest factor I see is resistance to reseeding by drystock farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Wasn't my wife anyway. Apparently it grows on trees around here.

What if you have your ground planted ;)

It wasn't my wife either. ..... We are living in sin

Ye'll all be invited when I do get married

Better be a free bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Her husband was buying ewes off me at the time, I wouldn't have minded so much except the price of blackface sheep was on the floor the same year and they were quality stock.

That was the year I was forced to sell out sheep by the dept, had a quota for 30 and had 55 ewes (90 hectares!). Looked for extra quote and was reduced down to 22 :rolleyes: To say I was disillusioned that day is an understatement.

It was a fair while ago now, if it happened today she'd have been told in short order where to go.