If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

That sitting down lark can do damage. Alls well that ends well though!

I need a calving gate for this job. Pulling in the crush is a dangerous racket. If she was any way quiet I would have let her out in the yard and pulled there and if she wanted to go down you could let her go on her side. You'd lose a calf very fast when they sit like that. Some day I will be better equipped for it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,659 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Muckit wrote: »
    Bring us back a few of those pecan pastries abd a few triple chic cookies oh and a box of beer!! :D

Now your talking muckit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I need a calving gate for this job. Pulling in the crush is a dangerous racket. If she was any way quiet I would have let her out in the yard and pulled there and if she wanted to go down you could let her go on her side. You'd lose a calf very fast when they sit like that. Some day I will be better equipped for it all.

Our calving gate is one side of the yard in a calving pen away from the slatted shed where the crush is. We would move over cows as they near calving. The very odd time one will catch us out and calve where the crush is. So we put their head in the crush through the head gate and leave them on the outside where there's more room to manoeuvre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Neighbours place robbed for the second time this week today between 12.30 and 2.30. Back door Kicked in and house ransacked and money and jewlery taken. Took tools and radios out of tractors and cars first time.
    House and yard is by a busy road and me and my parents were up the road at 11.30 and 12.30 and seen no one.
    Some rotten hoors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Neighbours place robbed for the second time this week today between 12.30 and 2.30. Back door Kicked in and house ransacked and money and jewlery taken. Took tools and radios out of tractors and cars first time.
    House and yard is by a busy road and me and my parents were up the road at 11.30 and 12.30 and seen no one.
    Some rotten hoors

Had they no alarm

rancher wrote: »
    Had they no alarm

Nope. There wooden doors with a Yale lock on them. Not very secure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Just in the door from a course in CPC in the local community centre. Very, very worthwhile. Covered chest compressions, use of the de-fibrillater, and also choking in adults and children.

Think you are a big fit man/woman? Do chest compressions for 4 minutes and see how fit you feel after.

If one of these are running near you, please go.
    If there isn't one locally, try and organise one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,456 ✭✭✭naughto

4NBcQR.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,814 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Some rotten hoors
    Oh and I were on the way home @ 3.30ish yesterday morning (Thursday) About 4 miles out from home, on back roads, he spotted a red hiace van coming at us on the road. He did not know the numberplate and assumed that it was unusual at that time of the night.
    Phoned the local partially manned garda station - no answer.
    Phoned the adjoining regional garda station which is only a few miles from us, again no answer.
    Phoned our regional garda station which is about 20 miles away and they did answer and were very concerned. Apparently the same van was spotted in various locations throughout the day selling tools.
    The regional garda phoned OH this afternoon to thank him for helping them to apprehend red hiace and asked him would he and I (I was driver on the night) be available to make a statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

We could do with a calving gate aswell for that craic but what I do for now is tie a good strong head rope on them in the crush and tie them to the front or back gate and let them out then tighten them up outside the crush and work away with the jack.
    I wish I was better at making up rope head collars though as I'm pretty crap at it . I always have the knife at the ready in case i do anything that cant be undone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,814 ✭✭✭✭Base price

moy83 wrote: »
    We could do with a calving gate aswell for that craic but what I do for now is tie a good strong head rope on them in the crush and tie them to the front or back gate and let them out then tighten them up outside the crush and work away with the jack.
    I wish I was better at making up rope head collars though as I'm pretty crap at it . I always have the knife at the ready in case i do anything that cant be undone :D
    Moy83 - I suggest a "Big Jim" to assist when you are calving. However the heifers would have to be used to them before calving.
    Big Jim's are regularly used when training show cattle.

Base price wrote: »
    Moy83 - I suggest a "Big Jim" to assist when you are calving. However the heifers would have to be used to them before calving.
    Big Jim's are regularly used when training show cattle.

I must google Big Jim , feck knows what will come up though :D
    We usually wouldnt need the crush for calving but there is always the odd one that wont stand for the jack .

Any of of ye wondering what to get for mothers day ? I can recommend Jo Malone perfume , the boys gave it to mom here last night and she was delighted with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,254 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I must google Big Jim , feck knows what will come up though :D
    We usually wouldnt need the crush for calving but there is always the odd one that wont stand for the jack .

Any of of ye wondering what to get for mothers day ? I can recommend Jo Malone perfume , the boys gave it to mom here last night and she was delighted with it
    is big jim the snaffles you put in their nose? Oh yes mothers day tomorrow:D

have a second calver calving soon, had her in slatted shed for winter-as she couldnt escape from there-, put her in dry cow shed on thursday she got out under feed barrier, put her in paddock where cows calve when weather is good, sheep wire and 2 strands of electric fence round it and she got out ffs

whelan2 wrote: »
    have a second calver calving soon, had her in slatted shed for winter-as she couldnt escape from there-, put her in dry cow shed on thursday she got out under feed barrier, put her in paddock where cows calve when weather is good, sheep wire and 2 strands of electric fence round it and she got out ffs

Escape artist eh

Think I will have to take delavals advice from last year and put a ring in her nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭nhg

Nope. There wooden doors with a Yale lock on them. Not very secure

Night latch/ Yale lock are grand when used with a 5 Lever Deadlock, a night latch/Yale lock are totally useless when used on there own.

If your door had the multipoint locking system, always make sure you have an antisnapp cylinder otherwise these can be snapped off very easily.

The latest thing around here (we were broken into last august for the second time) is that they are breaking the double glazed units & going in through them not going hear the doors or sashes in the windows. We're only in the house 3 mins, only took sons wallet which was found down the road minus the €27 that was in it.

An alarm won't stop them going in but it will decrease the length of time they will spend in the house. A busy garage opposite our house but no one saw anything & when they got home there house had been done as well!

Please Help Keep Boards Alive. https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

If boards.ie do not reach their goal they will be forced to close the site.

nhg wrote: »
    Night latch/ Yale lock are grand when used with a 5 Lever Deadlock, a night latch/Yale lock are totally useless when used on there own.

If your door had the multipoint locking system, always make sure you have an antisnapp cylinder otherwise these can be snapped off very easily.

The latest thing around here (we were broken into last august for the second time) is that they are breaking the double glazed units & going in through them not going hear the doors or sashes in the windows. We're only in the house 3 mins, only took sons wallet which was found down the road minus the €27 that was in it.

An alarm won't stop them going in but it will decrease the length of time they will spend in the house. A busy garage opposite our house but no one saw anything & when they got home there house had been done as well!

B a stars. Good few houses broken into too around our area last year. We are on top of a hill so easily seen so maybe that put them off our house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

In the shower last night, and the doorbell started ringing. rang about ten times, ffs. Then there was a few thumps on the door. So grabbed a towel and down the hall and opened the door. White transit already halfway down the lane. obviously just checking if anyone home, and when light went on scarpered. Grabbed the trousers and the shottie, but when got to end of the lane, no sign which way they turned.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    In the shower last night, and the doorbell started ringing. rang about ten times, ffs. Then there was a few thumps on the door. So grabbed a towel and down the hall and opened the door. White transit already halfway down the lane. obviously just checking if anyone home, and when light went on scarpered. Grabbed the trousers and the shottie, but when got to end of the lane, no sign which way they turned.
    Either the light or the sight of you coming in the towel frightened them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

nhg wrote: »

We had a breakin a few years ago, they put the gas cylinder through the window....didn't matter then what we had on the doors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Anyone come across BMC fert spreaders

Reggie. wrote: »
    B a stars. Good few houses broken into too around our area last year. We are on top of a hill so easily seen so maybe that put them off our house.

Father went up to the neighbour. They'd be good friends, any wah over a grand taking. This would be church money as his wife has a lot to with the church. Father said he is in bits whole place us ransacked and nothing left unturned

Whatever about stuff being taken , its a rotten thought that some dirty fecker was going through the house . I wouldnt sleep right for a long time after something like that happening .

Ye not a nice thought. But he had heirlooms from centuarys of his ancestors. Signet rings adding rings pocket watches all that sort of stuff all gone. Worth a lot of money.
    They wouldn't have a lot if money now but there comfortable he has his 50 or so sucklers and gets on well even at the factory when it happened that's only down the road.

Feel very sorry for them. Ye wouldn't want to walk in them I'd say because they would bate 7 shades of ****e out of ye. They have no respect for no one

Can anyone tell me the name of that wormer that you inject behind the ear and lasts for the grazing season?

Cydectin I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

Cydectin LA

jt65 wrote: »
    Cydectin LA

Have you used it as a matter of interest? I just seen it advertised on tg4 a few weeks ago.