Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

whelan2 wrote: »
    yup no interest in twitter here , dont like the daily references to it on here, but then things are changing f&f is nowhere near what it was when i joined:mad:

The fact that most use their real names cuts out the BS but it gets rough enough too, veeerry interesting comment on it yesterday though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

yup no interest in twitter here , dont like the daily references to it on here, but then things are changing f&f is nowhere near what it was when i joined:mad:

Things really have taken a turn since 28/03 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Electric gone here half an hour ago in the middle of milking - could be 3hours before its back!! Great start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭ABlur

simx wrote: »
    Things really have taken a turn since 28/03 :D

What happened on the 28th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ABlur wrote: »

Was thinking the same thing there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I'm on the phone, so I can't be sure, but is it when W2 joined?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

i havent totally left.

I suppose the twitter suited me more as i had it on the phone and didnt need to keep refreshing like boards. Im on a blackberry.

It started getting rough on here in the back end of last year

Look at all the interesting and knowledgeable people who have left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

i havent totally left.

I suppose the twitter suited me more as i had it on the phone and didnt need to keep refreshing like boards. Im on a blackberry.

Get yore self an iPhone boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Sure your only here a couple of weeks ya pup ya. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,742 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Electric gone here half an hour ago in the middle of milking - could be 3hours before its back!! Great start!

I am having a magic Monday here too

Sure your only here a couple of weeks ya pup ya. :)

Ya know what I mean. I think it was 2009 when I joined first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

i havent totally left.

Have recommended you to a farmer from Delvin;)

Would it be absolute standard practice that Ye dairy farmers have a back-up system for electricity, seeing as its vital for you're day to day operation?
    Or are power outages such a rare event Ye take the chance?

rancher wrote: »
    The fact that most use their real names cuts out the BS but it gets rough enough too, veeerry interesting comment on it yesterday though
    that is the second reference to a very interesting comment if its so interesting why not copy it on to here, instead of refering to it again? Its exactly what i was talking about in my above post, why not let us all see it if its so good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Tried twitter can't get the hang if it at all.

Unless the sniping stops here many more are going to fold up their tents and move in. Chit chat is hardly worth opening anymore. It was great craic with plenty of slagging

went on it once and my tiny brain was melted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭ABlur

Chit chat is hardly worth opening anymore.

What about getting rid of Chit chat altogether would that help?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

Chit chat is hardly worth opening anymore.

What about getting rid of Chit chat altogether would that help?

+1000

plenty of other forums to talk sh1te which is mostly happening here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭cristeoir

Have to disagree with ye , I think chit chat is one of the best threads on F& F. Always something new on it and anyway if ye don't like it sure you don't have to read it!

Here's my 2 cents worth in relation to getting rid of Chit Chat:
    I don't believe that getting rid or banning something like this will have the positive outcome you may think.
    There's heading for 40,000 posts here because posters like it.
    Banning and prohibition are not the answer in my opinion.
    Regulation and common sense is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

cristeoir wrote: »
    Have to disagree with ye , I think chit chat is one of the best threads on F& F. Always something new on it and anyway if ye don't like it sure you don't have to read it!

It was and could be again if some people would cop them self's on and keep the nasty arguments to a minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭cristeoir

td5man wrote: »
    It was and could be again if some people would cop them self's on and keep the nasty arguments to a minimum.

Yea people need to realise that not everyone is going to agree with their opinion on something and just accept it . We are all in farming to make a few pound and what works for one may not work for another. Oh and none of us are infallible in spite of what we might like to think ourselves .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭Charliebull

i agree chit chat was a brillant place, , you could pop in for a bit of slagging and a bit of crack and it offereda bit of light relief from mundane day to day sh!t

people then started getting bitter and sniping which haas to stop, so we all either cop on and get on or pull plug, its that simple

i would like it to stay but in its old format

Get yore self an iPhone boy.

He's too tight :D

that is the second reference to a very interesting comment if its so interesting why not copy it on to here, instead of refering to it again? Its exactly what i was talking about in my above post, why not let us all see it if its so good?

Here's my 2 cents worth in relation to getting rid of Chit Chat:
    I don't believe that getting rid or banning something like this will have the positive outcome you may think.
    There's heading for 40,000 posts here because posters like it.
    Banning and prohibition are not the answer in my opinion.
    Regulation and common sense is.

Exactly. Chit chat keeps all the messing off the other threads

Reggie. wrote: »
    when i started chit chat along time ago the first post was it was about general goings on etc... I also think at the risk of repeating myself again if posts where reread before posting alot of the sniping wouldnt happen ,to those who are giving out whats to stop ye leaving instead of giving out about it, as someone else said if you dont like it dont read it. Its a bit like a newspaper scan over and read what you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Whelan2 joined sher :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭mf240

Reggie. wrote: »

And if anybody doesn't enjoy chit chat then don't click on it. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Fcuk this working lark am stuck in the office looking at a lovely blue sky and all I want to do is get home and put out the last of the fert on the grazing ground