Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

GvidoR wrote: »
    That dashboard on the Yaris.. :/

Not the best looking. I could be wrong but I thought somebody here said they bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Found a DS supplier.

Atleast now i will have 2 sets if replacement ones don't last can get spare ones refurbed.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FORD-FOCUS-MK2-2-5-ST-DRIVESHAFT-OFF-SIDE-CV-JOINT-2005-ONWARDS-/171078559402?item=171078559402
    $T2eC16VHJFwFFZudUM3GBR6R71kzRQ~~60_12.JPG

That seems a bit scary cheap, no?!?

OC referred? Or random find?

Edit: beware! http://www.focusstoc.com/forums/topic/185346-j-r-driveshaft-company-beware/page__fromsearch__1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

GvidoR wrote: »
    That dashboard on the Yaris.. :/

Ah here! Yaris dashboards are unreal!

20140128_153246_resized_zps468edeff.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

OSI wrote: »
    I have a full set of standard nuts spare and I'm removing the lock nuts and replacing them with standard ones. The lock nuts are utter ****e and they're already pretty rounded even using the key before it got lost so I want to remove them before they get properly ****ed and need to be drilled out.

I got rid of the original ford ones of the focus. They were fairly rough anyway. Someone had obviously gone at them with an air gun at some stage. I find it much better to have normal nuts. I don't want to have to mess around with lock nuts on the side of the road if I get a puncture. I suppose if they weren't damaged they'd be ok. I don't really see the need to have them on standard 16 inch focus alloys I counted see anyone going to the effort of trying to take them tbh.

Ah here! Yaris dashboards are unreal!

[IMG][/IMG]

I have to admit the first thing that came to my mind was is there only 8k miles on your yaris. Then I seen the trip bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Feckin BMW drivers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

This is better. :P

135601.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Looks like a shed :P

I hope you know that it's rusted on purpose. Lowered + fancy wheels and rusted on the outside is a classic rat-look style. Anyone can be as creative as they want with it. There's loads of similar examples out there.

It's only surface rust and covered in rust protector afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Oh I'm familiar with the rat-look stuff. I've seen a few examples around. Just not my cup of tea is all.

I like it but it's not something I'd want on my daily car. Also it wouldn't be a very good idea to do it something fairly expensive and/or new, but then again anyone can do whatever they want. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Bpmull wrote: »
    I have to admit the first thing that came to my mind was is there only 8k miles on your yaris. Then I seen the trip bit.

It's still low enough for a 15 year old car, just turned over 90k there, I got with 80 ish last February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,296 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Wasn't there a thread here a week or two back where the OP said that he bought this Yaris thats still been advertised ?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2003-toyota-yaris-1-0-5dr-61k-miles/6562788

No, she bought a uk import silver 3 door one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

dar83 wrote: »
    That seems a bit scary cheap, no?!?

OC referred? Or random find?

Edit: beware! http://www.focusstoc.com/forums/topic/185346-j-r-driveshaft-company-beware/page__fromsearch__1

Oh well too late now. If they are faulty i will just send them back.

Don't have a grand laying about for performance shafts

Hope it works out ok for you with them, but that topic doesn't fill me with confidence at all!

I don't even...

10947124676_e09f6c709b_c.jpg

Hope it works out ok for you with them, but that topic doesn't fill me with confidence at all!

Worst case scenario, shafts arent 100% i send ones that came off for a refurb so slightly stronger than standard like collins S1 variant.

Just don't see the point in

A. Paying mad ford supplied prices for oem

B. Paying a grand for what are in essence trackday driveshafts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Not a great photo but the new LED's on the right and the normal yellow OEM's on the left:

1484824_10202665774539062_376759197_n.jpg?oh=33c349509f79e14eb9758af271cb23b7&oe=5333CC3F&__gda__=1395900410_d5726aa3f1948b0b83b1c3652985d005

Very happy :D I also installed a new clutch stop which makes changing gear more pleasant and will be installing the CDV during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Lookin good dude! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Sweet mm, night shot will show up way better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Yeah, any idea of how to set my iPhone so that the glare won't happen like that pic above? I want it to just pick up the ring shape if you know what I mean. What you're seeing above is just the DRL's, no dims on even though it looks like they're on.

iPhone doesn't exactly have the best camera in the world, so there's not much you can 'set' on it. You can move the phone and tap the screen a few times to see it changes focus to what you want it to. That's all I can think of anyway.

...and yeah the new lights look much better. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Yeah, any idea of how to set my iPhone so that the glare won't happen like that pic above? I want it to just pick up the ring shape if you know what I mean. What you're seeing above is just the DRL's, no dims on even though it looks like they're on.

Can you ready your phone inside in the bright and then go out to take the pic?
    Exposure will be set then as if it was daylight, it may work but I'm not up on that stuff :)

Worst case scenario, shafts arent 100% i send ones that came off for a refurb so slightly stronger than standard like collins S1 variant.

Just don't see the point in

A. Paying mad ford supplied prices for oem

B. Paying a grand for what are in essence trackday driveshafts.

I'd personally go for the Ford shafts. Might cost a bit more but they'll be well made and should last for the rest of the time you own the car. Also according to some on the forum Ford has brought a revised unit out since the original ones were fitted to our cars.

Any links ?

Think you were even replying In the thread, but it was the chap from Cork.

http://www.focusstoc.com/forums/topic/245378-st-gave-1st-bit-of-trouble-this-wk/page__st__15#entry3276922

Think you were even replying In the thread, but it was the chap from Cork.

http://www.focusstoc.com/forums/topic/245378-st-gave-1st-bit-of-trouble-this-wk/page__st__15#entry3276922

Ahh forgot about that one, now where is our ford parts newbie :p

Having abit of a bad spell recently with the car :(

It's still low enough for a 15 year old car, just turned over 90k there, I got with 80 ish last February.

That's nothing on it alright. There's almost 85k miles on mine and I'd consider that very low for a 07. I know its diesel but still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Any recommendations for best back to black wax? Some of the black exterior on car is gone dull and I want to bring it back to life.