If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Farrell wrote: »
    Yep, the same spreading fertilizer, too close or too far.
    You'll have the GPS yet

How much is a simple GPS unit? Remember people talking about them here before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

C0N0R wrote: »
    How much is a simple GPS unit? Remember people talking about them here before.

Around 1500e for a decent one.
    If I was to upgrade the tractor that spreads the feet here I'd put one on it.

Jesus they aren't cheap, is that for one with an aerial ontop of the tractor yes? I suppose to get accuracy you have to spend money, you don't want to be one metre out the whole time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

dzer2 wrote: »
    Ah come on whats walls for it wont be long til she is gone and all you will have is the picture on the wall. Too many people want a house to be a palace not a home

Spot on, thought it was lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

My contractor spreads all my fert. He has gps and he gets it all done in a day. Five ton at a time. Saves a lot of time and no misses.

Jesus they aren't cheap, is that for one with an aerial ontop of the tractor yes? I suppose to get accuracy you have to spend money, you don't want to be one metre out the whole time!

Ye gave one of those globe pieces on the cab.
    And a screen in the cab that shows you were your driving.
    Friend bought a new 2T spinner last year along with a tractor and put it on.
    Good setup

mf240 wrote: »
    My contractor spreads all my fert. He has gps and he gets it all done in a day. Five ton at a time. Saves a lot of time and no misses.

We get local tillage lad in the odd time to spread in bulk.
    Massive trailed spreader and fendt.
    He has it loose in sheds and just loads up and heads off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

I was passing the road today. Lad with a big trailer fert spreader on a fasttrack. Think it was winter wheat.
    Anyway, He was doing the first tramline next to the road and my car was getting peppered with the fert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,453 ✭✭✭naughto

I was passing the road today. Lad with a big trailer fert spreader on a fasttrack. Think it was winter wheat.
    Anyway, He was doing the first tramline next to the road and my car was getting peppered with the fert.
    did you open the window and bring some home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Have a dry cow out with the sheep, went to let another this evening.
    Struggled to get her out of the shed, when she went into the field, she was acting strange so went in & watched.
    Next thing she started sniffing at the ground, then walked a bit before galloping back into the shed.
    Just gave up & put her back in the pen (with ease).
    Is this a bad sign of the weather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

She's like myself cant bear sheep. She smelt sheep sh1te on the grass and now she's sulking in the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,500 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

The GAA has sold it's soul.... The men who founded the GAA must be turning in their grave.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Sure no one wants to leave a streak!! There's a local man with a wagtail spreader and the bridle has been brokien off the spout with a few years. It's gas to look into his fields because he only hits half the ground with the manure. I told him what was wrong and that it was a cheap fix but he didn't seem to care.

What's the bridle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

What's the bridle?

This lad

Sure no one wants to leave a streak!! There's a local man with a wagtail spreader and the bridle has been brokien off the spout with a few years. It's gas to look into his fields because he only hits half the ground with the manure. I told him what was wrong and that it was a cheap fix but he didn't seem to care.

Awh stop there an oul lad here. With an ancient vicon.
    Sides are rusted to bits.
    He went to get it fixed last yr and was told to scrap it but no kept going.

Some lads don't care and don't know either how to use fertiliser properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Nothing I hate more than missing strips in the field when its sprayed off. Really annoys me. Missed 4 lengths in the field about 4ft wide.
    His do the rest manage when spraying off?

GPS here, trimble 250, there only bout €1300 now with the patch Ariel which is grand.

But cheaper method to get ya by. Get a roll of insulation tape. Drive one line and measure out the next line. Park tractor where next line should be, then put the insulation tape on the window where the original tramline is when your sitting in seat, then turn round and mark it same on other side.

Basically all you have to do is look to each side and get the tape to line up with the previous wheelings, should have you fairly on the money!

Zr105 wrote: »
    GPS here, trimble 250, there only bout €1300 now with the patch Ariel which is grand.

But cheaper method to get ya by. Get a roll of insulation tape. Drive one line and measure out the next line. Park tractor where next line should be, then put the insulation tape on the window where the original tramline is when your sitting in seat, then turn round and mark it same on other side.

Basically all you have to do is look to each side and get the tape to line up with the previous wheelings, should have you fairly on the money!

Would work grand only the field was bare and I couldn't see the tracks. Where I could see the tracks it was grand and didn't miss much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭mayota

mf240 wrote: »
    She's like myself can bear sheep. She smelt sheep sh1te on the grass and now she's sulking in the shed.

You havent met the right sheep yet 240 :D

Would work grand only the field was bare and I couldn't see the tracks. Where I could see the tracks it was grand and didn't miss much

That makes it a balls then alright!

GPS is handy out, well worth the money IMO if your spreading or spraying a reasonable amount. Have used it for marking off fences to get them parallel and use it when mowing so there's no short runs.

Ah ye its on the shopping list in a few yrs.
    This a balls alright when ye havrme to go back up the field for a foot

Ah ye its on the shopping list in a few yrs.
    This a balls alright when ye havrme to go back up the field for a foot

If your changing tractor still try get it added in as a sweetener on the deal ;);) there not that hard to move from one tractor to the other

Chance your hand on the auto-steer to!! Would you say gps would pay for itself over time with less wastage better coverage? Suppose it depends and how much land ur spreading, but say 100acres?

Sure say every time you went out with the spinner ye lost a full bag of can.
    So say 20e every 3 weeks.
    You wouldn't be lo g getting it back
    And more than likely your loosing more than that

Id definitely imagine it would over time, how long would depend how much your spreading i guess.
    We do a bit of spreading on hire here so getting through a fair bit of stuff so it's well worth it IMO, if for no other reason than you can push on when it would be hard to see your tracks, can also get out quickly after the silage as your not waiting for a bit to come back so you can see tracks, same for paddocks that are grazed out tight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

A neighbour here spreading silage ground after first cut, small bags, would put a stone in each empty bag, carry them in the cab with him hand every time he turned in the field throw a bag where he turned and another one half way down the run, always spread perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Asked mate one time where he bought the stripey fertilizer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    This lad

I though so all right. It's broken in our spinner as well, and we haven't fixed it.

Tell me what it does again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

It spreads the grains of fertiliser out even in each direction when the spout is going...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I use GPS for fert, sprayer, fencing and laying watermains.

No reduction in fert used but big saving on time as I can drive at 23m and at 16km/hr covering about an acre a minute. Need a big spreader to really get the benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I wonder is there an app (or will there be soon) that could give you the green/red light bar on your screen? Just place it in a holder on top of the dash in middle of cab.

There's already speedometer apps that are very accurate, so I can't see how it could be beyond the bounds of possibility. Be a good young scientists project for a couple of whiz kids!