The D4 Media/ Posh Boys and Irish Rugby – Spoon feeding the masses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Fair enough they won yesterday, D4 are delighted, but today the egg has been well and truly scrambled, roll on 1.30, c'mon the pool!

Oh god.
    Have you ever even been to Liverpool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

<snip>
    That's not even remotely funny. That's just being a dick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Inner City Hedgehog

<snip>
    That's actually more a rugby activity.

Mod: Banned.

That's actually more a rugby activity.
    FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It was always a middle/upper class sport with Jackeens, down the country it's for everyone, When Roscrea won the towns cup in the 70s there was plumbers and carpenters, criminals and dole merchants on the team. Hardly a professional in sight apart from the young doctor and solicitor on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

That's not even remotely funny. That's just being a dick!
    humour is relative I guess

it was a sarcastic rebuttal to the caricature of rugby fans posted above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

God the amount of pigeon holing in here.

We won a championship and anyone who watched the match yesterday without their prejudice goggles would have seen two teams absolutely slog their guts out.

The irish team are a sound bunch of lads who are proud to wear the jersey and represent their country....why would people want to take any bit of glory away from them?

Mucky shoes, Wrangler jeans, sleeves rolled up on shirt, fat red face, Guinness farts, spud dinner 7 nights a week, green daysul, parish rivalry, red lemonade. Down from the mountain attitude, doesnt eat foreign food, loves going to mass.

humour is relative I guess

it was a sarcastic rebuttal to the caricature of rugby fans posted above
    Tragic farm accidents happen to rugby players as well. No need for this in your petty point scoring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Lucky to get that win yesterday in fairness, France were the better team on the day imo, if the clown gave off his pass right the Irish would have been sucking lemons and that sblysheen Gerry Thornley would have been writing stories about injustice.

France were lucky to be in the game at all. One of their scores shouldn't have been given, and Ireland left at least 5 points behind them.

That said, if my Aunt had testicles, she would be my Uncle. But she doesn't and France didn't score. And they weren't the best team and Gerry Thornley is surely penning an suitably fitting article on Irelands fantastic achievement.

Looks like you're the only one sucking lemons tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Tragic farm accidents happen to rugby players as well. No need for this in your petty point scoring.
    soz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,205 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

MJ23 wrote: »
    Mucky shoes, Wrangler jeans, sleeves rolled up on shirt, fat red face, Guinness farts, spud dinner 7 nights a week, green daysul, parish rivalry, red lemonade. Down from the mountain attitude, doesnt eat foreign food, loves going to mass.

Enough about yourself...ask us how the rest of us are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

This thread is so depressing to read someone lock it before it gets any worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

I guess you know a thread is gone to the dirt when people stop trying to constructively dismiss the thing that they're against and just resort to low brow insults and unjustified stereotypes.

People like the people in this thread make it feel like it's a crime to be into this sport, like we should be ashamed because clearly we're either posh middle class "D4" types or wannabe culchies trying to emulate the middle class. Neither of which is true. I've been getting into the sport and I know a load of my friends have been into it for years. All from different backgrounds and none of which have any of the notions that ye seem to imply comes hand in hand with rugby.

The majority of people enjoy it just like they do any other sport. There is always going to be a pocket of undesirables with anything in society but to home in on this and write off the entire sport as a result is ridiculous and unjustified.

This thread is simply a means for people who dislike/hate the sport to justify their exaggerated, spiteful stereotypes that lead them to feel that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

keith16 wrote: »
    France were lucky to be in the game at all. One of their scores shouldn't have been given, and Ireland left at least 5 points behind them.

That said, if my Aunt had testicles, she would be my Uncle. But she doesn't and France didn't score. And they weren't the best team and Gerry Thornley is surely penning an suitably fitting article on Irelands fantastic achievement.

Looks like you're the only one sucking lemons tbh.

Just giving an opinion and leaving out emotion. I'm happy Ireland won but IMO the French overall deserved to win the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

(OK Mods, this a societal question more than a rugby question)

Why do the Irish Rugby team get so much publicity and the publicity they get is nearly always hugely positive?

The fact of the matter is hardly anybody plays the game, especially adults. A few pockets in Cork, Limerick, South Dublin and Protestant areas in the north. Most counties would have the ODD junior team. Compare that to the huge number of GAA teams and junior soccer teams

Most goys I know who will we watching the England game have NEVER played the game. As I would guess most people who attend the Ireland games would be the same.

Ryan Tubridy drools at the mouth whenever he interviews the goys
    Brendan O’Connor telling is again what a great performance by the Irish rugby team
    Hugely positive reports about our brave Irish team in print, radio & TV (Conor O’Shea I am looking at you)

Yet, the facts are:

Ireland are ranked 6th in the world. Recently up from 7th. There are really only 10 decent rugby teams in the world as such. (Any rugger bugger would tell you that)

Irelands so called Golden generation have won ONE 6 nations Championship in 30 years!

Golden Generation?

Yet Jonny, Jamie and all the goys are world class, outstanding, brave, phenomenal, fantastic performance etc.

Really?

The coverage after the LOST to New Zealand was cringe worthy . A game they LOST

Personally, I think the D4 Posh boys give the sport and team way too much positive publicity when frankly they don’t deserve it

It’s just because they are part of the same snobby/ Old School tie Club. They are all mates, you see

And we as a nation (most of whom have never picked up a rugby ball) are sucking it all up

sure if ya don't like what i like your a BOLLOX!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Just giving an opinion and leaving out emotion. I'm happy Ireland won but IMO the French overall deserved to win the game.

The aim of the game is to score the most points. In that case how did France deserve to win?

sure if ya don't like what i like your a BOLLOX!!

You're

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Ireland were quantifiably the better team and evenly matched by a number of other measures.

Tries 3-2 : Ireland
    Possesion 53%: Ireland
    Tackle Completion: Evens
    Line Breaks: 5-1: Ireland
    Territory: Evens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

How did they overall deserve to win though ?

It was a tight enough game but Ireland outscored them 3 tries to 2, left behind a few points due to Sexton misfiring.

Ireland's were better both attacking and defending, France scoring from a cross field kick and touching the base of the posts after lengthy onslaughts while Ireland's three tries coming quickly after the initially breaks.

Scrums were in Ireland's favour in the first half with the French prop having to be subbed before he was binned. France only getting on top after substitutions late in the game.

France were chasing the game after a half an hour and never caught up. Emotion aside I dont see how the French deserved to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭mikeym

Theres a rugby club in almost every county in Ireland OP and by the way I know plenty of working class people that play it. Its not just a Dublin sport.

I know a lot of the fee paying secondary schools are heavily involved in it but what thats their history.

Does that mean the good people of Limerick that go to the Munster games are posh sophisticated people who drive Range Rovers, No their regular folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

You idiot! Haha! The team that wins is the team that deserves to win, hence why they won! Logic not familiar to you?

mikeym wrote: »
    Theres a rugby club in almost every county in Ireland OP and by the way I know plenty of working class people that play it. Its not just a Dublin sport.

I know a lot of the fee paying secondary schools are heavily involved in it but what thats their history.

Does that mean the good people of Limerick that go to the Munster games are posh sophisticated people who drive Range Rovers, No their regular folk.

Regular gangland folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Doesnt sound like you know what your saying at all tbh. What has you being assaulted by idiots in a bar got to do with the sport of rugby ?

Yeah of course its only rugby fans that assault women. :rolleyes:

What I was saying was that I used to hate posh rugby fans from the heart of my pinched bottom.

Now I think they may not have been representative of their subspecies, but I'll keep my distance anyway. Oh, and save all my hatred for golf. Fcuk golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

I think its time I un-followed this thread. Its gotten rather messy since it resurfaced with despicable shíte about silage pit deaths, name calling and a lot of stuff I can only assume is trolling.

There's only so much a man can take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

You idiot! Haha! The team that wins is the team that deserves to win, hence why they won! Logic not familiar to you?

Your Logic is awful.

Go on . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

MJ23 wrote: »
    Oh god.
    Have you ever even been to Liverpool?

I have indeed, next trip is the City game on the 13th! Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Go on . . .

So for example in a football match. Team A all over team B. Team A hits post crossbar etc. Get's bad ref calls. Goals disallowed for no reseason etc. Team B score in 90th minute 1 shot on goal. Clearly team B didn't deserve to win.

But they won, therefore they did deserve to win. The other team didn't take their chances.