If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Should have cancelled the cheque :D

I can't remember what was the reason we couldn't, maybe it got cashed too quick, or maybe it was cash my folks paid with, I can't remember now. I'm just thinking now, if it ever happens again, I'll jump on the tractor and grab a fork of the freshest dung I can find and be ready to drop it into any of their lorries unless they leave. If they are allowed dump sh*te tarmac on my yard, then fair game me dumping pure sh*te in their lorry ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭C0N0R

case 956 wrote: »
    when I left the house this morning I had a blonde girlfriend, come back this evening and she is reddish blonde

I find ya can have great Craic with them reddish blonde ones, enjoy it while it lasts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭visatorro

Have travelling salesmen call in here too. Don't like it at all. They seem to.be very aggressive. They think that I should be buying stuff off them just for the sake of it. I never curse but just firmly say I don't want anything and I'm too busy to look at his stuff. I was milking one day and one of them sat outside parlour beeping the horn. I didn't know what was going on whether I'd left gates open or something and cows were on the road. Yer man standing roaring about tools I just roared back No and went back milking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

C0N0R wrote: »
    I find ya can have great Craic with them reddish blonde ones, enjoy it while it lasts!

Them nz women are as tough as nails over there. More manly than farmers here are ha.
    Friend of mine went around for 4 months with a different name every night he went out. Got caught one night by this one that wanted to marry him. Was priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Another set of twins and 3 singles. Lambing is so much easier than calving.
    Con is probably up the mountain somewhere at this hour with lambs flying left right and centre !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Con is probably up the mountain somewhere at this hour with lambs flying left right and centre !!!!!

Couldn't help myself :P

CMsSUE1l.jpg?1

.Kovu. wrote: »

CMsSUE1l.jpg?1

Lol class......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Id love to get a few but I dont think it will happen . I switched on that lambing live the last night in the home house and you would think it was a snuff film that came on with all the whinging out of the father to turn it off . I thought everyone likes to see new lambs but not him . He gave me a limit of five ewes and they aren't allowed on the home farm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

moy83 wrote: »
    Id love to get a few but I dont think it will happen . I switched on that lambing live the last night in the home house and you would think it was a snuff film that came on with all the whinging out of the father to turn it off . I thought everyone likes to see new lambs but not him . He gave me a limit of five ewes and they aren't allowed on the home farm

Loads of non farmers around here are mad about Lambing Live, have had two families in here this week asking to see our lambs ''up close''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

CMsSUE1l.jpg?1

Lamb wondering what Con will say when he finds out he has been at IFA meeting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,659 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hence why it's in full flight

well its a start I spose. He might change his mind if you bring your first 10 lambs to the mart and come home with over a 1000 snots. There's nearly more outta them then the sucklers these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

If I brought home a million snots it wouldnt make much odds to him . His father used buy and sell alot of sheep when he was a young lad and he didnt like the work it seems . I wouldnt be around home enough to mind them right at the minute so they will they be left for awhile .

Ah there wouldn't be a whole pile of minding in a few sheep moy. Very manageable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Ah there wouldn't be a whole pile of minding in a few sheep moy. Very manageable.
    you might as well have 100 as have 10 as the fencing etc would have to be done anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Con was on his sisters couch with a hypothermic ram lamb (details on sheep photos thread) laid on out a hotwater bottle wrapped in newspaper and sat in front of the stove which was going 90.

"Mint sauce"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Round Bale

Sharp fall in beef calf births this year. Wonder if there will be a commensurate increase in weanling prices in the fall of the year.
    Moreover, will factories have to wake up and smell the coffee, in relation to the supply chain for 2015 and beyond.

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/sharp-fall-in-beef-calf-births-156229/

Figures from the ICBF database are showing a dramatic decline in the beef suckler cow herd.

The impact of the fodder crisis last spring and the crisis of confidence facing the national beef suckler cow herd is being reflected in a dramatic 25% drop in year-to-date suckler calf births.
    While later calving is undoubtedly a factor, the data on the beef suckler cow herd appears to confirm an ongoing shrinkage in what is regarded as the beef industry’s primary natural resource.
    Worryingly, the number of beef heifers calving into the national suckler herd to date in 2014, at 25,030, is 28% lower than the same period last year. It is a massive 36% lower than two years ago, when almost 40,000 beef heifers joined the herd in the first three months of the year.
    Fewer cows is also a factor. At 163,679, the number of suckler cows slaughtered in 2013 was 21% higher than the previous year. On-farm suckler cow deaths – mainly linked to the dreadful spring – were 37% higher than 2012. The stark reality is that over 200,000 beef suckler cows left the national herd in 2013.
    The calving data for the coming months will determine how many of the 200,000 cows will be replaced.
    The figures are sourced from the Irish Cattle Breeding Federation (ICBF) weekly bulletin, the ICBF database and the Department of Agriculture AIMS database.
    It is hoped that the new suckler cow payment in 2014 (€60) and 2015 (€80) will help to stem the decline.
    Suckler cow calvings in January were similar to last year, but February (-32%) and March (-35%) have shown dramatic reductions. This almost certainly reflects the pressure faced on-farm last spring, when farmers delayed breeding as they struggled to keep animals fed.
    Despite the abolition of milk quotas in 13 months, dairy cow calvings are running 3% behind last year for the year to date, although there is a general expectation that the shortfall will be made up in the coming weeks.
    Slaughterings
    There was no dramatic increase in dairy cow slaughtering or exports in 2013, suggesting that the cows are on farms but have yet to calve. This is backed up by the fact that last week’s dairy cow calvings were 16% higher than the same week 12 months ago. Calvings to date in March are 2.5% behind last year, which will help the national milk quota position next week.
    A total of 953,756 births to suckler cows were recorded in 2013, a 12% drop on the previous year’s 1.080m. The data will put further pressure on Minister Coveney and the beef industry to ensure the confidence of suckler farmers is boosted ahead of the key 2014 breeding season.
    Regardless of whether the late calving reduces the shortfall, autumn weanling sales will be affected by the fact that one third less suckler calves were born in February and March this year – just 119,377 this year compared to 179,133 last year. That is 60,000 fewer suckler calves from the early part of the calving season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Thought we had a cow with a twisted bed this morning, turns out she was just in need of a section with a huge lump of a heifer:(
    Had one 2 years ago with a blue bull off her, this time it was ERE LM, she calved a big enough calf to him last year too, although needed a good pull to get him out.

Vet found a long line of scar tissue joining the calf bed to the abdomen though, reckons it may have stopped her opening full in the birth canal.

She'll be for the road this year so, quietest cow in the place and a great breeder too. It would never be a bad one:pac:

Thought we had a cow with a twisted bed this morning, turns out she was just in need of a section with a huge lump of a heifer:(
    Had one 2 years ago with a blue bull off her, this time it was ERE LM, she calved a big enough calf to him last year too, although needed a good pull to get him out.

Vet found a long line of scar tissue joining the calf bed to the abdomen though, reckons it may have stopped her opening full in the birth canal.

She'll be for the road this year so, quietest cow in the place and a great breeder too. It would never be a bad one:pac:

This is true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭lefthooker

It would never be a bad one:pac:

It's always harder to get rid of the bad ones:rolleyes:

I was delighted and relieved to see a laid of heifers go to the factory this morning:) Sure to be tempered with depression when the kill out comes back:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

what happened to Biddy

hugo29 wrote: »
    what happened to Biddy

What ya mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Reggie. wrote: »
    What ya mean

Closed account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Round Bale wrote: »
    Sharp fall in beef calf births this year. Wonder if there will be a commensurate increase in weanling prices in the fall of the year.
    Moreover, will factories have to wake up and smell the coffee, in relation to the supply chain for 2015 and beyond.
    QUOTE]

Unless contenintal european price increases dramatically or bull beef is allowed again cannot see it suckler weanling returning to 2013 prices. The heifer may become as valuable as the bull(or the bull drop to heifer price depending on the way you read it). Max weights willremain an issue.

Was in a few Supervale/centra this week good price promotions on striploins however these steaks are a little larger than normal on the irish market, although not off cattle that are very heavy. I would have taught that this was really UK type steak so suprised that it is being sold at a discount onto the Irish market.

I be suprised if factory's allow the production of really heavy cattle again so IMO suckler prodgney will have to be killed at 360-380kgs max. This leaves no room for the Suckler cow longterm. If you look at heifer prices it was obivous that the heifer kill was way up the gap between them and bullocks has virtually closed.

I think that at the end of last year a lot of suckler farmers scaned there cattle and any cows or heifers not incalf were culled or fattened due to fodder issues. Maybe starting to buy cattle that are suitable for slaughter late next year and early 2016 is the way to go. is this why Goodman bought a load of HE/AA calves this year. With later births in both Dairy and suckler herad cattle could be tight around then

Closed account.

Ah silly me. God knows maybe coming back as whelan101

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Closed account.

do you think whelan found out she was impersonating her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 837 ✭✭✭ABlur

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ah silly me. God knows maybe coming back as whelan101

Big spat on the 90% of people thread below I think.

ABlur wrote: »
    Big spat on the 90% of people thread below I think.

Oh right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Round Bale wrote: »

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/sharp-fall-in-beef-calf-births-156229/

Figures from the ICBF database are showing a dramatic decline in the beef suckler cow herd.

The impact of the fodder crisis last spring and the crisis of confidence facing the national beef suckler cow herd is being reflected in a dramatic 25% drop in year-to-date suckler calf births.
    While later calving is undoubtedly a factor, the data on the beef suckler cow herd appears to confirm an ongoing shrinkage in what is regarded as the beef industry’s primary natural resource.

I thought to myself what a stupid article to run on the front page at this time. Calving haven't even finished. The fodder shortage would have distorted the figures with lads culling hard, poor fertility and delayed turnout to grass.