If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cities you'd never return to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

lufties wrote: »
    If Longford is a city then budapest is a wonderful friendly place.

Have you been to the strip clubs yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Derry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Naples. An utter kip.

Completely mental place and you don't feel like you're in a European city and anything hanging off you is guaranteed to be robbed but it's stunningly beautiful and fascinating beyond belief. I was walking around with my mouth open for the few days I was there. The pizza was pretty decent too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

monflat wrote: »
    Penang ...
    Malaysia

Jasus what an utter kip .
    Open sewers .....
    Dead rats about.

And the smell.....
    Jasus

I thought Penang was great after Kuala Lumpur. I was probably immune to smells and rats by then. Stayed in a lovely hostel that was like a hotel and the man running it was lovely. I loved that really colourful temple you take the cable car to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Have you been to the strip clubs yet?

No, I'm thankfully leaving the kip now and never to return.awful experience as a tourist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭changepartners

Olive8585 wrote: »
    Or you could just say Barcelona like the rest of us :D

I was corrected by a native on this too Barca is a football club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

pow wow wrote: »
    Derry.

Londonderry, get it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Oh Gawd, that sums up Galway alright, such a cringe. These guys are embarassing, the too cool for school try hards and look like they should have been in the poxy band 'the thrills'.

Regarding thailand I can imagine a western girl would feel out of place. Having dated a few thai women, they've all been stark raving mad loons, nora batty mad like. I cringe at some of the 'expats' in thailand going around as if they own the place..The poor auld divils seem to be miserable really at the back of it.

Myself and a mate befriended a group of Thai girls that lived around were we stayed,they were great craic on a night out,thought it was hilarious that we thought they were pro's when we first met them.though a jealous Thai women is a site to behold funny watching them going off on one in a bar with a bewildered western boyfriend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Londonderry, get it right.

Time for Neil.

I was born in Londonderry
    I was born in Derry City too
    Oh what a special child
    To see such things and still to smile
    I knew that there was something wrong
    But I kept my head down and carried on

I grew up in Enniskillen
    I grew up in Inis Ceithleann too
    Oh what a clever boy
    To watch your hometown be destroyed
    I knew that I could not stay long
    So I kept my head down and carried on

Who cares where national borders lie?
    Who cares whose laws you're governed by?
    Who cares what name you call a town?
    Who'll care when you're six feet beneath the ground?

From the corner of my eye
    A hint of blue in the black sky
    A ray of hope, a beam of light
    An end to thirty years of night
    The church bells ring, the children sing
    What is this strange and beautiful thing?
    It's the sunrise
    Can you see the sunrise?
    I can see the sunrise
    It's the sun rise.

Kettleson wrote: »
    Time for Neil.

I was born in Londonderry
    I was born in Derry City too
    Oh what a special child
    To see such things and still to smile
    I know that there was something wrong
    But I kept my head down and carried on

I grew up in Enniskillen
    I grew up in Inis Ceithleann too
    Oh what a clever boy
    To watch your hometown be destroyed
    I know that I could not stay long
    So I kept my head down and carried on

Who cares where national borders lie?
    Who cares whose laws you're governed by?
    Who cares what name you call a town?
    Who'll care when you're six feet beneath the ground?

Good call. Thanks for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Seaneh wrote: »
    Yup Barcelona's the stand out for me too.
    Maybe it's the sheer amount of street crime, maybe it's because the city is filthy, maybe it's the sheer amount of prostitution and hard drugs or maybe it's the surly, arrogant Catalans, but something about the city just annoyed the sh!te out of me.

We've obviously experienced 2 entirely different cities. And people.

I think some of what you say was at least partly true in the 80s and early 90s, but having spent much of that time in Dublin it wasn't a great shock.

The place is amazing. Weather, food, architecture, women, beach, parks, palaces, galleries, Olympic stadia, and personally I get no trouble whatsoever when I'm there. Even at 4 am down the seafront.

And for those of you that are dissing Budapest aka "Budapesh"

George obviously holds the City in high regard.

My house in Budapest
    My hidden treasure chest,
    Golden grand piano
    My beautiful Castillo

For you
    You
    I’d leave it all

beano345 wrote: »
    Myself and a mate befriended a group of Thai girls that lived around were we stayed,they were great craic on a night out,thought it was hilarious that we thought they were pro's when we first met them.though a jealous Thai women is a site to behold funny watching them going off on one in a bar with a bewildered western boyfriend

Its all about money with thai women, I wouldn't take them too seriously, find them, **** them and forget them. A lot of lads get really involved and end up throwing all their money at them, while she has no problem mounting any cock that comes her way.

Banned

Kettleson wrote: »
    And for those of you that are dissing Budapest aka "Budapesh"

George obviously holds the City in high regard.

My house in Budapest
    My hidden treasure chest,
    Golden grand piano
    My beautiful Castillo

For you
    You
    I’d leave it all

Ya its a beautiful city but the peeps living there are horrible.

Its all about money with thai women, I wouldn't take them too seriously, find them, **** them and forget them. A lot of lads get really involved and end up throwing all their money at them, while she has no problem mounting any cock that comes her way.

Mod

Well aren't you just delightful. Jesus Christ.

Don't post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,481 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Krusader wrote: »
    You were probably pickpocketed and you don't even know it

I went to Barcelona and Madrid in the space of 6 weeks last year. The difference is incredible. I enjoyed Barcelona but at night it just felt very unsafe in parts, getting hassled by hookers in the main streets and eyed up by chancers. Madrid was the opposite always lots of police around and very little bogeys eyeing you up or hanging about. Id probably go back to Barcelona to be fair but Madrid is such an amazing city and tops it completely.

I'd never go back to Brussels. The capital city of boredom in my book and the people were the same and not particularly friendly. Just plain dull.

I was in Lisbon last year also for 5 days... 2 really would have been enough. Nice city but not a lot to do so don't think I'd go back. Saying that I loved the day trip we did to Cascais.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Strumms wrote: »
    I went to Barcelona and Madrid in the space of 6 weeks last year. The difference is incredible. I enjoyed Barcelona but at night it just felt very unsafe in parts, getting hassled by hookers in the main streets and eyed up by chancers. Madrid was the opposite always lots of police around and very little bogeys eyeing you up or hanging about. Id probably go back to Barcelona to be fair but Madrid is such an amazing city and tops it completely.

Love Madrid. But love Barna (that's the cool and hip local name for it. Apparently) more.

Very different. I wouldn't be disappointed to be in either right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

32 pages in and no mention of Istanbul? (I don't think). i really didn't pike this city at all at all, i had the benefit of going with people who knew the city well and loved it and i still hated the place.

Just felt like everyone was out to get you. Maybe that was just because i am female, definitely felt like a second class citizen there as a woman. Hated it.

32 pages in and no mention of Istanbul? (I don't think). i really didn't pike this city at all at all, i had the benefit of going with people who knew the city well and loved it and i still hated the place.

Just felt like everyone was out to get you. Maybe that was just because i am female, definitely felt like a second class citizen there as a woman. Hated it.

Sounds a bit like a visit to Marks & Spencers for a bloke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

I expected it to be like that, but it wasn't. I did feel like that briefly on the train from the airport to where I was staying...seemed to be all blokes on the train and bit of a vibe, but once I got there and started walking around, I felt pretty safe. Found the people very nice and helpful on the whole and not too pushy either. Came away with a very good impression of the place...probably because I was expecting so little!

Love Madrid. But love Barna (that's the cool and hip local name for it. Apparently) more.

Very different. I wouldn't be disappointed to be in either right now.

I live in Madrid and it would be perfect if it had a coastline. Definite advantage Barcelona has over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rory Gallagher

Galway is easily the most boring waste of space I've ever had the misfortune to visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

EB_2013 wrote: »
    Brussels

The biggest dive I've ever seen. Felt like I was in North Africa most of the time, nearly mugged on the underground, impossible to find a supermarket and all the train stations were full of drunks/junkies.

yet , according to AH its only Dublin that has crime and junkies , yet compared to MOST European capitals its really safe and clean - but some people just gonna hate :-(

CJC999 wrote: »
    Frankfurt...it's simply the most boring place I've ever been too, there's nothing of interest there.

15 years ago , when the British and Americans still had a huge presence at the air bases , the Sachsenhaousen area of Frankfurt was HOPPING , some mad carry on in that place , and dont forget you also had Sven Vath's club up on the Zeil and Dorian grey out at the airport , opened Friday shut Monday - best club in Europe at the time

but , since those time , the place is indeed dead , i was back over last Christmas and the place was like a morgue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

dj jarvis wrote: »
    yet , according to AH its only Dublin that has crime and junkies , yet compared to MOST European capitals its really safe and clean - but some people just gonna hate :-(

This constant 'North Africa' regarding Brussels thing seems a bit racist to me, though. I lived there for the best part of a year and never had any negative experiences with a North African. Worked with 3-4 who were all lovely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Johannesburg...an absolute dump.

Cape Town on the other hand is stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Cork.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    I know a lot of people that have been pick pocketed in Dublin, and have seen it taking place myself. I've seen guys getting caught doing it. I went up with a group of lads once and everyone of them was pick pocketed except me. I've actually been very lucky - It has never happened to me anywhere.

sorry , but that's either a lie or you have REALLY stupid mates , so one got done and all your other mates did not take precautions to prevent it happening to them ???
    bull**** coming from another sad Dublin hater :-(

Truly sad