Liverpool v Man City. Sun April 13th KO 13:37 SS1, Important Mod Warning in OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

City deserved something from the game yesterday, but we deserved something from the game in December. I think points shared over the 2 games is perfectly fair.
    In fact Chelsea should be disappointed.

Instead of 2 draws (2 points each - 4 total) it was a win each (3 points each - 6 total).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Fair play to clattenburg yesterday, was consistent with his decisons. Never booked Dzeko for his 'dive' in the first half and consequently didnt book Suarez (or Milner) for his in the second. Good officiating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    The ref was too quick to give out cards early on and that gave him a problem in regards to Suarez, who probably should have been booked for diving. When he didn't get booked he couldn't book milner for it either.
    Clattenburg is one of the poorer refs and yesterday it probably went in our favour.

Regardless of giving out cards early to other players, Suarez had to be booked for his tackle. His tackle on Demichelis was too late to just be allowed go with a warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

No one appealed for it, and nothing was said until a slow montion reply was viewed

It was still a penalty though. You couldn't blame Clattenburg for missing it though.

I thought all four penalty incidents were penalties yday to be honest. At least Clattenburg was consistent in not giving any of them! :pac:

Gary Neville said dive straight away before analysing it at all.

There was contact. Suarez made a ridiculous meal of it and tbh I thought there was no contact until I watched MOTD last night and there certainly was.

Neville isn't the genius pundit everyone makes him out to be.

He was shouting dive when Kompany fouled Suarez. Again Suarez went down easy but it was a foul.

They also mentioned missed the handball from Skrtel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

rarnes1 wrote: »

There was contact. Suarez made a ridiculous meal of it and tbh I thought there was no contact until I watched MOTD last night and there certainly was.

He was shouting dive when Kompany fouled Suarez. Again Suarez went down easy but it was a foul.

I've noticed it more the last few weeks. He said Flanagan did the ref last week and he was wrong, same yesterday. I think we know which he'd rather his wife to run off with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Anyone got a link to the MOTD highlights?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I've noticed it more the last few weeks. He said Flanagan did the ref last week and he was wrong, same yesterday. I think we know which he'd rather his wife to run off with.

He's better suited to the studio anyway tbh. Not great in the commentary box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Fair play to clattenburg yesterday, was consistent with his decisons. Never booked Dzeko for his 'dive' in the first half and consequently didnt book Suarez (or Milner) for his in the second. Good officiating.

Consistant bad reffing is still bad, it's just consistant.

There's yellows for diving for a reason.

It's a shocking inditement of how exposed the refs are and how little support they get that in the biggest game of the season, the ref simply removed contentious decisions. No one was getting a penalty and no-one was getting booked(or sent off as it would have been for Suarez) for diving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,129 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

gosplan wrote: »
    Consistant bad reffing is still bad, it's just consistant.

There's yellows for diving for a reason.

It's a shocking inditement of how exposed the refs are and how little support they get that in the biggest game of the season, the ref simply removed contentious decisions. No one was getting a penalty and no-one was getting booked(or sent off as it would have been for Suarez) for diving.

But Suarez did not dive, he went down easy each time there was contact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

rarnes1 wrote: »

I think Neville was ok up to a few weeks ago as I'm sure he though liverpool wouldn't win the league but now he is a worried man. I think it would kill him if liverpool won it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

But Suarez did not dive, he went down easy each time there was contact

Sarcasm detector malfunction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

niallo27 wrote: »
    I think Neville was ok up to a few weeks ago as I'm sure he though liverpool wouldn't win the league but now he is a worried man. I think it would kill him if liverpool won it

My thoughts exactly. His true colours are coming out now tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,681 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

SantryRed wrote: »
    Regardless of giving out cards early to other players, Suarez had to be booked for his tackle. His tackle on Demichelis was too late to just be allowed go with a warning.

Not debating that the tackle did not warrant a card but usually in the bigger games like that the refs let a few off at the start and just tell them to calm down. He could have done that, as oncve he booked Suarez he booked others not too long after that were a bit harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Neville's a good pundit. Maybe I'm the only one, but I'm glad he's rattled and showing it. He's a human with emotions and he's also still a United fan, so let him be upset like a lot of United fans. No reason he should be let off :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Ah but sure wasn't he brilliant not so long ago when he was defending Suarez's right to go down. He's great when he's on your side...

"Even Neville said it was a pen"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Not debating that the tackle did not warrant a card but usually in the bigger games like that the refs let a few off at the start and just tell them to calm down. He could have done that, as oncve he booked Suarez he booked others not too long after that were a bit harsh.
    The ref made a stick to beat himself with with the early booking.

Yes it deserved a booking but just like defenders not making a stupid tackle early and getting booked, the same applies to refs too, imo.

There would be plenty of time left to book a player for a tackle/dive after a warning to calm down was ignored.

Eight Ball wrote: »
    My thoughts exactly. His true colours are coming out now tbh.

He was a closet United fan all along alright :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,222 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Gary Neville in hating Liverpool shocker.

He's a great pundit, but asking him to commentate on that game was always going to bring out some gutteral emotion. It's hard to censor yourself on live commentary and come across objective.

He's entitled to want Liverpool nowhere near the title.

I wouldn't want it any other way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

The Neville comments are a bit bizarre. Wow, the guy didn't realise Suarez touched and called it a dive without the aid of super-duper slow motion. Clearly he has a chip on his shoulder.

He's a commentator. He's obviously going to get things wrong when he calls things live. I thought Suarez dived as well, does that make me a liverpool hater?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,912 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Even if Neville wass somewhat biased against Liverpool it wouldn't bother me too much. I don't think he is though in terms of how he calls things generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Have great respect for Neville as a pundit. Considering the hate he had for Liverpool while wearing United colours, he does remarkably well to restrain himself while on tv, I feel :pac:

He calls it as he sees it, and I think its very understandable that he thought Suares dived. Most of us did at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SM01

Echoing the last three posts, Neville is a grand commentator and it's a non-debate. Nearly everyone (including Neville) thought Suarez wasn't touched and it took a BBC slow-mo replay from a specific angle to clarify he was. It's expected that Neville's commentary is informed by his United career which is fine by me and I find him consistently balanced, impartial and often insightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Ah but sure wasn't he brilliant not so long ago when he was defending Suarez's right to go down. He's great when he's on your side...

"Even Neville said it was a pen"

I'm not sure the ones slating him now, defended him them and/or vice versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

If Neville did not have a bias towards Man u ,then I would find him fake. As it is it's clear he wants Man u to do well but he tends to discuss incidents fairly and you cant ask for much more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

If Neville did not have a bias towards Man u ,then I would find him fake. As it is it's clear he wants Man u to do well but he tends to discuss incidents fairly and you cant ask for much more than that.

Same with Garragher, still biased to Liverpool but can still make critical comments about them.

Its nice to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

From the match day programme, City took a full page advert to mark the 96.

ba52aa0c91858defcb6aed492d615f18_crop_north.jpg?w=600&h=401&q=75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Wrong thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Wrong thread

No its not. This is from the match day program on Sunday. It had previously been posted in the Liverpool thread (closed today as a mark of respect in case you hadnt noticed).
    This is a fitting place for it and shows the class of Man City. Their fans were impeccable too in the minute silence.
    The ad was a nice touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Wrong thread

I would seriously doubt that, considering its been posted in this thread about 5 times now.

Sorry gafferino! :pac: