If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Walking to college soon... Making my mind up beforehand whether to walk whole way or walk to nearest bus stop and take that. Thing is, waiting for bus would probably be longer and no definite chance of one coming. They're bad enough without an excuse.. :S

The entrance by the flagpoles is closed now for traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Walking it is...
    Least I won't get knocked down crossing over... :)
    Ever optimistic. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Seems like it calming down! Lot more long gaps of silence and people seem to be heading out of the library. Was supposed to have Krav Maga on tonight. I'd say any clubs and socs stuff will be cancelled? Suppose it just matters on what it's like 4hrs from now.

Surely the Krav Maga be indoors.

I'm doing 400m repeats outside at 5:45. Be at the gym in PESS building at 7 pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

If you home I suggest you stay there.

Jester252 wrote: »
    If you home I suggest you stay there.
    I travel in from Clare, so I'm stuck in Limerick for the time being anyway. :)

PESS building close tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

The arena is closed down now too and will not be open again until tomorrow, along with all campus buildings apparently.

garv123 wrote: »
    The arena is closed down now too and will not be open again until tomorrow, along with all campus buildings apparently.

What about the changing rooms under the Sports bar? I'm to met 1 of the lds for some speed session down by the Industrial estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

YFlyer wrote: »
    What about the changing rooms under the Sports bar? I'm to met 1 of the lds for some speed session down by the Industrial estate

Not sure but since all staff are leaving campus id assume they'll lock up there too? All cars are blocked from entering the campus too.

garv123 wrote: »
    Not sure but since all staff are leaving campus id assume they'll lock up there too? All cars are blocked from entering the campus too.

Cheers Garv

I'll sneak up there past the security and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Was working outside in that all day except during lunch, during which a tree fell into the house... One of many, including several ancient trees which were too big for the trunk to break so roots and all came up. Lots of destruction and I had bother keeping my feet most of the time. I've carried more concrete blocks and stuff, using tossed walls to support doors and other walls, than I ever have. Now, im sitting in the kitchen in the dark with no water or electricity, trying to find a way to go somewhere else for the night...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 88 ✭✭Russellynx

sup_dude wrote: »
    Was working outside in that all day except during lunch, during which a tree fell into the house... One of many, including several ancient trees which were too big for the trunk to break so roots and all came up. Lots of destruction and I had bother keeping my feet most of the time. I've carried more concrete blocks and stuff, using tossed walls to support doors and other walls, than I ever have. Now, im sitting in the kitchen in the dark with no water or electricity, trying to find a way to go somewhere else for the night...

did you get sorted???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Russellynx wrote: »
    did you get sorted???

I did yeah :) got a lift eventually!

Decided to stay at home today not travel in from Clare and miss my tutorial at 11. Really didn't want to have to, but with the weather outside, I really don't want a similar situation to yesterday. Will email my tutor! I hope you don't still lose percentage if the weather is bad!:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Stupid weather...

Thomond had no electricity or heating from midday till about 11 last night. Was pretty tough, had to bunker at a friend's in dromroe to steal electric!

On another note:
    The shady people that own the houses in Elm Park are scary :/ I just moved into an Elm Park house. The guy won't give us the number of the landlord as he is the agent.

Said my deposit is 200e and then 200e upfront for the month (fair enough) but then text later saying I gave him 400e & he would give me 50e back since it was only 350 that time.
    Then came in all threatening and refused to give me it back, basically accusing me of lying or losing the extra 50 as he 'recounted' it and only had 350...Bull****. I got out precisely 400 for him :/

Anyway, he's pretty shady and won't give two of the lads who've left their deposits back.

Great...

Just needed a bitch....
    Hope that doesn't cause me more problems down the line.

Aragneer wrote: »
    Stupid weather...

Thomond had no electricity or heating from midday till about 11 last night. Was pretty tough, had to bunker at a friend's in dromroe to steal electric!

On another note:
    The shady people that own the houses in Elm Park are scary :/ I just moved into an Elm Park house. The guy won't give us the number of the landlord as he is the agent.

Said my deposit is 200e and then 200e upfront for the month (fair enough) but then text later saying I gave him 400e & he would give me 50e back since it was only 350 that time.
    Then came in all threatening and refused to give me it back, basically accusing me of lying or losing the extra 50 as he 'recounted' it and only had 350...Bull****. I got out precisely 400 for him :/

Anyway, he's pretty shady and won't give two of the lads who've left their deposits back.

Great...

Just needed a bitch....

Ollie Hastett by any chance.

Decided to stay at home today not travel in from Clare and miss my tutorial at 11. Really didn't want to have to, but with the weather outside, I really don't want a similar situation to yesterday. Will email my tutor! I hope you don't still lose percentage if the weather is bad!:(

Yeah hopefully your tutor be soft on you.

Weather in UL is grand :p

Ollie Hastett by any chance.

He said his name was 'Ali' unless I overheard his name wrong? Not to sound racist here, just a general question is Ollie white? If he is, then it's not the guy I'm talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

Stupid weather...

On another note:

Great...

Just needed a bitch....
    Have you signed anything with his name on it, if not refuse to deal with him. Whatever is on your lease is who you should be dealing with.

If he keeps acting the mick over deposits go to threshold and the PTRB, let the agent/LL know you are doing this and watch their cough soften. If that doesnt work follow through with it. If he didnt give you a rent receipt then he more than likely isnt paying the 20% tax so a call to revenue might not go amiss

freyners wrote: »
    Have you signed anything with his name on it, if not refuse to deal with him. Whatever is on your lease is who you should be dealing with.

If he keeps acting the mick over deposits go to threshold and the PTRB, let the agent/LL know you are doing this and watch their cough soften. If that doesnt work follow through with it. If he didnt give you a rent receipt then he more than likely isnt paying the 20% tax so a call to revenue might not go amiss

No I signed something with my actual landlords number. He gives the lads I live with the receipt every month so when I actually pay my next rent I will get a receipt. He is the agent so I'll chat with the lads and if at the end of the semester or anywhere in between he is a dick, I will get onto welfare and PTRB.

God, I hope this doesn't cause me more problems :/ I'm just back from Erasmus this week..

Thanks for your help :)
    I knew boardsies could help me!

Its not Ollie then.

Both names sound the same tho if you repeatedly say it out loud :D

Its not Ollie then.

Both names sound the same tho if you repeatedly say it out loud :D

Haha yeah, I've heard of Ollie then. Naturally, my bad luck draws me to a shady agent. Woop.

No I signed something with my actual landlords number. He gives the lads I live with the receipt every month so when I actually pay my next rent I will get a receipt. He is the agent so I'll chat with the lads and if at the end of the semester or anywhere in between he is a dick, I will get onto welfare and PTRB.

God, I hope this doesn't cause me more problems :/ I'm just back from Erasmus this week..

Thanks for your help :)
    I knew boardsies could help me!

If he is the agent then he should be ok to deal with, the deposit thing is very very shady, you shouldn't have to wait more than 2 weeks for a deposit to be returned.

Welfare is only good to use if he is not paying tax on his rentals. Rent receipts are normally a decent indicator that he is (though not 100%). Have you signed a PTRB form?

Make sure the lads who are having trouble getting back their deposit talk to threshold if he continues to act the mick

If he is the agent then he should be ok to deal with, the deposit thing is very very shady, you shouldn't have to wait more than 2 weeks for a deposit to be returned.

Welfare is only good to use if he is not paying tax on his rentals. Rent receipts are normally a decent indicator that he is (though not 100%). Have you signed a PTRB form?

Make sure the lads who are having trouble getting back their deposit talk to threshold if he continues to act the mick

Well I've just moved in on Sunday and have been staying a lot at my boyfriend's in Thomond since my house is so cold so the only thing I signed was the contract, which my dad read first, then me.

I'll contact the other guys in the coming days to ask how the situation is going. I know we're all just trying to take it as it comes, since I have about three more months living there.

I just find it weird how he says he's giving me money back, that I know I gave him and then he says actually no.. .I gave him the right amount.
    I bet he pocketed it for himself and didn't give it to my landlord..

I'll see how it goes.

You'll probably see worried/stressed posts from me when it comes to dealing with him on later dates..

Well I've just moved in on Sunday and have been staying a lot at my boyfriend's in Thomond since my house is so cold so the only thing I signed was the contract, which my dad read first, then me.

I'll contact the other guys in the coming days to ask how the situation is going. I know we're all just trying to take it as it comes, since I have about three more months living there.

I just find it weird how he says he's giving me money back, that I know I gave him and then he says actually no.. .I gave him the right amount.
    I bet he pocketed it for himself and didn't give it to my landlord..

I'll see how it goes.

You'll probably see worried/stressed posts from me when it comes to dealing with him on later dates..

For future payments try and have everyone there at the same time paying so you witness everyones payment, bring your bf/a friends if needed and count it out while your paying. It sounds like he is triyng to pull a fast one because your new

any other issues pm me or ask on the accom & prop section

For future payments try and have everyone there at the same time paying so you witness everyones payment, bring your bf/a friends if needed and count it out while your paying. It sounds like he is triyng to pull a fast one because your new

any other issues pm me or ask on the accom & prop section

Yeah I think that's what happens anyway with the lads. They said we would normally all be together to pay and I will bring my bf too. That's a good idea actually.

I'm also the only girl in the house and the youngest so that might be something to do with it too :/

Thank you for the help though. You may get a message from me in the coming weeks or months, depending how t's going. Thanks again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Is it just me or is the wired connection slow?

Jester252 wrote: »
    Is it just me or is the wired connection slow?

In campus accommodation or library?

In Thomond it's been deadly slow the past two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Salmon2013

Anyone know when rechecked results are back? I thought they said within a week :confused: