Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People you see at the gym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,132 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Not a place to go for pretentiousness then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Selfies?
    Do people actually take selfies at the gym?
    Seriously?

Yeah...a warm up set and first proper set doesn't require much more than that tbh. Maybe extra time for strectching. Before hitting final set it's fine to take 2 minutes or so which is even further proof that letting someone else get a set in in that time should be advocated...it's more beneficial to rest standing up anyway.

If you're capable of your second set 10 seconds after your first set, you aren't lifting enough weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

If you're capable of your second set 10 seconds after your first set, you aren't lifting enough weight.

10 seconds may be an underestimate but anything over 50 seconds for first set is a complete pisstake tbh. I do a few warmup sets which are lower than my targeted resistance weight and I slap through them in under 3 minutes in total if I was to guesss. Max rest is a minute to minute and a half including stretching. I don't have time to sit down and rest 3 minutes after each set tbh...and injury hasn't occurred yet. I could probably lift heavier on some exercises but lifting very heavy weights isn't my goal....which is another problem I see in the gym. These lads lift far too heavy just for the sake of it. No wonder they're bloody exhausted after one set when they're lifting too heavy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Saggyjocks wrote: »
    Girls plastered in make up and stinking of perfume

I never understood this. I remember one girl walking past and she nearly knocked me out with the smell of perfume off her and her make up was so thick you could probably peel it off.

There should only be one smell in the gym, the smell of sweat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Girls who wear make up to the gym are cute though :pac:

GTFO

Yeah cute until it starts running down their faces.....No thanks. I'd prefer a girl with a bit of self confidence who doesn't need to plaster herself in makeup before she goes to the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

10 seconds may be an underestimate but anything over 50 seconds for first set is a complete pisstake tbh. I do a few warmup sets which are lower than my targeted resistance weight and I slap through them in under 3 minutes in total if I was to guesss. Max rest is a minute to minute and a half including stretching. I don't have time to sit down and rest 3 minutes after each set tbh...and injury hasn't occurred yet. I could probably lift heavier on some exercises but lifting very heavy weights isn't my goal....which is another problem I see in the gym. These lads lift far too heavy just for the sake of it. No wonder they're bloody exhausted after one set when they're lifting too heavy.

Depends on what you are training for.
    If it's your typical 3 sets of 8-12 to get a "pump", what you're doing is fine.

If it's strength orientated & it's 3-5 sets of 3-5 reps, optimum rest times can be up to 3 minutes to allow sufficient CNS recovery.

I now train in 3 gyms,
    1 at a cost of €100 a month (private gym)
    1 at a cost of €11 a month (Ben Dunne gym)
    The other one is at work, great gym

I haven't been to the Ben Dunne one since September as I can't handle the daft stuff I see there

People who do not clean up after themselves, they just leave the bench with all their weights scattered around the place while they are off doing something somewhere else....bugs me no end... I then have to go ask if he is finished. When finished clean the area you are in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Stephen Hawking

• Site Banned Posts: 4 The Glacial Pepper

You're supposed to lift as heavy as you can for 8-12 reps. You should give yourself around a minute between sets so you are actually challenging your muscles and not your respiratory system. More often than not people in the gym lift weights that aren't heavy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

I remember a guy who would be over in the weights area
    A big fat guy loved his food
    However he would be there telling all the others you are not lifting right do it this way do it that way
    He actually did **** all himself and never broke a sweat everyone else did a workout.
    Months later he fat as ever while others reached their targets etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

people who blow dry there bollox dry in the gym locker rooms

the naked lad who is naked when you come in and still naked when your leaving, possibly brushing teeth or leg up on bench furiously drying his bollox

fat dudes in the locker room drinking protein shakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

doolox wrote: »
    Boom!

Spot me Bren!

Now thats an attractive package!

I love that ad more than I love life. It's brilliant :pac:

Lifting as heavy as possible raises questions with regards to poor form...now I'm not part of the form police and I even cheat a little sometimes but I'd rather practice good form on lighter weight safely rather than fry my muscles with heavier weight. My goals aren't about getting massive so I don't need to lift as heavy as possible, because more often than not that weight isn't possible. I'd rather have constant tension from lighter weight than lockout and rest on heavier weight mid set. And yeah one minute rest is fine, as I said initially taking extra break while the gym is jammers and refusing to let someone else sneak in a set is unfair and wrong. Take your rest while getting some water at the machine or do some stretching but don't hog the bench when not currently using it and the gym is busy...simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

ArtyM wrote: »
    Selfies?
    Do people actually take selfies at the gym?
    Seriously?

Judging from my Facebook feed: yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

You're supposed to lift as heavy as you can for 8-12 reps. You should give yourself around a minute between sets so you are actually challenging your muscles and not your respiratory system. More often than not people in the gym lift weights that aren't heavy enough.

No, you lift a weight that you can't actually lift, it's a new workout routine that the professional bodybuilders have been keeping secret for years. You have to put maximum strain on every ligament, muscle fibre and tendon until you feel stuff starting to snap, I'm lying here in hospital with a broken back and I feel great.
    Can't wait to get back to the gym tomorrow, doctors said it'll never happen but I'm doing Neck Thrusts now in preparation and I'll have the last laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

People who go to the gym to gawk at other people are quite common apparently.

You should come to my gym*, there's no people to look at, but there are a few larks and willy wagtails. You don't need fake tan or make-up, the rain, wind and sun will colour your skin fine rightly, and I'll work parts of ye you never even knew you had.

*The bog and the potato field

• Site Banned Posts: 4 The Glacial Pepper

Lifting as heavy as possible raises questions with regards to poor form...now I'm not part of the form police and I even cheat a little sometimes but I'd rather practice good form on lighter weight safely rather than fry my muscles with heavier weight. My goals aren't about getting massive so I don't need to lift as heavy as possible, because more often than not that weight isn't possible. I'd rather have constant tension from lighter weight than lockout and rest on heavier weight mid set. And yeah one minute rest is fine, as I said initially taking extra break while the gym is jammers and refusing to let someone else sneak in a set is unfair and wrong. Take your rest while getting some water at the machine or do some stretching but don't hog the bench when not currently using it and the gym is busy...simple

If you want to grow muscle you should lift the heaviest weight that you can with good form for 8-12 reps.

Well I've been getting bigger and stronger consistently this way so why should I change it? My body can handle less rest and more burn and I'm doing it at a weight which is working my muscles but leaving room for more as well...I've never been as lean and my body has never felt stronger. I've been bigger but that's when I was younger and foolish and didn't pay attention to what my body was telling me...I don't want to exhaust myself completely which will affect my recovery plus increase chances of injury which would be heartbreaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,861 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

About....8 years ago, i used to go to a gym in Yokosuka, Japan. There was one female staff whose job, as far as I could tell, was to go around chatting to people who were exercising.

She'd walk up beside me on the bike or the crosstrainer or whatever it was, and just start chatting to me. I'm sorry lady, but I am trying to do some exercise here. My face is beetroot red, I stink, and I can't speak much Japanese anyway. Just go away please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

eh no...

if your bench requires a something like 2 min rest between sets , then you sit it out on the bench.
    giving up the bench after each set will not give an optimum workout for most goals as you'll be ages getting it back

Have to say I agree. Was always happy to work in a set with someone if the place was very busy. You get a spotter and you both get to keep up the momentum of your workout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Men stinking of sweat. The stench in my in my gym at times actually makes it difficult to breathe. Really puts me off going in there, hence I normally go to the pool, where it doesn't smell. How hard is it to wear deodorant??!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

ITT: People who don't go to the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Lenn Brennan

Fcuking curling in the squat rack!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Never a truer word said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

:rolleyes:Fit women in spandex :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Underground

Men stinking of sweat. The stench in my in my gym at times actually makes it difficult to breathe. Really puts me off going in there, hence I normally go to the pool, where it doesn't smell. How hard is it to wear deodorant??!

Complaining about a smell of sweat in the gym is like saying the swimming pool is too wet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Thomas D

Fresh sweat doesn't smell. It's the old stuff stuck to their clothes from the last session that stinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,522 ✭✭✭weemcd

The naked men are the only ones that annoy me. Usually old and overweight, seem to just walk around in the raw for a good 15 minutes after they finish exercising.

strange behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

People loading the bar/machines with a load of weight, doing half assed reps and then leaving the weight there for the next person to take off and marvel at how strong the previous lifter must have been!