Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JayKHunter's OSW Review 99 - AEW Revolution 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

I've seen a couple of people asking for a bonus episode of OSW where you review legends house. As cool as it sounds I think the Piper/Flair wife swap episode will be money!

Can't wait for the one night stand review! Especially after Austin's casts with Heyman. I'd say there'll be a references made to it yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Audio was recorded last week, I don't really listen to Austin's podcast. He sounds like he's in character cutting a promo and woah, the shameless shilling. Did Heyman say anything about ONS '05?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ape Lincoln

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Audio was recorded last week, I don't really listen to Austin's podcast. He sounds like he's in character cutting a promo and woah, the shameless shilling. Did Heyman say anything about ONS '05?

Kinda, he told a story of being on Vince's sh*tlist from a few months beforehand when he was caught listening in to the Raw conference call. It was in the Part Two podcast.

Says ONS was RVD's idea, it came about because of the DVD documentary, convinced Vince to book Hammerstein etc.

Just saw Roddy piper is coming to Dublin for a q+a! Defiantly gonna go in my OSW tee and have a question or two that the show has brought up at some point or another!

Ha, that's awesome. "Did you invent double the count-out, brawl to the back?" :pac:

10342920_785437451475858_8501265199442711667_n.png

It's our birthday today! We started OSW Review May 5th, 2011. I just wanted to say thank you, and I love the amazing community here on PW boards - it's the *only* place I come to chat outside of OSW. Did You Know? OSW was partly the reason I got this modding gig here :)

Sláinte!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭blackpotato

Happy birthday OSW review!

I have a confession to make, I never watched the Scooby Doo episode mostly because I have zero plans to ever watch the actual original. I can't quite recall who had someone in a Scooby costume come down to the ring with them on Raw a few weeks back but I turned it off straight away and didn't watch the rest of that Raw! I suspect I will watch the OSW Review eventually. Normally what I love about OSW Review most is lil obscure bits of wrestling trivia I either didn't know or had forgotten. My gut is telling me that watching the Scooby Doo OSW Review will actually make me laugh a lot!

I hear you about Stone Colds podcast Jay, but a lot of podcasts have ads and American television has so many ads. I see American ads and either think "Man, you can eat like a horse for a fiver in that country" or "Oh, that's why they're so fat, I would be too if I lived there!"
    Listening to Austin talk about his dogs, his ranch, his workout regime or hunting is super-tedious, but when he actually talks to wrestlers (apart from Shane Helms, that was bad) it's usually really really good!

I heard RVD himself saying One Night Stand was his idea on Jericho's podcast and I was surprised, I always guessed it would be a Vince McMahon/Paul Heyman thing.

Roddy Piper, here is where I feel like a hypocrite myself. I loved him as a face or a heel during the mid 80's but then he was gone for a while after 'Mania 3 and I didn't like him as a commentator after that despite loving his promos and matches. I listened to his 1st podcast a few weeks ago and he only said 2 racist things and another thing that was borderline, and that's why I have a lil inner-conflict, I think I'd enjoy his Q & A in Dublin, but I have called him "Racist Roddy Piper" for years now!

It's worth mentioning he was f'ing great in the movie "They Live" too. Not so great on ITV's short-lived Celebrity Wrestling.
    I think himself and 'Naitch have stopped being best buds after they did wife-swop. I saw that on youtube and I got a few chuckles from it, mostly from the Ric Flair part of it though.
    I also saw Ric Flair on Lizard Lick Towing on Dave even though I think I've seen that show twice or 3 times tops and Ric Flair was in one of the episodes and it was a pretty badly contrived storyline about these guys being his bodyguards or something but it was actually funny even though I have no idea if it was supposed to be.

Again, many thanks for the smiles, the memories, the many bits of trivia which I do really like and here's to your 4th year too.

For some reason I always think of December To Dismember when I hear One Night Stand, like I get them confused...

I'm gonna watch Scooby Doo review soon, I just hope I feel like a winner is me after it! :)

Just fwiw wrt Vince McMahon, he pretty much lives in a bubble. Doing a genuine ECW PPV like ONS 05 would never have been his original idea.

They Live is great film!

Bought two of your shirts. Paypal says it was £32.00/€41approx which plus the €3.50 for Parcel Motel brings it to about €44.50ish. The shirts including delivery to 26 county Ireland would have been about €45ish so I might have saved about Euro or so.

Sweet, thanks brah! That's brilliant. Send me a pic when you get them! Is that you tweet DM'ing me yesterday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Moist Bread

Hurry up with the ONS review ya slackers!

Really looking forward to it. It was the show that got me back into wrestling, for good or ill. I've not watched it since, so I've been awaiting this episode with baited breath since ye started doing the ECW PPV's. Joey Styles's rant about Mike Awesome actually got me hooked on the backstage goings on, which is honestly the main reason I still have interest in wrestling at all these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Blue_Dabadee

Another fantastic review by you guys.

Can't wait for ONS '06 review. All I remember from that PPV was Cena getting booed in his match with RVD.

Cheers man glad you liked it! Ya, haven't seen it in years, looking forward to doing it. Weird doing such a 'recent' show!

ECW One Night Stand 2005 - OSW Revew #38

THE TRIBE OF EXTREME HAS RISEN AGAIN!
    Your boys Jay and the Steves are back with one of the most famous wrestling shows of all time!
    Featuring the 'best' of JBL's alternate commentary!

14231136054_736e0fdfd0_b.jpg

WATCH: YouTube38.OSWreview.com
    MORE GOODNESS: OSWreview.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,363 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Another top notch review. I could watch your shows all day long. The standard of production is super and it oozes irishness with its humour, gags and references.

Quick question who, in your opinion, was ONS 2005 MVP?

JBL was gold but could you call him part of the show? I guess Paul E is a decent shout.

I have to see more of Jericho and Storm in Smoky Mountain.

Great work as always Jay K!

Q: what was the Joe E Legend reference about? You mention it when the crusaders turn their backs.

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Another top notch review. I could watch your shows all day long. The standard of production is super and it oozes irishness with its humour, gags and references. Quick question who, in your opinion, was ONS 2005 MVP? JBL was gold but could you call him part of the show? I guess Paul E is a decent shout.

Thank you brah! Heyman definitely, both behind the scenes putting it together & on camera for his incredible promo. There's only a couple of promos I can recite verbatim and that's one of them :)
    I have to see more of Jericho and Storm in Smoky Mountain.
    YouTube it, it's great! I couldn't include the actual vid in the episode as the cheesy music was copyrighted.
    Great work as always Jay K! Q: what was the Joe E Legend reference about? You mention it when the crusaders turn their backs.

Cheers mate! We mention it in the Rumble 89 vid but here's the story: We were at American Wrestling Rampage a couple years ago (a touring indy fed) with the likes of Test, Heidenreich, Gangrel, etc. It's also where Heidenreich took a shine to me, gave me a free autograph and offered to take a pic with me in his trunks afterwards! Joe E Legend was awful but he worked the crowd really hard for cheers. For some reason he noticed us having none of it and kept looking and pointing towards us. After he stank the place out, we stood up and turned our backs to him. And that's the origin of that!

I don't think I'd want to wear Heidenreich's trunks tbh, even if he was going to take a picture of me :p

I met Joe Legend at an IWW show years ago. He was very nice, can't remember the ring work but he played the conceited heel very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭blackpotato

Thank Jeebus for this show!
    I did watch the Scooby Doo episode but only because I like you guys! I loved the start of it but after a while I was like "yep, it's not wrestling, it's Scooby F'ing Doo!" That's not a dig at you guys at all, it's just that by the end of it, I was happier watching the Sin Cara match off Raw that you stuck in there than the cartoon bit.
    You guys sound posh? I dunno man. I'd say you have good diction and all but I never thought you guys are posh!
    I'd even venture to say Mr. OOC is quite likeable when he's not giving outrageous opinions on how great Lex Luger was, so this episode was cool in that way.
    F'ing hilarious if your Scooby Doo episode is your most watched ever mind, even clicking on the start of this ECW I can see the ratings are huge on youtube compared to when I found your stuff nearly a year ago now!
    Ok I'm seeing a Warrior tribute at the start of this thing...I must watch! I think I seen a full match of Warrior vs Perfect at the end of an older OSW Review many months ago, I remember seeing it and thinking "Man that Dolph Ziggler is great when he's not a male cheerleader who bangs Vickie Guerrero" at the time...Mostly because Ziggler reminds me of Perfect. Batista reminds me of Warrior, although Warriors ring gear was awesome. Batista wears Nike Jordans. And he looks like a old turtle now too.
    Looking forward to this!
    Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Great Stuff altogether, really enjoyed that. That Mike Awesome and Tanaka match was quite painful to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭A Rogue Hobo

Fantastic as always lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Really good review. I'm one of the few people who thinks ONS 2005 is a pretty poor show.

2006 is a far better show and I'm really looking forward to your review of it.

You should probably review a few select WWECW shows after this with the first episode being first choice, leading up to the awful PPV that essentially killed Heyman's tenure in charge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Another fun episode. Must say I have very fond memories of watching ONS 05 WWE was in real dull Summer lull back then. All the promotion had was the ongoing Triple H-Batista. I remember feeling really depressed the Raw after as WWE reverted back to the status quo after the excitement of that Sunday.

Just a couple of bits and bobs:

Chris Candido admist a career and person character resurgence was set to wrestle Lance Storm on the show according to Tommy Dreamer.

Joel Gertner legitimately felt he was going to fall off the balcony the way JBL pushed him.

Was amused at RVD in the heat of the moment phrased that his injury "sucked worse that Booker T's wedding."

The Guerrero/Beniot match was a real weird one. Eddie didn't want to do the show full stop and didn't want to do ANYTHING babyface-ish after his hot WWE heel turn. It was hoped Eddie would wear his acrobat like ECW gear as a throwback. Eddie in general seemed also in a depressive stage of his manic depression.

I did feel sorry for Rhyno as his wife did tell him she was taking his child to Germany with her. You would probably want to smash **** too.

JBL didn't like Lance Storm at the time as Storm did a big speech warning students about the likes of JBL, Holly and Benoit and their hazing/bullying tactics in OVW. Kevin Thorne ratted out Storm to JBL. Blue Meanie called JBL a bully on an obscure internet radio show.
    Eddies fault

Awesome's death was just before the message about Concussions sinked in with fans but I was kind of ahead of the curve so I just remember being really angry about people watching the ONS match "in tribute" to him given all the chairshots and shots when the cause of death was already seemed to suicide.

On a similar note in the fallout of the show of all the wrestlers people wanted WWE to (re)hire Mike Awesome was #1. Couldn't believe it at the time for reasons stated in the episode terms of the lack of psychology and weapon shots (shortcuts). I couldn't view him feuding and exchanging long headlocks and Irish whip reversals with Booker T on sleepy editions of Smackdown. :pac:

The Beulah and Francine cat fight played into the fact that Dreamer was cheating on Beulah with Francine for a long time during the final years of the company.

Thanks for the kind words blackpotato, WinnyThePoo, A Rogue Hobo!
    Really good review. I'm one of the few people who thinks ONS 2005 is a pretty poor show. 2006 is a far better show and I'm really looking forward to your review of it. You should probably review a few select WWECW shows after this with the first episode being first choice, leading up to the awful PPV that essentially killed Heyman's tenure in charge.

Cheers! ONS06 is up next, can't wait to do the show. So many first-time-on-OSWers. Randy will get his! December to Dismember after that but we'll touch on WWECW on Sci-Fi :)
    rovert wrote: »
    Another fun episode. Must say I have very fond memories of watching ONS 05 WWE was in real dull Summer lull back then. All the promotion had was the ongoing Triple H-Batista. I remember feeling really depressed the Raw after as WWE reverted back to the status quo after the excitement of that Sunday. Just a couple of bits and bobs:

Wow, great stuff Rovert, where we you when I recorded the show! Do you have any bits & bobs like that for ONS 06?

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Wow, great stuff Rovert, where we you when I recorded the show! Do you have any bits & bobs like that for ONS 06?

I'll have a think all I remember is the internet consensus believing that Eugene would throw down his WWE "retard"gimmick and declared himself Wrestling Machine Nick Dinsmore. I think PWInsider reported it.

You will "need" to do a lengthy post-script to that show covering the first ECW on Sci Fi show to December to Dismember to Vince McMahon winning the title and turning African American and beyond. Can't recommend John Williams's book Hardcore History enough as a resource. As Heyman was the VERY thinly veiled the off record source for most of it.

You'll be delighted to know I asked Sheamo at the signing about the counting as Gaeilge and he said he'll defiantly start trying it. He the proceeded to do it in the 02

This is a nit pick I was withholding the chant at ONS 05 wasn't organic. Joey studied Spanish in high school and did the count during Super Crazy vs Tajir matches during the original ECW,

Holy **** that's awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭jeffk

Seen the reviews but wasn’t really into what was reviewed until the ECW ones came along (I then watched the ready to rumble one). They are really well done and I am looking forward to ONS`06 and some of the WWECW shows.

Good
    Excellent quality audio and video, by in large it doesn’t go from low quality to high quality and deafen you (would be nice to go 1080, but probably not worth the effort)
    Editing is very professional
    Having other matches/things going on while the lads do a wrap up is a great idea
    Interesting stuff you wouldn’t know (like cena in the gym scene in ready to rumble)
    Unlike Botchamania they are (and stay live) on YouTube, so easy to download to watch on a TV in your own time

Badish
    One of the lads accents (Limerick?) was weird at the start; probably caused I’m so used to watching/hearing an American accent with wrestling.
    At times it goes a bit too much into three lads in a pub and we are over hearing the conversation (like the fella that keeps laughing at anything and everything)
    I don’t get a heavy metal version of acceptable in the 80s for a 90/00 promotion
    The what bar are they is silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

jeffk wrote: »
    Badish
    The what bar are they is silly

You didn't like WHAT BAAARRRR?