Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Premier League Darts 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭wilddarts

Think MvG's fist pumps and ''BOOM''s are alright in fairness, he only does them after throwing all 3 at the board, and after he's actually hit what he was aiming at.

Was disappointed with Mardle and Harrington's response to Wright's walking away from the oche with one dart in his hand, he may 'entitled' to do it, but it is bullsh!t€. Really hope it's not something that's going to creep into other PDC events.

Yes, the sport needs 'characters' but it now has a massive following, and it got there without the level of s#ite from Wright last night.

I used to be more of a Wright fan than MvG, not any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,235 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

really enjoyed the darts last night. only drank 4 pints but am struggling to remember some of it lol.

how would i get tickets to the grand prix in october ?? or would i better off to wait til Premier League Dublin 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭DeadlyH83

PTH2009 wrote: »
    really enjoyed the darts last night. only drank 4 pints but am struggling to remember some of it lol.

how would i get tickets to the grand prix in october ?? or would i better off to wait til Premier League Dublin 2015

Tickets for the grand prix will be out soon on PDC.TV and that is another great comp and prob actually better for a real darts fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,235 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

What hotel did the players stay in last night

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

In the City West, Stayed last year seen a good few and got pics with them. They be wandering about the hotel mixing in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭DeadlyH83

They all stayed in the Gibson hotel across from the O2

Peter Wright is a funny fellow. The look is all flamboyant, but apart from the look he seems almost like a quiet person who is not comfortable with the antics or in interview, but perhaps feels he has to engage in a little gamesmanship and trash talking to boost his profile, give him a "presence" etc. I think when he does that he strays a little outside his comfort zone, whereas players with a different make up like Manley just revelled in it. Have seen him up close in Killarney and he is rather quiet, very pleasant in fairness, but didn't seem like the life and soul of the party type.

Course could be completely wrong with my amateur psychoanalysis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Peter Wright is a funny fellow. The look is all flamboyant, but apart from the look he seems almost like a quiet person who is not comfortable with the antics or in interview, but perhaps feels he has to engage in a little gamesmanship and trash talking to boost his profile, give him a "presence" etc. I think when he does that he strays a little outside his comfort zone, whereas players with a different make up like Manley just revelled in it. Have seen him up close in Killarney and he is rather quiet, very pleasant in fairness, but didn't seem like the life and soul of the party type.

Course could be completely wrong with my amateur psychoanalysis!
    I think you have it spot on there tbh. He doesn't have the confidence, arrogance or personality to carry it off.

Seems to me that a gimmick or a certain personality trait is required to get noticed these days. Sky don't want bland.

He doesn't have the confidence, arrogance or personality to carry it off.

Yeah, that's what it seems like to me. That he feels he has to "be" a certain type, more aggressive, more controversial or whatever. Now in fairness to him it's not affecting his game at least, but still don't think he carries it off. He just seems too nice and quiet really. I like him, was delighted to see the way he has climbed up the rankings, thought things like his error v Barney in the 2012 UK Open might have broken him but he has come back stronger and stronger. And love his throwing action. And clearly there is history with Van Gerwen, who said he was not good enough before a clash last year. But think he could leave out the antics, the hairstyle is great, he can leave it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I think you have it spot on there tbh. He doesn't have the confidence, arrogance or personality to carry it off.

Seems to me that a gimmick or a certain personality trait is required to get noticed these days. Sky don't want bland.

they don't want it but look at the 10 players in the PL and none of them are hellraisers....Newton, Whitlock, Anderson, Chisnall Lewis, Barney. MvG is the only one who has a bit of life about him and Wright of course although it's a bit forced.

gramar wrote: »
    they don't want it but look at the 10 players in the PL and none of them are hellraisers....Newton, Whitlock, Anderson, Chisnall Lewis, Barney. MvG is the only one who has a bit of life about him and Wright of course although it's a bit forced.

Anderson seems to be a larger than life character. Very popular and good craic.

And Barney has that whole army thing going on...which is kinda hard to figure really because he isn't the warmest now but guess it goes back years.

Wes, Whitlock and Chissy seem a bit quiet alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Anderson seems to be a larger than life character. Very popular and good craic.

And Barney has that whole army thing going on...which is kinda hard to figure really because he isn't the warmest now but guess it goes back years.

Wes, Whitlock and Chissy seem a bit quiet alright.

Barney has an army alright but I'm not sure why. He comes on bangs his chest a bit and then gives that silly salute to the crowd but once the game starts he looks fairly sullen.

You're right about Anderson as he seems fairly jovial but the only other one is Taylor who usually acknowledges the crowd a bit in most games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Darraghgt4

Too late for the wizard at this stage but hes playing brilliant darts tonight , also a great 164 checkout from van gerwan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Gotya

Has anyone else noticed, the piece they show before the players walk on. Adrian Lewis is throwing with his left hand?

Wright was on for the "161" and never stepped back to play the crowd and still only hit the outer bull :)

Great fight back from M.V.G to get a draw.

Think R.V.G can win this one, would not be surprised with a draw.

Jaysus, I thought Anderson was going to throw that away :o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,375 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

If Lewis had played half decent in that last leg he would have thrown it away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭josie19

Can anyone tell me who throws 1st in the Premier League Darts? Presumably the player listed 1st in the match. Thornton v Chisnall (Thornton to throw 1st ??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭melon_collie

Yes the person listed first throws first

Anderson through, really happy for him, played some good stuff there although Barney wasn't up to much.
    Now if only Thornton can muster up a performance against Taylor and Wright can beat MvG...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭sc86

i reckon anderson will take mvg in semi
    taylor to beat barney as usual

anderson to win final

you heard it here first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Gotya

sc86 wrote: »
    i reckon anderson will take mvg in semi
    taylor to beat barney as usual

anderson to win final

you heard it here first!

I hope you are right, i'd love to see Anderson win.
    Should be a good night of darts.

Fair play to Taylor, after the start he made in the PL.
    @7/5 to win it out and the 9/4 for Anderson to beat M.V.G, looks good to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

What are the length of the matches tonight lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭statto25

Degag wrote: »
    What are the length of the matches tonight lads?

First to 8 in the Semis and first to 10 in the final. The PDC youth final is also on tonight after the Semis.

Oh and....Come on GARY ANDERSON!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

statto25 wrote: »
    First to 8 in the Semis and first to 10 in the final. The PDC youth final is also on tonight after the Semis.

Oh and....Come on GARY ANDERSON!!!!

It's nearly the same as the group stages so? They should really make it first to 15 or 16.

Degag wrote: »
    It's nearly the same as the group stages so? They should really make it first to 15 or 16.

The format is short and sweet games so its only fair really to keep it that way for the final IMO. Regardless, here's hoping for some great games tonight cause the league has been stale this year

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,375 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Anderson missed chances in four legs to breamMvG's throw which cost him the match. He really should have won it tbh.

Really good game that, pity about the last leg from Anderson. Thought he was going into it "in the zone" after the previous leg.

The first 3 darts from Michael totally rattled Gary. Shame but it's great to see Gary back in form again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,443 ✭✭✭✭CSF

You wouldn't know van Barneveld was a professional darts player based on a video of this game. Really really bottling it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,443 ✭✭✭✭CSF

My god, this is awful.