Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the stupidest answer you've given on an exam question?

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

beks101 wrote: »
    I am a LAYDEE!

Well... I then I don't know what he was expecting. Ladies float better than men so you'd be grand like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

beks101 wrote: »
    Not an exam, but in one of my first 'Confessions' with a priest when I was a kid (I'm sure I'm gonna burn in hell for sharing this on a message board, but what the hell)

He was supposedly trying to emphasize the importance of family and posing one of these "how hard would you fight for them in the face of adversity?" questions and basically patronizing the fcuk out of my eight-year-old self.

So he starts off, "right Beks, imagine if you were out sailing across Galway Bay in a boat with your family. And suddenly the current got really strong, the boat was rocking and looked like it was about to capsize. The boat was filling up with water and with all of your family in it, it was sinking faster and faster. Now Beks, what would you do?"

I sat there and just stared at him.

"Drown"

He nearly shat himself laughing at that. TBH twenty years later I'm still not entirely sure what answer he expected me to give :confused:

I think that was a brilliant answer! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

osarusan wrote: »
    I got -1% on a German test once. It was a 50-item grammat test. I got every question wrong, and got deducted a percent for not writing the date in the proper German way.
    I know someone who got 2% on a maths exam and I never thought that could be beaten :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Not stupidest answer as such during an exam but stupidest thing I done during a college exam which I was very nervous about anyway. Towards the end of the exam the pressure was on and I made a mistake in one of my calculations.

Not to worry, the girl sitting beside me had a bottle of Tippex on her desk. In my flustered state I lean over and whisper "Can I borrow your Topix..... Tappex...... no Tampax..... no....fúckin.... corrector stuff?" What made it worse that strange nasal noises emanated from me while asking (during the ..... places above) making it sound like I was sniggering plus the Tampax part was loud enough to turn a few heads.

Fair play to her she lent it to me and probably was slightly scared of my highly luminous red face when giving it back to her.

I ended it with a whispered "Thank you" followed by a final nasally snort. Many years on now, I'm still morto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭ronjo

Zed Bank wrote: »
    During my religious mocks for the junior cert.

As a matter of interest when did Religion go on the Junior Cert syllabus or was it always there?

I did the Inter all the way back in 87 and we didnt do Religion for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

osarusan wrote: »
    I got -1% on a German test once. It was a 50-item grammat test. I got every question wrong, and got deducted a percent for not writing the date in the proper German way.

We had a German teacher who did things like negative marking... which drove me mad.
    He also marked not dotting an 'i' a spelling mistake, if a word had two 'i's in it you could get two mistakes for it... I managed to fail pretty much anything he set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

ronjo wrote: »
    As a matter of interest when did Religion go on the Junior Cert syllabus or was it always there?

It was introduced in the early 2000s. I did it in 2006 and it was the biggest load of rubbish ever.

Our teacher nearly gave herself a heart attack giving out as none of the class took it seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

My year were the first to do it in my school (2006) but it had been in existence for a few years before that. We had to study "Christianity", "Morality", "Prayer", "The Community of Faith", "Different World Religions" etc. and write a "Journal" on Islam to be handed in in advance. Some of it was fine, other parts were a bit ridiculous.

"Why do people pray?"
    "Because they want to...?"

It's an option for the Leaving Cert now, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭bop1977

I put "possession is nine tenths of the law" on a music exam question about some law of music.

Needless to say it was the wrong answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Don't know to be totally honest, examinations.ie gives exam papers back to 2000 iirc but it could have been added before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭montyrebel

not as stupid as some on here but in my school until 3rd year you had to learn 2 languages.

Had both for homework on the same night, I ended up doing my German homework in French and vice versa, no idea how i didnt notice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Not in an exam, but I was writing a history essay one evening while listening to Pink Floyd. Read back over what I'd just written, and had to redo that page as Id written down a whole bunch of the lyrics.

The other one is that I tend to switch C and S when typing. I was studying zoology, and we had to do an arts course, so I picked social anthropology. I wound up with comments about insect taboos in an anthropology essay, and the odd referernce to incest in entomology essays. Both of which are perfectly valid words and don't show up on spellcheckers. I learnt to do a search for insect and incest, and change as appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Not stupid as such but a bit mental. In my Junior Cert mock English exam, we could write a creative story based on a photo. There was a tree in one of the photos so I started writing from the POV of the tree. The story basically went that a young couple carved their initials into me, and the tree gods were so angry that they vowed revenge. So every time I saw the couple after that, the bloke had some kind of injury - always wood-related. Eventually a branch fell on him and killed him.

I was about half way through it when I suddenly realised wtf I was writing, but I'd gone too far by that stage and had to finish the story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

vitani wrote: »
    Not stupid as such but a bit mental. In my Junior Cert mock English exam, we could write a creative story based on a photo. There was a tree in one of the photos so I started writing from the POV of the tree. The story basically went that a young couple carved their initials into me, and the tree gods were so angry that they vowed revenge. So every time I saw the couple after that, the bloke had some kind of injury - always wood-related. Eventually a branch fell on him and killed him.

I was about half way through it when I suddenly realised wtf I was writing, but I'd gone too far by that stage and had to finish the story.
    That actually sounds like a pretty cool story - imaginative and original. Bet it gave the person marking it a good laugh.