The D4 Media/ Posh Boys and Irish Rugby – Spoon feeding the masses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭HooohRaaah

I'll be sure to mention to the lads at training tonight that we're middle class now. They'll be chuffed. I'll probably drop an email to the clondalkin lads too as well as the prison guards that play for mill mount house, the uni dare lads from Ballymun etc

Those Unidare, Clondalkin lads are all a small minority and you know it.

Look at the national team. O'Driscoll, McFadden, Kearney, Heaslip, Healy, Sexton, Fitzgerald, Reddan, D'Arcy, Toner, Trimble, Marty Moore, Henry, Jackson etc all went to private schools. It's an upper middle class game. It's simple as that. Just because a couple of lads play it in Ballymun doesnt make it otherwise

Starting 15 vs Wales

Rob Kearney, Andrew Trimble, Brian O'Driscoll, Gordon D'Arcy, Dave Kearney, Jonathan Sexton, , Cian Healy, Rory Best, Mike Ross, Devin Toner, Paul O'Connell (captain), Peter O'Mahony, Chris Henry, Jamie Heaslip , Conor Murray

All those in bold went to a private fee paying school.
    That says it all about rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Heroditas wrote: »
    For the second time - Trinity Comp.
    As well as that, the list of junior schools taking part i n the blitzes were provided.

EDIT: as Steve Perchance said, Balcurris has been allocated to Unidare, who have renamed themselves Ballymun Glasnevin Finglas (BGF) Ravens.
    That pitch is in an awful state in the winter and needs a huge amount of work done to it to make it playable if it rains.

Trinity comp, good man. Are they still going though after BRL was wound up? :)

That pitch is actually a GAA pitch and was a set of soccer pitches before BRL f**ked it up.

It's funny that people deny rugbys upper echelons bias in this country. If you spend time in Wales you'll see the difference.

At least the players on the Irish Rugby Team have Irish accents. The same can't be said for the plastic paddies who inhabit the cricket and football teams.

Football? Our last starting 11 had 9 from Ireland. You haven't a clue mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

HooohRaaah wrote: »
    The fawning over Paul O'Connell is embarrassing. He is a 6 ft 5 big lad who tackles people. Where is the skill in that?

You obviously don't know the first thing about rugby if you think that.

If that were true anybody who's big and nothing else could make the team - which clearly doesn't happen

colman1212 wrote: »
    People have an appreciation for Rugby as it really is one of the greatest sports to watch in my opinion. The hits, the try's, the speed, always something happening. Rugby players have respect for themselves and the people around them. There's no diving, no roaring abuse at the referee and they don't earn bucket loads of money. I went to college in UL and the Munster and Ireland players just train in the gym with everyone else, chat away to the people around them and don't have any notions about themselves. You see them out and about in cities and everyone knows someone who is friends with one of the pro rugby players. It is a really down to earth sport and I think you'll find that most of the lads playing it are good decent lads. I played rugby up in Dublin for a few years and always felt that the clubs really do look after the players, something I never found with Gaa or soccer.

In Ireland we don't have a whole lot of sports where we can really compete on the world stage. In Rugby on a good day, we could beat anyone in the world. We really can. I can't think of any other sport aside from Horse racing that we could say that. We have the potential to win a world cup someday, again I can't think of any other sport we could say that for. The rugby world cup is the 3rd largest sporting event. This would be massive.

You do realise only about 12 nations play it don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Those Unidare, Clondalkin lads are all a small minority and you know it.

And Tallaght. Guinness, Emerald Warriors. Coolmine, or is that counted as upmarket?

Clubs also have more than 1 team. Quite a few have womens teams aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

No, nobody thought to make a point like that before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

You do realise that over 100 nations play it don't you?

There is a second tier 6 nations competition.

There is a also a qualification process for
    The World Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

A lot of adults never played rugby growing up because we were sh1t at it.
    And a lot of kids probably didn't want to play a game we were sh1t at.
    We all wanted to play for Liverpool or Arsenal or whoever.

Personally, I find it a dull spectacle sport but that's just me. Not my cup of tea.

I still remember the five nations matches were shown back in the 80's and 90's and always got the appropriate air time.

It's just that it's a lot easier to rationalise it's perceived ubiquity because we have a LOT more access to sport/media in general with today's tech.

We were crap then but we are competitive now. This generation of kids will see that, want to get involved and that can only be a good thing surely.

And rugby is probably only the 4th largest sport in Ireland and yet we still compete despite the small pool of players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,177 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

Bambi wrote: »
    Trinity comp, good man. Are they still going though after BRL was wound up? :)

That pitch is actually a GAA pitch and was a set of soccer pitches before BRL f**ked it up.

It's funny that people deny rugbys upper echelons bias in this country. If you spend time in Wales you'll see the difference.

Well there's still a Leinster Development Officer working with them but it's tough going because money is tight.

Yeah it is indeed a GAA pitch and the local clubs never used it until Unidare signed the lease and suddenly the GAA clubs were up in arms saying it was being taken away from them.

The drainage is shocking on the pitch though. I've talked to DCC's parks officers about it and they're at a loss to get it playable in the witner unless a sizeable amount of money is spent on it.
    I know all this because I'm the guy who signed the lease for the pitch for the club. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I'm not really into Rugby but there is something about a hard fought rip roaring game against a big rival that really gets you pumped up and feel Irish. While I'm a football fan it's something I've rarely felt watching the Irish football team.

Successful teams rise in popularity shocker :eek:

More success = more interest = more investment = more promotion = more exposure = more fans = more players = more success = more interest etc etc etc

There would be no sport or entertainment at all if it wasnt for "bandwagon" fans gaining interest in teams, shows, bands, technology that get promoted.

The Irish rugby team aren't successful though. That's the whole point of this thread. What have they ever done apart from beating 5 teams (2 of which are ****e) in 2009 to lift a trophy?

gramar wrote: »
    I'm not really into Rugby but there is something about a hard fought rip roaring game against a big rival that really gets you pumped up and feel Irish. While I'm a football fan it's something I've rarely felt watching the Irish football team.

That's because too many nations play soccer for us to be consistently successful unfortunately. If only 12 nations played soccer like rugby i'm sure we'd be good.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

we have had stage winners in Tour De France and other major cycling events.
    Actually we won the Tour de France in the shape of Stephen Roche in 1987. Indeed that year he won the so called triple crown; the Tour, the Giro d'Italia and the world championship, one of only two men ever to do so(Eddy Merckx, probably the best cyclist ever being the other). Sean Kelly his contemporary is considered one of the finest all round pro cyclists in history. The list of things he won is very very long.

As for coverage back then, I can tell you it was wall to wall and everyone from toddlers to grannies were going around on racing bikes. :D I suspect if similar was to happen again the coverage would be massive.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

All deserve more credit then rugby but sadly they dont.

Coverage is not based on merit but on demand. Our rugby team could be the worst in the world, but they'd still show it if enough people wanted to watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

Starting 15 vs Wales

Rob Kearney, Andrew Trimble, Brian O'Driscoll, Gordon D'Arcy, Dave Kearney, Jonathan Sexton, , Cian Healy, Rory Best, Mike Ross, Devin Toner, Paul O'Connell (captain), Peter O'Mahony, Chris Henry, Jamie Heaslip , Conor Murray

I would think developing into an international standard rugby player would require learning/developing from a young age.

So for example, you have a son or daughter, who appear to be gifted at the game and have a desire to get as good as possible.

From their teen years, you'd probably want to give them the very best opportunities and this would probably involve enrolling them in a private school who have an established framework for producing such international players.

The OP is simply saying what a lot of us think.
    There are a lot of schools in 'poorer' areas of Dublin where rugby isn't played.

Afaik, BOD's father had to move him to the 'right' school, so that he would be eligible for the Leinster/ Ireland team.

Exactly. O'Driscoll was brought up and lived up until recently in Clontarf on Dublin's northside. The local school St Paul's in Raheny don't play in the Accountant sponsored Leinster Schools Cup so his father sent him across the city to a private school so he could play as he wouldn't have got noticed otherwise. That says it all.

The Irish rugby team aren't successful though. That's the whole point of this thread. What have they ever done apart from beating 5 teams (2 of which are ****e) in 2009 to lift a trophy?

Eh you seem to be forgetting our highly successful clubs which are overwhelmingly populated by indigenous players. Not to mention Irish contributions to a successful Lions tour last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

Starting 15 vs Wales

Are you suggesting that
    a ) 13 out of every 15 schools that play rugby are fee paying
    b) that people from fee paying schools are picked over players from non fee paying schools
    c) that fee paying schools are happen to be better than non-fee pay schools at rugby

I think any reasonable person would come up with C being the only valid answer. Which then begs the question... what's your point?

Eh you seem to be forgetting our highly successful clubs which are overwhelmingly populated by indigenous players. Not to mention Irish contributions to a successful Lions tour last year.

I wouldn't bother if I were you. You're wasting your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

And the women's team, none of which play rugby for fee paying schools and few of which are from higher class areas, won the grand slam last year!

Heroditas wrote: »
    I wouldn't bother if I were you. You're wasting your time.

Indeed. The lad clearly has a massive chip on his shoulder - which has nothing to do with rugby

You have to realise that Irish teams are at a huge advantage. Leinster and Munster don't have to qualify for the European Cup whereas the French and English do. Therefore the English and French clubs can't rest their star players in the domestic games while Leinster can leave out the main guys to rest for important European games coming up. This is a massive disadvantage. The English and French also value their domestic league much greater.
    In the Heineken Cup the Italians clubs are atrocious, the Scots have one good performance every 10 games. Edinburgh in Murrayfield with 1,000 fans there says it all and they're generally very poor and the Welsh couldn't give a crap about their clubs and they're in huge trouble. What Leinster and Munster achieved isn't that impressive when you actually think about it.

What's so good about Irish contribution to the British Lions? The Lions represent nothing about being Irish. O'Driscoll got dropped and they went on to hammer Australia without him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Starting 15 vs Wales

This is a little misleading. Current coach is very pro Leinster, so he leaves out a few Munster players.

So the only 2 non bolded players there are from Limerick, probably does tell you a bit about rugby.

Also, rugby is growing very quickly outside it's traditional places, so you probably will never again see that amount.

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Starting 15 vs Wales

Rory Best went to Portadown college - that is certainly no fee paying school.

Andrew Trimble went to Coleraine Academical - not a fee paying school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Rugby used to be elitist but that is changing and rapidly at local level especially at underage.Someday players from these clubs will make their way up to International level.
    My local club (Enniscorthy) was traditionally a bastion for Solicitors,Doctors,Church Of Ireland farmers but that has all changed,yes the sons of the forementioned still play with the club but a huge amount of lads are from parts of the town & backgrounds that would never have had a look in 20 years ago.
    I like rugby,I'm not fanatical about it but I enjoy watching the game.The one thing that does bore me is the over analysis when it comes to International games,turn on any sports show especially on radio & there's experts discussing the game.I'll listen to it once but not ad nauseum.It has also become very cliched with lads being interviewed using the same terms to describe play,it's actually as bad if not worse than soccer in that regard.Just listen to the next interviews of pundits/players to pick out constant cliches & terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Starting 15 vs Wales

how people go through life carrying such resentment and inferiority is beyond me

Rightwing wrote: »
    This is a little misleading. Current coach is very pro Leinster, so he leaves out a few Munster players.

Interesting that you say this in After Hours but not in the rugby forum. :p