The D4 Media/ Posh Boys and Irish Rugby – Spoon feeding the masses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Lofty123

At least rugby players respect the Ref (while busily stamping, eye gouging and biting each other).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,091 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I can categorically confirm that the majority of women who watch the sport do so to perve on the likes of the Kearney brothers and Tommy Bowe. And they're only half the men compared to the likes of Rory Best and John Hayes......

In all seriousness though, I have really tried to put bias aside and get into rugby. I really have. But I just don't buy into the whole fanfare associated with it. For example, during the summer, undoubtedly the biggest Irish sporting news story was Drico getting dropped for the Third test. There was even some media outlets in the build-up to last weekend's match painting the game as Ireland's revenge on Gatland. Three Irish players started that Third Test, Sexton scored a try, and it was record victory for the Lions (Gatland clearly got his selection spot on). But yeah, brush that under the carpet and stick up for O'Driscoll who any level-headed and sensible rugby fan would acknowledge was going to be third choice leading up to the Series (only started first two games because Roberts got injured). Didn't like how he carried himself in the post-match celebrations either (carrying his baby daughter around, stealing the show). You wouldn't see an oft-maligned, former Irish soccer captain from Cork act that way.

One more thing, the Irish rugby media are as bad as the English soccer media are during the World Cup. They have beaten a bad Scotland team and a Welsh team that under-performed on the day, and now they are being built up as world beaters. It's actually gone to the stage that I hope England beat them next day out just to shut up Gerry Thornley, George Hook and Ryle Nugent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

This is a myth

More Irish Media garbage

No other countries play it

10 Teams in the world play it to any reasonable standard.

6 in the northern hemisphere, 4 in the southern hemisphere - NZ, Aussies, S Africa, Argies and the 6 nations)

We are ranked 6th

I don't think any reasonable person would count 6th out of 10 that as good

You might say we are below average or fair

You know who is 11th. The Mighty Fiji Islands

We are reasonably good at it because NOBODY PLAYS IT !

PS: We are good at hurling too because..............

There are 101 teams on the IRB world ranking table. We are one of the best. There is absolutely no reason why we should be. There's no reason why we mightn't have been way further down the table alongside Japan or Spain or Russia or Germany. Except those who like rugby put the effort in to make us good at it. They did so often in the face of sneering, sectarian bigotry and a bizzare form of inverted snobbery in which certain people claim rugby is elitist because they decide to exclude themselves.

If you and the rest of the anti-rugby bores don't like it them that's fine. But kindly stop going out of your way to pretend to be blighted by it. It's tedious - and it's been done a thousand times before. If you don't want to watch rugby then just fukk off and ignore it. It won't miss you when you're gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

From my own experiences at having attended 2 international games, one not including Ireland,is that rugby supporters by and large are stiff upper lipped tosspots.

Especially the Welsh.

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I can categorically confirm that the majority of women who watch the sport do so to perve on the likes of the Kearney brothers and Tommy Bowe. And they're only half the men compared to the likes of Rory Best and John Hayes......

In all seriousness though, I have really tried to put bias aside and get into rugby. I really have. But I just don't buy into the whole fanfare associated with it. For example, during the summer, undoubtedly the biggest Irish sporting news story was Drico getting dropped for the Third test. There was even some media outlets in the build-up to last weekend's match painting the game as Ireland's revenge on Gatland. Three Irish players started that Third Test, Sexton scored a try, and it was record victory for the Lions (Gatland clearly got his selection spot on). But yeah, brush that under the carpet and stick up for O'Driscoll who any level-headed and sensible rugby fan would acknowledge was going to be third choice leading up to the Series (only started first two games because Roberts got injured). Didn't like how he carried himself in the post-match celebrations either (carrying his baby daughter around, stealing the show). You wouldn't see an oft-maligned, former Irish soccer captain from Cork act that way.

One more thing, the Irish rugby media are as bad as the English soccer media are during the World Cup. They have beaten a bad Scotland team and a Welsh team that under-performed on the day, and now they are being built up as world beaters. It's actually gone to the stage that I hope England beat them next day out just to shut up Gerry Thornley, George Hook and Ryle Nugent.

Jamie Roberts and Brian O'Driscoll play in different positions.

Must try harder. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

A hooligans game played by gentlemen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

I can categorically confirm that the majority of women who watch the sport do so to perve on the likes of the Kearney brothers and Tommy Bowe.

It's actually gone to the stage that I hope England beat them next day out just to shut up Gerry Thornley, George Hook and Ryle Nugent.

Actually I think you'll find the higher viewership among women than in soccer for example is due to the fact that it's arguably a more exciting game ie. no nil all draws etc.

The bolded bit is a pretty sad reflection on you...petty and vindictive I would say

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Why do the Irish Rugby team get so much publicity and the publicity they get is nearly always hugely positive?

The rugby team is criticised when they have to be criticised. They weren't given "positive publicity" after last year's Six Nations or the Asutralia game.
    The fact of the matter is hardly anybody plays the game
    Do you have to play a game to be a fan of it? Are all football fans football players?
    Protestant areas in the north

the huge number of GAA teams

But hang on though..

How many countries play GAA? Like..one? So we must be shit at it then?
    There are really only 10 decent rugby teams in the world as such. (Any rugger bugger would tell you that)

So you're basing your argument on any rugger bugger's opinions?

Ask the Spanish how many decent football teams there are in the world.
    The coverage after the LOST to New Zealand was cringe worthy . A game they LOST

What's wrong with losing a game against the current World Cup holders and the highest ranked team? It was still one of the best Irish performances in recent years. Most rugby fans around the world would know about that match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

I always love the D4 label that ignorant people opposed to rugby attach to the sport:

Hilarious considering that Jonny Sexton is the only player from the matchday 23 versus Wales that is actually from the Southside of Dublin (and not even Dublin 4 at that!)

I always love the D4 label that ignorant people opposed to rugby attach to the sport:

Hilarious considering that Jonny Sexton is the only player from the matchday 23 versus Wales that is actually from the Southside of Dublin (and not even Dublin 4 at that!)

What I find amazing is how so many lads lose their native accents in favour of a southside one as soon as they make it in rugby! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

What I find amazing is how so many lads lose their native accents in favour of a southside one as soon as they make it in rugby! :D

Did you know any of them before they made it big in Rugby? or is that just another fictional post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I do agree with you that the hype can get a bit grating at times with the likes of Thornley and 'Fester':rolleyes: going into overdrive. You see Irish fans getting offended then when foreign journalists don't rate them in the same light. I remember in 2010 they played Scotland in CP in the last game of the 6 nations, they'd blown the championship but a Triple Crown was still on, all week long the media spoke as if it was already achieved, Scotland were totally written off and dismissed. I remember Dan Parks speaking of how the Irish arrogance fueled their preparations that week and they duly went on and won.

A bit more humility and cop on is required at times, someone like Thornley should know better as he was covering the sport in the 90s when we were considered the whipping boys of Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I do love a GAA seethe.

• Site Banned Posts: 8 winter_swimmer

smcgiff wrote: »
    Just because people don't play it doesn't mean they can't appreciate it.

How many professional female soccer/top GAA players do you know? So, that's 50% of the population disenfranchised.

Rugby gets the attention it deserves. A tough, manly game with no players rolling on the ground like sissys if they get their ankle tapped.

the reference to soccer players as nancy boys who cry at the slightest tackle is beyond tedious at this stage , soccer players are in the main from tough backrounds , they are far from wimps and besides , which rugby player has ever suffered an injury like aaron ramsay of arsenal a number of years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

The rugby team get lauded by the media for winning feck all.
    The soccer team gets abused by the media for winning feck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

I like the sport, but the colourful language used to describe it really makes me cringe.

You know, likening them to warriors in battle and all that ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

which rugby player has ever suffered an injury like aaron ramsay of arsenal a number of years ago

Matt Hampson is paralysed from the neck down after an injury in training. I'd say he'd happily trade injuries with Ramsey.

• Site Banned Posts: 8 winter_swimmer

Matt Hampson is paralysed from the neck down after an injury in training. I'd say he'd happily trade injuries with Ramsey.

never heard of that unfortunate guy

the point is that dismissals of soccer as a wimps game are bullplop

rugby is good ( when its good ) but it does receive a disproportionate level of media coverage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

This is a myth

More Irish Media garbage

No other countries play it

10 Teams in the world play it to any reasonable standard.

6 in the northern hemisphere, 4 in the southern hemisphere - NZ, Aussies, S Africa, Argies and the 6 nations)

We are ranked 6th

I don't think any reasonable person would count 6th out of 10 that as good

You might say we are below average or fair

You know who is 11th. The Mighty Fiji Islands

We are reasonably good at it because NOBODY PLAYS IT !

PS: We are good at hurling too because..............

A bit facetious about the Mighty Fijians-Were you to play against them you might not be so dismissive. Anyhow......bully for you,and a well deserved pat on the head for telling us all how it really is;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Coming from a rough area doesn't mean your some sort of hard man. Falling around the place pretending to be injured definitely doesn't. You only have to go back a week and a half to see chico flores rolling around holding his face when Andy Carroll brushed the top of his head to see a glaring example of why a lot of people give out about football and that's leaving aside all the general diving and injury faking in all the other games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Cheating fairies in rugby too

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VqOV6FI-2qw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I agree o.p, cant stand rugby, always was and always will be a protestant to me
    Rugby is a protestant? Cool, I like the idea of sports having particular religions. I bet cycling is a catholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

never heard of that unfortunate guy

rugby is good ( when its good ) but it does receive a disproportionate level of media coverage

However disproportionate it does not occupy any more than 2 or 3 TV channels at a time, on a few days a year. Or take up more than a few pages of any newspaper now and again. I like to see choice and diversity in the media. If some people choose different from me I won't see that as a reason to restrict coverage of their interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They are different segments of the media, different writers. They write for their market. Football fans have a pent up anger and like to see people being abused (hence the popularity of Dunphy, Giles etc). Rugby fans find it unbecoming and can see a person behind the player.

But sure you know that already.

I like the sport, but the colourful language used to describe it really makes me cringe.

You know, likening them to warriors in battle and all that ****e.

Boot to ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

It's actually gone to the stage that I hope England beat them next day out just to shut up Gerry Thornley, George Hook and Ryle Nugent.
    That's more likely to have the opposite effect :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,089 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

This the 2nd or 3rd rugby bashing thread since start of 6N?

We down on last year in fairness..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

TBF The soccer team get abuse for playing ****e football and last year the Rugby team got abuse for playing ****e rugby

Ireland as a country is quite good for supporting teams that win feck all its playing **** styles of rugby/soccer that pushes fans away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,089 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I agree o.p, cant stand rugby, always was and always will be a protestant to me, a elitist sport followed by mostly west Brit types.

Rugby fans eh?
    Walkers eating bashtards!!
    *waves pitch fork*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Coming from a rough area doesn't mean your some sort of hard man. Falling around the place pretending to be injured definitely doesn't. You only have to go back a week and a half to see chico flores rolling around holding his face when Andy Carroll brushed the top of his head to see a glaring example of why a lot of people give out about football and that's leaving aside all the general diving and injury faking in all the other games.

It's a shame alright, it creeped in over the years to the game, southern European and South American influence. The English game of the post war years didn't see it, John Giles said his autobiography that even if you were genuinely shook you'd get back up because you'd never give the opposing player the satisfaction of knowing he'd hurt you. A man's game, that culture is lost.

These days I see young lads in the U8's at my local club throwing themselves around the place looking for frees. No matter how much they're roared at and berated they still do it.