The D4 Media/ Posh Boys and Irish Rugby – Spoon feeding the masses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Suas11 wrote: »
    What do you mean by that?

they had teeth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

they had teeth?

And had no visible signs of animal blood on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

they will never have something like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

they will never have something like this

Oh yeah thats when we won the world cup wasnt it? I remember it well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭OldRio

Love most sports. Great win for Ireland. 6 Nations champions.
    What's not to like?

OldRio wrote: »
    Love most sports. Great win for Ireland. 6 Nations champions.
    What's not to like?
    some people find it doesn't sit well with the massive chip they carry around on their shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,768 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

They won it on merit fair play to them.

EVENFLOW

Armelodie wrote: »
    Oh yeah thats when we won the world cup wasnt it? I remember it well....

32 teams entered the competition and eight qualified for the finals

6 nations????

get off the fcuking stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Has anyone argued that the media frenzy is warranted because an Irish team has just won a championship comprised of countries with populations in excess of 60 million people....?? and that a player many experts would consider to be the greatest of his generation has retired.....from playing for Ireland??

Yes we do overdo and exaggerate the importance of lots of non events but this isnt one of them. In sporting terms its a huge accomplishment for a country this size and the fact that people don't like it is more to do with over exposure and "garrison game" fúckology than anything else.

6 nations????

ireland played 32 natiions in '88? missed that one.

Jaysus lads enjoy all Irish sporting success. Some of ye are embarrassing yourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

6 nations????

Yeah rugby fans will never be able reminisce about the exploits of Ronnie Whelan and Ray Houghton making the finals of major competitions a couple times 20 odd years ago. How will we ever survive ? Oh I know, I'll enjoy winning a major tournament that happened there today. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Didn't like how he carried himself in the post-match celebrations either (carrying his baby daughter around, stealing the show). You wouldn't see an oft-maligned, former Irish soccer captain from Cork act that way.

I prefer football and do find the level of rugby 'fuss' a bit bewildering but I don't think carrying his child on the pitch was show stealing.

The Spanish football team brought their kids onto the pitch after they won he world cup. The Lions did win a 'big' game in rugby terms and it's a nice thing that he brought her onto the pitch. Years from now she can get out photos of that moment and share it with her friends or family and feel like she was part of that moment of victory. A nice historical photo to have.

Yeah rugby fans will never be able reminisce about the exploits of Ronnie Whelan and Ray Houghton 20 odd years ago. How will we ever survive ? Oh I know, I'll enjoy winning a majority tournament that happened there today. Good times.

you know deep down it will never be same a whole nation behind a team not just a certain demographic

when is the homecoming by the way?

So so sad.
    I guess you're not married, Bless. Living in the past. Obviously. Lonely. At least you get a reaction on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

I read through a fair bit of this thread and find it incredible how negative people are being about the sport. If people enjoy supporting or participating in a sport then who are you to dismiss it? Rugby can be a very exciting sport to watch and, if you aren't a scrawny fecker like I am, it looks like great craic to play too so I'd imagine that goes a long way towards it's current popularity. Throw into the mix that Ireland are doing quite well at it this season (showing flair and almost beating the worlds best team last year, worthy 6 nations champions) and that we seem to be laying the brickwork to contend at the world cup and people are bound to get interested.

If Ireland were doing well and competing internationally at football (or any other sport for that matter) you can guarantee the media coverage would be just as extensive and positive. When the Olympics were in full swing the coverage was almost constant and our boxers (mentioned earlier in the thread) got plenty of well deserved coverage, as did our other athletes. We're an enthusiastic sporting nation and despite not being massively into sport myself I always hear about Irish players/teams in sport when they're doing well which suggests they are getting media coverage. The rugby coverage might seem excessive at the moment but the season is building to a climax and sure the 6 nations was only 5 weekends out of the year.

The argument that there aren't many countries involved in rugby is a bit pointless as of the 101 teams on the rankings we are 6th (and if what I've heard correctly is right after today victory we'll move above France into 5th). Even if the majority of those teams are crap or not noteworthy in the sport, it still shows that Ireland play the sport at a high level relative to other nations and as the sport gains popularity (as it has been doing year upon year from what I can see) this will hopefully stand to them.

Comparing one sport to another always tends to turn into a bit of a pissing contest; most of the sports mentioned in this thread have their merits. I like rugby because it tends to be high scoring, exciting and visceral. It's fun to watch, in my opinion. Football's great too. We are a bit shíte at it but as people have mentioned, it's a lot more competitive with a lot more decent teams than rugby so maybe that's why. Both sports have their great games and their crap, slow games. I'm not mad on GAA myself but can appreciate the skill involved (esp. in hurling) and I can see how it's enjoyable for those involved. Sport should bring people together and it'd be a bit shít if there were begrudgers about after this 6 Nations win just because Ireland are doing well but not in their preferred sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Yeah rugby fans will never be able reminisce about the exploits of Ronnie Whelan and Ray Houghton making the finals of major competitions a couple times 20 odd years ago. How will we ever survive ? Oh I know, I'll enjoy winning a major tournament that happened there today. Good times.

1 Grand Slam for the golden generation. Championship wins without winning Grand Slams are generally forgotten about in England, France and Wales.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    1 Grand Slam for the golden generation. Championship wins without winning Grand Slams are generally forgotten about in England, France and Wales.

Incorrect.
    Moderator? You sound more like a troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

I'm not a rugby fan by any stretch but I wouldn't begrudge any fans of the sport their time to celebrate. In fact today has been quite fun and drink filled.... A lot of people that I know who are rugby fans from the other nations have been buying me a few drinks because Ireland sported harder than than the other 5 nations in this game of rugby.
    I'll appreciate any Irish sport team if that is the end result!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i have no interest in soccer so i'd never post about it

Ireland (the whole island btw) are the kings of rugby in the northern hemisphere.

this makes me as happy as when Dublin won

So so sad.
    I guess you're not married, Bless. Living in the past. Obviously. Lonely. At least you get a reaction on the internet.

were you around when an Irish team went to a major final and beat teams and witnessed the reaction in this country?

you know deep down it will never be same a whole nation behind a team not just a certain demographic

when is the homecoming by the way?

What demographic would that be ? Rugby is supported by lots of people from lots of different demographics. If you were paying attention during the last world cup you'd be aware just how much people support the team.

If its not your cup of tea then its not your cup of tea but I dont understand this resentment of the success and support of the rugby team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Incorrect.
    Moderator? You sound more like a troll

What? How am I trolling. Name me a French, English or Welsh Championship winning team that is revered, while not winning a Grand Slam. Name me one and you won the internet.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

What? How am I trolling. Name me a French, English or Welsh Championship winning team that is revered, while not winning a Grand Slam. Name me one and you won the internet.

What's your point here? That by getting beaten by England in Twickenham by 3 points, the championship win is nullified. No great shakes and everyone should shut up about it?

were you around when an Irish team went to a major final and beat teams and witnessed the reaction in this country?

Sir, I am approaching my 60'th birthday. I celebrate when my local under 12 GAA football team win a final. I celebrated when the soccer team with big Jack in charge reached finals. I celebrate when any of our Rugby provinces win European championships.
    I do not live in the past. I do not begrudge. I enjoy.

I find some of the sad people who begrudge sporting success strange.
    The Irish rugby team put a smile on my face today and yet some in this country would rather they lost. Lets face it that is what some wanted.

Lifes to short to hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

Thats clearly a subjective question and no matter what team is mentioned you can just say 'No'.

However for you to say championship wins are forgotten about is simply wrong. They are often mentioned and are in the record books forever.

I honestly do not understand your point.
    But a lot about you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

What demographic would that be ? Rugby is supported by lots of people from lots of different demographics. If you were paying attention during the last world cup you'd be aware just how much people support the team.

If its not your cup of tea then its not your cup of tea but I dont understand this resentment of the success and support of the rugby team.

The demographic that likes watching a load of bouncers foosthering in a heap.

I'm sorry K-9 but this "golden generation" only winning one grand slam dismissal is simply nonsense mostly put forth by people with no interest in what's won or lost in rugby to begin with.

Championships without grand slams are also not generally forgotten no more than grand slams are forgotten. And since the start of the 6 nations 14 years ago there's been 8 grand slams. 1 x Ireland, 1 x England (world cup winning team), 3 x France and 3 x Wales.

You cant compare two different sports either, its not a competition as far as I'm concerned so support and success of one is no indication of the failures of another.

Muise... wrote: »
    The demographic that likes watching a load of bouncers foosthering in a heap.

By bouncers foosthering in a heap you mean professional athletes playing professional sport ?

I guess it is a bit of a niche market all right......