Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IEC 2014 Discussion/Stage 1 - READ FIRST POST BEFORE POSTING

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

I found this link on the Canadian government website. Is that all I have to do to get a NZ police cert? Seems too simple.

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/information/security/police-cert/asia-pacific/new-zealand.asp

Ahh I havent a clue what my NZ address was it was so long ago, somewhere in Queenstown. Will have to chance going without one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭EI-DOR

Went this morning absolute waste of time I have an engineering degree usually the place is packed with engineering stands they had two today. They held it in a different part of the RDS than last year (last year the expo was three times the size) I spoke with the guys at both of the Engineering booths one had 10 positions available and the other had 4 which makes you wonder why they even bothered coming over to Ireland. Every second booth seemed to be advertising mechanics jobs (the trade not mechanical Engineering). Also it was ten euro a ticket which you could buy in advance which I did but still had to que outisde for 10 ten minutes which really annoyed me definitely the last time ill go to one of those.

I went to the last one they had before xmas, it was the same. Me and the mate weren't there an hour and back up the road again. Waste of Diesel running down to it. Sounds like today's wasn't any better than the last one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 EddieMurphy

radiata wrote: »
    Ahh I havent a clue what my NZ address was it was so long ago, somewhere in Queenstown. Will have to chance going without one

But is that form all that you filled out? You don't have to get fingerprints and receive a cert from the New Zealand authorities?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

But is that form all that you filled out? You don't have to get fingerprints and receive a cert from the New Zealand authorities?

I couldnt tell you, but it doesn't look like it. I've been searching for a while but cant find anything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭billyduk

stevie1122 wrote: »
    Went this morning absolute waste of time I have an engineering degree usually the place is packed with engineering stands they had two today. They held it in a different part of the RDS than last year (last year the expo was three times the size) I spoke with the guys at both of the Engineering booths one had 10 positions available and the other had 4 which makes you wonder why they even bothered coming over to Ireland. Every second booth seemed to be advertising mechanics jobs (the trade not mechanical Engineering).

Did you spot any IT/Web or SW Engineering stands?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 173 ✭✭stevie1122

billyduk wrote: »
    Did you spot any IT/Web or SW Engineering stands?

I didn't notice any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 pyrosever

I went to the expo too, had similar experience as the previous posters. recruitment efforts were limited to a small range of industries, and there wasn't really a whole lot there. I don't know if the seminars were up to much because the area they were being held in was really small and permanently full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Silvio67

Are other New Zealand Police Certificates acceptable?

No, a New Zealand Ministry of Justice certificate or similar is not acceptable substitute.
    A Ministry of Justice certificate is acceptable for International Experience Canada (IEC) applicants.

That form should work for IEC going by what they say on their website.

I sent mine off a few days ago using that form. They said postage to Ireland could take up to 4 weeks so I told them to post it to a friend of mine in NZ and he's going to scan it for me. They also include an address on the police scan, I told them to use my Irish address and not my previous NZ ones. Don't forget to ask for it to be printed on a letterhead with signature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭MarkJD

Still nothing for me or the missus :( Hopefully early next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭goingitalone

MarkJD wrote: »
    Still nothing for me or the missus :( Hopefully early next week.

its only 2pm there now so today is still possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Flutterby33

Still no sign of CAL.. it feels like months ago that I applied now!

ah now come on its only a week . and they say it can take up too 14 days and i think there having technical faults too .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Elaine_McElroy

dribbles22 wrote: »
    Skalragg,

I still can't upload my documents to Kompass either. The deadline is tomorrow too! I think its out of our hands at this point and we just have to hope the replies we got saying they are working on it it will not affect our application are sincere. So so frustrating

I'm in the same boat it's a bit unsettling that the deadline is today and I still haven't been able to upload the stage 1 documents! :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 EddieMurphy

Silvio67 wrote: »
    That form should work for IEC going by what they say on their website.

I sent mine off a few days ago using that form. They said postage to Ireland could take up to 4 weeks so I told them to post it to a friend of mine in NZ and he's going to scan it for me. They also include an address on the police scan, I told them to use my Irish address and not my previous NZ ones. Don't forget to ask for it to be printed on a letterhead with signature.

So,to be clear, Did you use the form from the Canadian government website or the one from the New Zealand authorities? NZ one I assume. Also, did you have to send off fingerprints and a passport copy with a fee? Sorry for all the questions, I'm useless at all this stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭EI-DOR

I'm in the same boat it's a bit unsettling that the deadline is today and I still haven't been able to upload the stage 1 documents! :-(

The strange thing is, a friend of mine only submitted her documents and payment yesterday because she waited on the new Passport to come.. Anyway she managed to submit her documents and payment without any problems!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 markgisme

Sorry, I've been away since I applied for my Visa. I got it thankfully but I had to leave quick soon after it so am pretty much in the dark as to what needs to be done.

I uploaded my documents and paid the fee what else do I need to do or have?

I keep hearing about the Gardai clearance but haven't seen it on any official website..can anyone shed some light?

Also, what is CAL? Quite ignorant on all of this.

Also, what are you all doing for accommodation? Apparently UBC require you to commit for 3 months and at 400E a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭eenm

markgisme wrote: »
    Sorry, I've been away since I applied for my Visa. I got it thankfully but I had to leave quick soon after it so am pretty much in the dark as to what needs to be done.

I keep hearing about the Gardai clearance but haven't seen it on any official website..can anyone shed some light?

Also, what are you all doing for accommodation? Apparently UBC require you to commit for 3 months and at 400E a month.

Where you looking to stay in ubc? Lived there for 3 months in 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭alexsmith

still waiting,has to be this week. Patience

Infairness regardless of being away and having to go away again etc shouldn't you have done some research on the whole process ? I mean half a hour on Google and you figure it all out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

15 minutes reading through this thread would answer all of your questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Dekken

Just got POE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭eenm

You need a cert from your local Garda station to say you haven't been convicted of anything, need addresses, proof of id and stamped addressed envelope. Need it for any country you've lived for 6+ months. Can be super quick or painfully slow depending on your local station. You'll need to upload it when you get your conditional acceptance. You need to read through the thread for questions like that though first... We've all been talking through this for months so people don't like repeating themselves time and time again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 duffman44

Dekken wrote: »
    Just got POE

there fast at doing POE's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Lawra90

hmmm anyone else finding this whole CIC business kinda tricky?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭gccrowley1

Just got POE

Congrats..... When did you get your CAL and when did you upload it and complete mycic stage?

Took this from IEC FAQ's

"The IEC applies the principle of "first come, first served" for both assigning places and processing applications in each stage. If you are taking more time than another applicant to pay your participation fees or to submit your application to Stage 2 (MyCIC), other applications may be processed before yours."

Funny the way some applicants with high WTN's and who paid well after others are getting CAL's first...... Obviously the above statement is false.....

Just sayin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Dekken

gccrowley1 wrote: »
    Congrats..... When did you get your CAL and when did you upload it and complete mycic stage?

I got my CAL on the 17th at 1pm GMT, uploaded it and completed the CIC application about an hour later.

Jesus ye got your CAL fairly quick..... That's not bad at all.... Full thing completed in just over a week.... I'd be gone next week if I got mine that fast!

I did here of some people completing the whole thing by Monday 17th , jammy feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Foley48

Im in the 190's, paid friday 14th at 2am, with a creditcard, been "in progress" since about 7am friday 14th and still no CAL :/ Seen people who paid saturday the 15th and monday the 17th get them already. Driving me up the walls if I'm honest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 wetjigsaw

I'm getting the impression everybody thinks round two is going to be harder to get. Would it not be easier given that 3850 people who got a place already won't be trying to get one this time?

I got in round one, my OH didn't.