Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I saw it somewhere alright. The powerful genetics site has some too for a tenner extra.
    I suppose you have to take lower conception rates into account too.

Yep, but she's a good 5yr old cow, just want a couple of replacements next year and she's one of our best. Her dam was a brfr/sh/sim cross crossed with a lim to produce her, so she has milk and muscle. Just want to throw a bit more power into her calves but not lose the milk and all the ch I see have feck all milk. Lm would bring too light a calf I expect. So its Sim or go searching for a milky Ch.

We don't do our own AI though, suppose I'd better ring our man and see if he does sexed semen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,743 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Anyone know the rough price for sexed semen?

OH not producing :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

now lads they are looking for entries for next years calender http://www.farmercalendar.com/buy_now.php#nav

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Reggie. wrote: »
    when she asked the price of sexed semen i was going to say human or cattle

Now now.....play nice.
    biddy2013 wrote: »
    now lads they are looking for entries for next years calender http://www.farmercalendar.com/buy_now.php#nav

Where's bob when you need him

I wonder how annoyed my brother would be if I nominated him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Now now.....play nice.

Where's bob when you need him

I wonder how annoyed my brother would be if I nominated him....

bob and my gay bull have run off together

hugo29 wrote: »
    bob and my gay bull have run off together

Something, something, owl and the pussycat and pea green boat:D

unloaded and relaoded with combine for the boat :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I know that place well. It looks a lovely day in the pictures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

What size is the muck spreader reg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Is it too big to ship with the wheels on the combine ?

Lads whats the youngest ye would squeeze a weanling at ?
    We squeze one there this evening that went ape **** in the crush and it was touch and go wether he would damage himself with all the bucking he did . He was about 9 months old . I have another lad about 5 months and I would sooner do him now before he gets too strong but the father reckons he is too young ? What are the implications of doing them too young ?

moy83 wrote: »
    Lads whats the youngest ye would squeeze a weanling at ?
    We squeze one there this evening that went ape **** in the crush and it was touch and go wether he would damage himself with all the bucking he did . He was about 9 months old . I have another lad about 5 months and I would sooner do him now before he gets too strong but the father reckons he is too young ? What are the implications of doing them too young ?

We done them here at about 6 months before.
    Bit too younfmg but made little difference.
    Dairy bulls though

We done them here at about 6 months before.
    Bit too younfmg but made little difference.
    Dairy bulls though

Would the beef cattle be more mature balls wise than dairy breed I wonder ? Would they be more susceptible to infection or pneumonia when they are younger or would it be that it mightnt castrate them properly ?

Yes friesans have golf balls continentals have sliotars.....
    We got on okay. Be summer time she we did them and didn't see ant side effects.
    Only half dozen bullocks this year thank god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Must go out check the sheep, think I will leave it another while, chimney still making unpleasant noises, weather meant to moderate later.

Did your phone wallpaper lamb yet?:p

Yes! Last year, smartarse :P

(and again yesterday just after dark)

Yes! Last year, smartarse :P

(and again yesterday just after dark)

One black, one white. Ooooo- er. Mammy has some explaining to do.:D

I played too much Michael Jackson for them at tipping time :o

Is it too big to ship with the wheels on the combine ?

Too wide for the boat, some job to get them off I'll tell ya

I know that place well. It looks a lovely day in the pictures.

That was Sunday, call in for tae the next time ya are passing. I'll even find ya tart unlike green grass who eats it all :p

What size is the muck spreader reg?

I think it's a 12 tonner. Was just interested in getting the damn thing off. Didn't look at it since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Too wide for the boat, some job to get them off I'll tell ya

Where's she off to Reggie?

That was Sunday, call in for tae the next time ya are passing. I'll even find ya tart unlike green grass who eats it all :p

I offered but you were too late letting me know if ye wanted any. :D
    So I had to eat it.
    The spreader looks a bit burnt??

sheebadog wrote: »
    Where's she off to Reggie?

Somerset, Devon. From there who knows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Somerset, Devon. From there who knows

Ahh yea. Thanks.

I offered but you were too late letting me know if ye wanted any. :D
    So I had to eat it.
    The spreader looks a bit burnt??

Usual excuse, no it's just rusty and the colour of it. Best part of it is done but some work still left in her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

I was wondering would it be boards.ie, but no...

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-26705812

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Had our first C-section in my lifetime last night. Mistaken Identity at bulling and a very muscley 2nd calver got us to that point.
    Calf was doing well when he came out at 2am but was shook enough at 8 this morning.
    Cow hasnt taken to the calf yet:mad: