Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

How could anybody seriously talk about selling Fellaini. He has been horrible so far but he shown for Everton and Belgium he is a much better player than he has been so far. I would not mind if we had decent options.

Fletcher, Carrick, Cleverley, Giggs and Jones. ffs he is better than all of those players. We need to buy midfielders not sell them some people are so short sighted give him a chance to settle in. He looks lacking in confidence playing in a side that has been lacking confidence all season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

because Ryan Giggs, our current manager said he has not spoken to Woodward since saturday evening and indeed said he pnly had a few words with him then.

i see no reason for him to lie, he could just have given the usual response " i was asked to do the job for 4 games and we have not discussed anything different bla bla bla".

it really is amazing how selective people are on here to what they think is lies. if giggs said he didnt speak to him at all then he didnt and i think this is very strange, especially considering there was a game on yesterday.

What exactly should he have spoken to Woodward about.
    You seem to just want to bash Woodward.
    In the words of Robbie Williams he is single handedly raiseing the economy aint no chance of the football compny dropping me.
    He has no dealing with football management he strikes the deals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

What is it you think they should be discussing exactly?

if you have to ask that question, then you are likely to accept any answer that you are given. a CE and manager (and all top employees) should be in regular contact, especially in a time like it is at the moment.

so you think its normal that the CE and manager dont talk to each other for 3 days especially with a game on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

jane82 wrote: »
    What exactly should he have spoken to Woodward about.
    You seem to just want to bash Woodward.
    In the words of Robbie Williams he is single handedly raiseing the economy aint no chance of the football compny dropping me.
    He has no dealing with football management he strikes the deals.

I'm sorry but quoting Robbie Williams has to lead to some sort of ban....points deduction at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

if you have to ask that question, then you are likely to accept any answer that you are given. a CE and manager (and all top employees) should be in regular contact, especially in a time like it is at the moment.

so you think its normal that the CE and manager dont talk to each other for 3 days especially with a game on ?

Honestly to me it seems as normal as normal could be.

I'd echo the question of what exactly you think they ought to be talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Think this was in the old thread. He really does seem mad :v

Homerjay wont be happy until the equaliser picks the team.
    Then he will say something like " whats equaliser doing picking the team"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

What is it you think they should be discussing exactly?

keane2097 wrote: »
    I'd echo the question of what exactly you think they ought to be talking about?

so not even a quick call "hey Ryan, all ok for later, you need any help or anything done before the game?" is beyond the realms of normality for you?

theres a million things they could talk about, especially as its match day. if seems strange to me that our CE would not contact our manager for 3 days, in between two home games, with a media scrum around the club and perhaps Giggs only 2 weeks in the job....if some of ye think that is normal, then ok, thats your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

so not even a quick call "hey Ryan, all ok for later, you need any help or anything done before the game?" is beyond the realms of normality for you?

theres a million things they could talk about, especially as its match day.

are you serious ?
    What exactly could Ed do to help on the day of the game?

theres a million things they could talk about, especially as its match day.
    "brrp brrp brrp brrp
    Ryan: hello, Ryan giggs
    Ed: How about we call you Ryan addidas Giggs.
    Ryan: will it get me the manager job?
    Ed: whistle click sorry I cant whistle click Im going through a tunnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

theres a million things they could talk about, especially as its match day. if seems strange to me that our CE would not contact our manager for 3 days, in between two home games, with a media scrum around the club and perhaps Giggs only 2 weeks in the job....if some of ye think that is normal, then ok, thats your opinion.

FFS. Do you just sit down at the start of every day and think to yourself 'what can I criticize the club about to day?'. Then when you run out of things for the week you move on to the fans for jeering Liverpool. Embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Has Ed been added to the coaching staff otherwise i don't see what help he should be offering Giggs before games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭Robson99

Would always have been of the opinion that the europa league would be a complete waste of time and take from our chances of winning the league. But after watching Adnan, Wilson and Lawerance last night surely these lads and some more of the younger lads coming through could benefit greatly from these european games.
    Picking them for a league cup game and they may get knocked out after one game. No real gain. But they could get a few games in the europa league and gain substantial experience.
    Also with a large squad like utds they are going to need the games to keep more of the established players getting game time. Otherwise there will be too much rotation in the league games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Thecon21

Sacramento wrote: »
    There we go..

smt.gif

This getting funnier each time I watch it :D

Robson99 wrote: »
    Would always have been of the opinion that the europa league would be a complete waste of time and take from our chances of winning the league. But after watching Adnan, Wilson and Lawerance last night surely these lads and some more of the younger lads coming through could benefit greatly from these european games.
    Picking them for a league cup game and they may get knocked out after one game. No real gain. But they could get a few games in the europa league and gain substantial experience.
    Also with a large squad like utds they are going to need the games to keep more of the established players getting game time. Otherwise there will be too much rotation in the league games

Far more beneficial for both parties for younger players to go out on loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭Robson99

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Far more beneficial for both parties for younger players to go out on loan.

More beneficial to get hacked around in the lower divisions rather than getting european experience against good technical opposition with your own teamates.:confused:

Also gives them the chance to form partnerships and develop with one another

Robson99 wrote: »
    More beneficial to get hacked around in the lower divisions rather than getting european experience against good technical opposition with your own teamates.:confused:

Also gives them the chance to form partnerships and develop with one another

Yes playing 30+ games in a grueling league would be far more beneficial for their development. Playing reserve football all season and a handful of European games when they are not match sharp won't be half as good for developing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

"Hi Ryan, just calling because it's a match day and all."

"All right Ed, uhm, how are the kids?"

"Grand yeah, the little one had a bit of a cold there but it's gone now. Still on bad terms with the auld lad?"

"Yeah he has been badmouthing me in the press."

"Ah look, don't let it get to you. You're a top lad. Good luck tonight."

"Cheers Ed, catch you later."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

With new manager coming in, and after such an appalling season, and with no european games next season, I think this summer could be the perfect opportunity to do major surgery on a squad that looks stagnated. I think we could sell on up to ten players from the senior squad and bring in perhaps four or five world class players. Bear with me...
    Let's say we sold on Rio, Buttner, Vidic, Anderson, Cleverly, Fletcher, Nani, Young, Kagawa, Chico, Giggs, and Welbeck. We could get a lot of money for those who are still in contract, and it would free up a large portion of our wage bill.
    If we brought in four world class players - let's say Shaw, Mangala, Fabregas and Kroos. We would still have a large enough squad to make a serious challenge for the title and the domestic cups, by playing two teams. One for the league, one for the two cups.

First eleven -league team:
    DDG
    Raf-Smalling-Mangala-Shaw
    ----Fabregas-Kroos
    Mata---Rooney----Januzaj
    RVP

Second Eleven - cup team:
    Lindegaard
    Varela-Evans-Jones-Evra
    ----Fellaini--Carrick
    Valencia-Powell--Zaha
    Wilson

And we'd still have young, hungry players to step in: Keane, Janko, Pearson, Lawrence, Lingard, Amos

AND we would have a lot of money left over to buy some top players in during the next two transfer windows, with the 15/16 season in mind.

Just a thought... Attack me now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

RE; Fellaini

Will most likely be starting for the national side being touted as a dark horse for the world cup. I don't think they will win it at all, but could be a surprise package in the knockout round.

I think anyone with a United interest would be served well watching him play for Belgium. I tried watching as many of the games as I could and he is just a different animal for the national side. Very much looks at home, comfortable and an excellent part of their team.

Could just be settling time needed, not easy to come into the squad this year, even Mata has somewhat faltered. If he has a World Cup campaign like I know he can, will very much be at the forefront of the new managers thoughts in terms of the immediate squad.

Despite some turgid displays and injury problems, I still think he is our best midfielder ahead of Carrick, Fletcher and Cleverly.

Didn't catch the game at all last night, was out being embarrassed at 5 aside, how did the team get on, the lineup looked mental :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

because Ryan Giggs, our current manager said he has not spoken to Woodward since saturday evening and indeed said he pnly had a few words with him then.

i see no reason for him to lie, he could just have given the usual response " i was asked to do the job for 4 games and we have not discussed anything different bla bla bla".

it really is amazing how selective people are on here to what they think is lies. if giggs said he didnt speak to him at all then he didnt and i think this is very strange, especially considering there was a game on yesterday.

Why?

What advice do you think Giggs would have been looking for from Woodward?

What input do you think Woodward should have had on the team and tactics yesterday?

Edit: I see people have asked you and you haven't been able to provide a single rational reason, no probs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

wIaLACf.gif

Wildly beyond the realms of normality - I actually thought you might have something remotely plausible but it's pretty unbelievable that you think something along the lines of the above would potentially happen between the Chief Executive and the interim first team manager on the day of a match.

Out of interest, could you suggest something Giggs could reasonably respond to the question with?

"Any chance you could help us putting out the cones this evening Ed - I know you're busy but it's a match day like"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Hey Ryan, how's the new tea lady getting on? (HJ loves the tea lady)

Breakfast ok this morning?

Jerseys washed and ready to go? I hear there was some trouble spelling that young lad from Belgiums name....

Actually, it's hard not to lol but the only genuinely reasonable scenario for the two lads to require a chat on match day is as follows:
    Ryan: "What do I tell the press if they ask about the new manager?"

Ed: "Ah we're not really ready to announce anything yet, just fob them off for the moment."

Ryan: "Will I tell them I wasn't talking to you altogether?"

Ed: "Yeah, do sure. They'll know I have more important things to be doing than ringing you up every day to see how you're keeping and tell you everything that's going on at a corporate level anyway."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Saw this post with Vidic speaking to the fans....http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90269331&postcount=274

Dude looks like he singing and not only singing, but singing My Way by Sinatra. Don't believe me? Look again....

88XfzL.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

kryogen wrote: »
    Why?

What advice do you think Giggs would have been looking for from Woodward?

What input do you think Woodward should have had on the team and tactics yesterday?

Edit: I see people have asked you and you haven't been able to provide a single rational reason, no probs

Fergie and Gill said they spoke daily.

Moyes and Giggs, seemingly, have said there is little communication from Woodward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭The Mulk

Saw this post with Vidic speaking to the fans....http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90269331&postcount=274

Dude looks like he singing and not only singing, but singing My Way by Sinatra. Don't believe me? Look again....

88XfzL.jpg

Bm_G4w5CYAQJke2.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Anything that Giggs would need done would be done by people whose job it is to do those things; media relations would be handled by that department, not by Giggs and Woodward.

The reality is on a professional level, an intern manager shouldn't have all that much contact with the Chief Executive. They both have a list of jobs to do, and won't overlap all that much. When they do, the jobs will be handled by the 100 or so staff members around them.

Strikes me the only reason they'd be talking would be if they were friendly, and that shouldn't be expected or demanded. There's a difference between a personal and professional relationship. Just because Fergie and Gill had one sort of relationship (one built over years, not weeks) doesn't mean Giggs and Woodward should have an identical one, especially when Giggs is only in the job for 4 games...